**QUETTA: In violation of rules and regulations, National Database and Registration Authority (Nadra) officials have issued thousands of National Identity Cards (NIC) to foreigners especially Afghan nationals in Balochistan. The National Accountability Bureau (NAB) has arrested two officers who were involved in issuing fake NICs. “We have arrested two officers for issuance of NICs to foreigners,” Syed Khalid Iqbal, the Director General NAB Balochistan told Dawn.com via telephone. However, he stated that it was the responsibly of the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) to probe into the issuance of NICs to foreigners. “We are investigating into the issuance of 1000 NICs,” Assistant Director FIA, Sultan Afridi told Dawn.com. Most of the NICs were issued from Quetta, Mastung, Noshki and Dhadar, Afridi informed. “We have written a letter to Nadra regarding the involvement of three of its officers,” he said. The FIA will take action against the officers after getting permission from Nadra as per the law, which forbids the agency from taking action without the authority’s consent. Mounting public pressure and an investigation by anti-corruption institutions prompted Nadra to block thousands of suspicious NICs in Balochistan. An officer in Nadra, who requested anonymity, told Dawn.com that currently the authority has blocked 31,000 NICs over suspicion of being fake. “We have blocked the NICs since we have suspicion that they were issued to foreigners,” he said. The government has established a committee headed by the Deputy Commissioner Quetta, Abdul Latif Kakar for verification of blocked NICs. “So far we have verified over 1,000 blocked NICs,” Kakar said. He further emphasised that all efforts were being made to block NICs of foreigners. Many people in Balochistan complain that locals go through a long verification process and suffer difficulties in acquisition of NICs. On the other hand, foreigners in general and Afghans in particular, manage to get the cards by paying money. “Grease the palm of Nadra officials and then get the card,” says Shams Mandokhail, a human rights activist. Sources in Nadra told Dawn.com, that per card was being issued from Rs50,000 to Rs2 lakh in Quetta and other parts of Balochistan. They acknowledged that Nadra officials were involved in the issuance of fake NICs. “Without the consent of Nadra no one can get the card,” they added.
Re: Thousands of Pakistani NICs issued to Afghan Refugees in Balochistan
If you count those that have been issued NICs and Pakistanis passport prior to Nadra, it will be millions of Afghanis. B4 Nadra, all they had to do was give 50-100 Rupees to a local thana and get a certificate for ID card.
**We demand that all Afghan refugees be returned back to Afghanistan and their names be removed from the Voter registration list in Balochistan and their Pakistan national Identity card be canceled.
** the huge influx of Afghan refugees into Pakistan in the 1980s contributed to the rise of conservative kalashnikov culture, sectarian violence, ethnicViolence ,religious fundamentalism, drug trafficking, illegal cross-border smuggling, environmental issues, and organized crimes @marwati
@Mir_Baloch has tagged me, he calls me afghani mohajir lol. On serious note, its true, infact it happens more in KPK. What they do is, is first creating fake domicile of a district by bribing, then creating NIC on basis of that is easy. These citizenships should be cancelled and corrupt officials should be arrested.
In balochistan, the issue is more sensitive and ethnic. Baloch nationalists claim that "millions" of Afghan mohajirs have been given pakistani NICs which is not true, 90% of Afghan mohajirs are in KPK not balochistan. In Quetta, pishin and zhob its hard to distinguish between locals and mohajirs as same achakzais and kakars also live on other side of border. Investigations should be done but should be free from ethnic angle, the poking from baloch nationalists who use word "afghani mohajir" for local pashtuns as an insult.
In toronto I had Afghani Neighbor who migrated to Canada on PAKISTANI passport and believe me there were 100s (or may be more) of families like that in just Toronto. Every crime they commit or wrongful acts they do, it goes to Pakistanis ledger
In Karachi, most of the Transport mafia consist of these Afghan Immigrants aur becharey hamarey Asli Pakhtoon bhai (from KPK) still do digging other basic labor works.
This all is possible because they can obtain Pakistani ID. Whoever is involved in this should be arrested and tried as traitors.
As a Pakhtoon from Mardan, this is not true at least in KPK. Stop this lie and leave the Afghans alone. What did Pakistan not do in the name of religion to destroy Afghanistan. I don't recognise the Durand line. The afghans/pakhtoons through out the history has been let down the muslims of the subcontinent. We saved them from Maharatas in the battle of Panipat on the request of shah waliullah to the great Ahamd Shah Abdali but later they sided with brits to help them occupy us.
@marwati, worry about FCR like issue, where the people of tribal areas are ruled by this draconian law, but when it comes to fight against India these some simple tribal people are used as a cannon fodder.
Time to kick all of them out. Once and for all.
When a muslim chief minister of Punjab says to the Sikh chief minister of indian Punjab that we have the same language and culture there shouldn't be a border between us. Why no one is objecting that, but when people from KPK and Balochistan look towards Afghanistan they are immediately labelled as traitors. And who destroyed Pakistan in 1971, it wasn't the Pakhtoons, Balochs and Sindhi but rather Punjabis who were calling Bengalis names and were making fun of them. It is time to clean up this mentality of arrogance or say goodbye to Pakistan.
Inqilaab I suggest you then go to Kabul. Lets see how much love you get. Also lets talk about the present now stupidity from 400 years ago.
Every single Afghan who does not have a valid visa is to be kicked out and sent home. We shouldn't have to suffer for the fact that the soviets invaded Afghanistan.
We should have closed the border in 1979 and never let any of you in.
Inqilaab I suggest you then go to Kabul. Lets see how much love you get. Also lets talk about the present now stupidity from 400 years ago.
Every single Afghan who does not have a valid visa is to be kicked out and sent home. We shouldn't have to suffer for the fact that the soviets invaded Afghanistan.
We should have closed the border in 1979 and never let any of you in.
Then I suggest you go to Indian Punjab take veena malik with you.
Spend a month in Kabul and see how much respect and "brotherly love" you get.
Your actors like Fawad Khan is named the most sexy man in India and that is a true brotherly love. Whereas the policies of ISI and the Pak Army destroyed the soil of Pakhtoons. For you everything is halal even dealing with India, but for us ISI and Pak Army created terrorism on the name of religion. Don't worry the terror is spreading east wards and make sure you hold your a..s tight or in Pashto KONA TENGA KA.