Inzi and Razzaq are not "definite" yet. Razzaq should stay out of next test as he is vulnerable to spin bowling and Aussies have added another spinner to their squad, if he can't play spin he should stop playing test cricket, period.
I think Pakistan fielded a balanced line up for second test (could have done better by including one more bowler instead of one all-rounder). But the injuries to Sami, Malik and Razzaq hurt us pretty badly in aussies first innings. For next test, Afridi is a must in place of Malik. Imran Farhat needs to be sent to domestic cricket and Yasir Hameed should be persisted with for third test and ODIs. Yaasir has posted a good lineup except I would replace Asim with Inzimam.
I read in DAWN that PCB is finally considering seperate test and ODI teams now with 6-8 permenant players in both teams. I hope after this tour they will recall Shabbir and Taufeeq Umer.
^^ about time too ![]()
There should be more foreign tour for Pakistan "A" Team
*Originally posted by smooth_guy: *
I read in DAWN that PCB is finally considering seperate test and ODI teams now with 6-8 permenant players in both teams. I hope after this tour they will recall Shabbir and Taufeeq Umer.
*Yaar smooth, I really don't agree with this separate team format. One or two players is fine, but when you have entirely different teams for the two different forms of the game, it can be disastrous; like England during the 90's. Taufeeq Umer is a good enough player to play in both one dayers and test matches. Our selectors are just a bunch of shmucks. *
i agree with triple h, spme permanent members for both forms of the game is not a wise decision + taufs' is a gr8 player i don't know why he isn't a permamnent se;lction for the squad let alone starting x1.
also inzi' and razi' still have to pass a fitness test on saturday {a day b4 the last test} + wasn't inzi' given the captains' armband for the full season rite? lets' let him keep it for the time being and asses his role at the end of the current season which is after our tour of the caribbean i think! then think about captaincy change as to change captians' in between tests is not very clever.
Imran Farhat is a fish out of water playing Test Cricket. Anybody who saw him play in the first two tests knows there may not have been a single moment or ball he did'nt seem ready to get out. I have never seen such an edgy player. His shot selection is horrible, the only explanation for him being on the tem is sifarish.
Also, I got say that we should have brougt more than one Keeper. Akmal never looks like he can bat more than a few overs. .
Foranybody selecting Taufeeq to open, dont hold your breath, hes not even a probable for this team.
My team
Butt
Hameed
Asim Kamal
Younis - keeper as well, though I'm not sure hes technically good enough - it really strengthens out batting
Youhana
Inzi
Shoaib Malik
Shaoib Akhtar
Mo Asif (Sami is injured)
Mo Khalil
Kaneria
Problem with the lineup is the tail is very long, but with Razzaq injured and Azhar Mahmood (our only other decent pace bowling all rounder) not selected - there are'nt many options
*Originally posted by elahi: *
Imran Farhat is a fish out of water playing Test Cricket. Anybody who saw him play in the first two tests knows there may not have been a single moment or ball he did'nt seem ready to get out. I have never seen such an edgy player. His shot selection is horrible, the only explanation for him being on the tem is sifarish.
Also, I got say that we should have brougt more than one Keeper. Akmal never looks like he can bat more than a few overs. .
Foranybody selecting Taufeeq to open, dont hold your breath, hes not even a probable for this team.
My team
Butt
Hameed
Asim Kamal
Younis - keeper as well, though I'm not sure hes technically good enough - it really strengthens out batting
Youhana
Inzi
Shoaib Malik
Shaoib Akhtar
Mo Asif (Sami is injured)
Mo Khalil
Kaneria
Problem with the lineup is the tail is very long, but with Razzaq injured and Azhar Mahmood (our only other decent pace bowling all rounder) not selected - there are'nt many options
Wasay nice selection and bhai sahib dont worry about the tail its Pakistani Cricket team, the tail can be deep down but doesnt wag anymore, or should i say atleast better than our opening pair at times.
Filhal you have to settle with Akmal and the rest is pretty much clear with so many injured players. what the selection will be and even Woolmer has said we need to gear up for the ODI's maybe Shahid Afridi will play,
Honestly I dont like this coach who is thinking ahead without even considering the 3rd test.
Even if Razzaq is fit, he does not deserve a place in the test squad. He should be dropped, not because he is/was unfit but because of his performance.
Sydney is a slow track and Aussies are going with two spinners. Do we have a second specialist spinner or will we have to rely on Afridi as the second spinner.
My team would be:
(1) Butt
(2) Yasir Hameed
(3) Younis Khan
(4) Youhana
(5) Inzi
(6) Asim Kamal
(7) Afridi
(8) Kamran Akmal
(9) S. Akhtar
(10) Rana Naveed ul Hasan
(11) Kaneria
I don't know where this Akmal guy comes in your team. With Younis and Asim in the team I don't think we need Akmal. He is no specialist keeper and a very poor batsman. With him out of your team, we can have another medium pacer to support Shoaib and Keneria. Afridi can be a truimph as well.
