Re: Those who married when they were 30+, what is your relationship like?
My sister in laws ( nands) married in their 30s. First one married when she was 35, both work, she had a kid 9 months later, but had trouble conceiving her second one, she finally had her second one at 42, no ivf but she did see a doctor as she kept having miscarriages. Marriage is good AH.
Second married when she was 37, she used to be very depressed before but became a new and happy person when she got married. No kids.
Third got married when she was 38, has a great marriage and 2 kids. Had her first at 40 and the second at 42. Has a great marriage too, changed a lot after marriage that is became vey happy.
Fourth got married at 31, couldn't conceive for 3 years, after going to the doc ( no ivf) finally had a baby, then another one some yeRs later and her third at 43. Has a good marriage.
Fifth got married at 32, has a good marriage and is happy. Had trouble conceiving but has an almost 3 year old now. Is trying again and she is 41.
My female cousin married at age 31 she got pregnant within 6 months, my colleague married at age 30 (she got married this year mid march... 16-17 days after my wedding ) n she become mommy of a cute baby boy last week nd m 26 n still TTC
One of my senior colleague got married at age of 31 she is too over weight but she became momy within one year but her baby girl died at age of 10 months she had another baby after one year of her baby girl s death..... on of my uni fellow n close friend (pathan) married at age of 24 n half nd his wife was just 17 at that time they have no babies nd ttc since 2010 nov
The reason for her baby girl's death was related to her age?
We did in our late twenties (which I guess is close enough)..
Like Paheli so glad we waited as we're financially secure and haven't had to worry about a lot of the stuff younger couples often do.. We also had less pressure and interference from the inlaws on both sides, the assumption was that as we were already standing on our own feet we probably knew what we were doing..
We'll likely have kids in the next 2 years but it's not our absolute priority.. In the meantime we're enjoying travelling and experiencing things we otherwise might not have the chance to..
Here's another point I wanted to add regarding fertility: Men can have issues too! Anytime we hear that a couple is having trouble conceiving....especially if the couple is 30+, we automatically tend to assume it's b/c of the woman and her age. The fact is that often, we don't know whether the issue is with the woman or the man.
And let's face it.....how many desi women would actually admit to someone that she can't get pregnant or had to get IVF b/c there were "issues" with her husband.
We got married at an early age. Me 22 husband 25... Perfect age to have kids according to desi standards. Also Financially stable.But it's been more than 6 years we are not able to conceive.
And yes i cannot admit to anyone that reason for not conceiving is actually issues with my husband.
I was 29 when I got engaged though I did know my husband since I was 26. He's a few years younger than I so it look us a little while to get the whole marriage things worked out. We wanted to him to finish Uni, get a job and get settled before getting married. I got married just before my 30th birthday. We didn't want to conceive right away so waited a little to have kids. I conceived our first baby at 32 and am now expecting a second. Mashallah we didn't have any issues and were able to conceive right away when we started trying both times. I think we will probably have one more before it's all said and done, the last one most likely when I am at the 35 or 36 mark inshallah.
We have a great relationship mashallah. Not that we never fight but are always able to resolve our issues. My husband is really great in every aspect. If I had got married younger I wouldn't have married him as he would have been too young to get married at that point most likely and not mature enough. I'm glad I waited until I found the right fit in a relationship / spouse. I wouldn't change anything.