Threading?

I had my eyebrows threaded a few times in high school b/c one of my friend’s older sister knew how to do it and she did it for free. :slight_smile: But since then, I’ve always gotten my eyebrows waxed(I use tweezers at home too), and on the rest of my face, I use nair.

Lately I’ve been thinking about getting a full face threading done…instead of going for waxing and then dealing with nair on my face.

What I’m wondering is whether threading is better for your skin/face compared to waxing in the long term? Or does it not make any difference?

Re: Threading?

I prefer threading. With wax, the hair came back faster and thicker than with threading.

I also prefer threading..

What's nair?

Nair is a hair creme removal. I would never use that stuff on my face. It has chemicals in it that has caused skin discolouration in quite a few people.

Wax doesn't make your hair grow thicker at all. Threading is great if you know how to do it yourself, save yourself a trip to the parlour.

Be careful of waxing/threading your entire face. If the hair growth is that bad, you may want to look into some permanent, long term alternatives like electrolysis/laser hair removal.

waxing-you have to wait till the hair is long enough to pull out..also it removes skin oils PLUS it pulls the skin....

threading is better IMO you can get it when the hair is very small.

I've never threaded since I only have like 4 hairs to pluck on my eyebrows. I wish they were more full. But can threading be done on larger areas like the legs?

^ Yeah if you have 24 full hours that you can spend doing it...or if you only have 4 hairs on your leg as well.

I actually like waxing for teh facial area, using the wax strips. THe hair takes longer to grow and is much thinner. I also noticed, lesser hair growing back as compared to threading.

i would recommend you NOT mess up your whole face with this junk. speaking from experience of course, the more you get it done the more hair grows back. and even after that if u still wana go, get threading done...but beware of pimples and what not, obviously with threading the hair's being pulled out one at a time...and it's not a good site

save your skin!!!!!!!! the amount of money we waste for threading every few weeks should rather be used on laser removal..but meh im juz a lil iffy on that

threading on legs? it’s like committing suicide…but slowly…t’s a torture :eek:

When I was a teen i had this hair removal thing called Epilady. It basically pulled hair out as it rotated over your skin. It was sooo painful. I think waxing is a breeze compared to it.

Thanks for all the replies. :)

I face isn't that hairy....I guess I have the "average" amount. But when I do use nair on my face and get rid of whatever little hair that's there, I notice a difference on the way I look....my face looks much better.

One of u mentioned threading causing pimples....that's something that haven't crossed my mind....although that's partly why I never got anything other than eyebrows waxed. I have oily skin and break out easily.

Guess I'll stick to waxing eyebrows and nair on the rest of the face for now.

Remving hair from ur face by a hair removal cream isn't a good idea!

Wat u girls use nair for ur faces :smack:
No doubt why some girls has all … type of face :frowning:
yeah i do thread but only my upper lip part but whole face nahi :frowning:

Lost: you use Nair on your face???:eek: Do you realize what you are doing??? Have you ever seen what it does to hair??? Please, Please, Please switch to waxing/threading because nair is awful for any part of body.

Lost..yaar i’ve never met anyone who uses nair on their face… the smell of nair makes me sick.. but i do understand when you say your face looks much better… probably more smoother… alhtough why not just bleach?? Also i prefer threading over waxing.

Threading is probably the only short term way to remove facial hair without damaging the skin but unfortunately it's an art that I never managed to learn.

Bibiooo, Khuda ke liye shudders

Really? I’m surprised so many of you seem so shocked about using nair on face…I know quite a few girls who do…but then again, none of those girls are desi so I dunno if it’s a cultural thing.

I’ve been using nair on my face for over 2 years…and no, I don’t do it every week or anything…usually once a month…sometimes once every six weeks…like I said, my face isn’t “hairy”…but I like the “smooth”, “bright” effect my face has once I get rid of every single hair.

Now in the 2 years that I’ve been using it, I’ve never had a problem with my skin related to nair…the only “issue” I have with my skin is acne and oiliness, and I’ve dealt with that since I was 13…years before I ever came across nair. Granted I don’t know if it’ll have any effect on my skin 10, 20 years from now, but for at least 2 years, so far it hasn’t caused any problems.

As far as the smell goes, the one I use is the Nair for face, that’s specially made for the facial areas(at least according to the box). I know regular nair(the ones in big bottles for legs and stuff) stinks…but the nair for face doesn’t have any smell at all, and it seems less harsh than the ones made for legs.

Does anyone here know of any reliable web sites that mention harmful effects caused by Nair creme for face? Honestly I’ve never looked for it online…although will search a little later on tonight…but if any one knows of any reliable sites, please let me know.

I would love to try threading, but will it make me break out if my skin is acne-prone to begin with? For those of you who do threading, do any of u have oily/acne prone skin?

BTW, Roshi, I’ve tried bleaching…and there’s a noticeable difference b/t bleaching vs. when u actually get rid of the hair.