2 teams for 2 forms of game is a 'Failed' conception in England-S.Africa and else where. Australia still has this formation going due to the fact that their domestic setup is over whelming and requires players to be in the 'simmer pot' all the time.
If Pakistan wants to have this setup then how are they going to support it? They only have 1 (One) major league (Qaid-e-azam trophy) as 'simmer pot' for the players to enter the 'National' squad.
No matter how you look at it, it simply not feasible to support 2 setups.
The problem lies with the 'Type of Cricket' we are traditionally used to.
New players have to learn to;
Show dedication and commitment of 'Jhonty Rhodes'
Patience and Endurance of 'Zaheer Abbas - MiandDad - Steve Waugh
Power Play style of any 'Good Local Kisaai' (butcher) type strength
Physic and agility of 'Jhonty Rodes - Shoaib Akhter - McGraw,,,,,
Cunning schemes and brains of Imran khan - C.Loydd - V.Richards
Only then we can have the physic-to-physic matches with endurance
*Originally posted by Raindance: *
2 teams for 2 forms of game is a 'Failed' conception in England-S.Africa and else where. Australia still has this formation going due to the fact that their domestic setup is over whelming and requires players to be in the 'simmer pot' all the time.
If Pakistan wants to have this setup then how are they going to support it? They only have 1 (One) major league (Qaid-e-azam trophy) as 'simmer pot' for the players to enter the 'National' squad.
No matter how you look at it, it simply not feasible to support 2 setups.
The problem lies with the 'Type of Cricket' we are traditionally used to.
New players have to learn to;
Show dedication and commitment of 'Jhonty Rhodes' Saeed Anwar
Patience and Endurance of 'Zaheer Abbas - MiandDad - Steve Waugh
Power Play style of any 'Good Local Kisaai' (butcher) type strength
Physic and agility of 'Jhonty Rodes - Shoaib Akhter - McGraw,,,,,
Cunning schemes and brains of Imran khan - C.Loydd - V.Richards
Only then we can have the physic-to-physic matches with endurance
How can you forget Saeed's commitment with the game.
^ Yes ‘Saeed Anwar’ By far was the best opener of modern times.
The ‘Team Pakistan’ right now is indeed in turmoil and rejuvenating
This is going to take few more ‘Additional talents’ from outside which are not there in the present squad.
Out of the present 14-15 players I guess only 4-5 have the TRUE test endurance capability to advance forward the rest - ‘even with their talents’ need to re-visit the ‘Cricket for dummies’ or hang their gloves.
Yousif Yohanna - Has technical flaws in his game (his shuffle n jog down the wicket) ![]()
Inzimam used his physic and muscle power, but has major flaws in his batting (his slow motion square cuts ![]()
Younis lacks posture and the game plan plays a very bad anchor roll
Razzak should understand by now a slogger without brains is a mugger of opportunity.
etc etc,
My team is:
Salman Butt
Imran Farhat
Younis Khan
Yousuf Youhana
Inzi
Asim Kamal
Kamran Akmal
Shoaib Akhtar
Rana Naved ul Hasan
Mohammed khalil
Danish Kaneria
12th man: Shahid Afridi
17th man: Abdul Razzaq
My team
Salman Butt
Younis Khan
Yousuf Youhana
Inzi
Asim Kamal
Shahid Afridi
Kamran Akmal
Shoaib Akhtar
Rana Naved ul Hasan
Mohammed khalil
Danish Kaneria
^^ ur team has only 5 batsmen where Pak is struggling with the batting these days (like always). I will play Hameed for Imran and keep Asim and Afridi in team even if we have to drop a seamer.
I know its not possible with Wooli's current mind set but I would drop Kamran to accomodate a seamer. Malik is not an option since he can't bown until he fixes his bowling style.
The rumor is that Abdul Razzaq is not sick at all, he went to hospital only once and the sickness was regarded “mysterious”
, why? because he complains of a pain which does not exist. His reports of going to hospital “twice” is fake one to cover up just like our other star players “injure” so many times.
Same is true about Inzimam, he isn’t in as much pain as much he is “complaining”. Perhaps they are about to revolt against coach who according to players holds only 3 hours of “clinic” and tells players to go and do their “homework” and players are not happy with that.
Anyway, for now my job was to spread the “rumor”
till later.
Originally posted by Zero_one: *
Ooopppssss my bad ...... So the Third Test begins at the same time as the 2nd with only the location changed from MCG to SCG and the starting time is **23:30 GMT or 11:30 PM GMT (Previous Day=means 01.01.2005)*
bhai sahib, kab ho rahi hay teesri dhulai?
please modify your VERY FIRST post to include date, time and venue. :D
*Originally posted by Raindance: *
Australia only exclude Langer and probably Kasprowicz from their test side for one dayers. How can you say they have separate test and one day teams? England had a genuine problem of separate teams in the 90's where 5 or 6 players of their test side weren't picked for one day games.