My hair is falling out like there’s no tomorrow… everytime I brush my hair, straighten it, wash it, heaps and heaps of hair fall out… how do I stop it???
At this rate ill be bald by next year!
Re: Thinning hair
refrain from straightning and dying and oil ur hair before washing and keep them braided for some time
I had the same problem - for the last 18 months or so, my hair came out in clumps in the shower and when I was tying it up or untying it. I haven't straightened or hair dried my hair (in fact haven't used a brush since then on more than a couple of occasions - as my hair is very curly!) since August 05 when I started wearing hijaab, so I knew it couldn't be that.
3 weeks ago, I decided to oil my hair as I was at home all day. As I didn't have any hair oil I used Olive Oil from the kitchen and then asked my mum to plait it tightly for me.
Since then, twice a week, I have been using Olive oil in my hair in the evening and the result is...my hair isn't falling out at all! And now, I am blow drying and straightening my hair once a week too!
Give it a try......hope it works!
haha..i was just looking at your baby pictures and then i saw this thread..i was like LOL..
in ur baby pics it looks like you have just too much hair on ur head..and now ur worried abt ur hair thinning
on a serious note..it could be just the weather..try and avoid using straightner as much as you can
Sabriya, sometimes its the diet as well. Are you ok in that arena, getting all the necessary nutrients and stuff?
I had a similar experience like wanna be a mum where my hair stopped falling after i started using a different hair oil and taking my vitamins regularly.
ive been shedding lately too! But wat helped is applying oil before i shower, really the amount that falls out is significantly less
try the olive oil and try changing ur shampoo as well, but most of all dont stress and if possible leave ur au natural and dont tie it back too hard
Amla, Ritha and Shekakai make a shapoo out of it and use that on normal days use shampoo/conditioner only when you have to go to some place important or attend an important event...your hair will not fall at all after sometime but when you stop using this shampoo it will start falling again...oh by the way i use this home made shampoo thats why i can guarantee it works.
de-stress? being stressed out does that too, sometimes. take vitamin E supplements... i've heard thats good for hair and nails.
One should not be toooooooooo stressed, that's why the hair will fall, one should also take vitamin B complex which reducess the strell-level and will calm a person down.
dont worry...for girls its not such a big deal... the hair fall will replace the new ones.. so girls dont need to worry about hair so much....however this is not the case with guys.. hair fall for guys replace the new ones for some time, but then they stop replacing and thus cause visible bald spot on head... ( i wish there wasnt such a thing as DHT in male hormones :( )
PS: from my dad's side almost all of them are half bald... but from my mom side...all have good head of hair....lets see how genetic role plays on me... i wanna keep my hair :(.. but i know they'll go away.. :(.. but hehe...i've thought about transplant... will def go for it...that is ...if i go bald before shaadi lol.. but tind looks good on me too.. lol
haha..i was just looking at your baby pictures and then i saw this thread..i was like LOL.. in ur baby pics it looks like you have just too much hair on ur head..and now ur worried abt ur hair thinning on a serious note..it could be just the weather..try and avoid using straightner as much as you can
What can I say life takes some sad turns :(
Thanks everyone else for the tips, will do the olive oil thing... and aana, you said weather plays a role.. never heard that before.. how so??
Sabriya, some people have excessive hairfall in summers or winters.. if you notice closely, you might be able to tell which weather is worse for you. This tip is something I have posted a few times on here but here it is again: Take a bottle of olive oil, crush some methi dana (fenugreek seeds)- they are really hard to crush so you would need a coffee bean crusher thingy, add the methi dana to the olive oil and let it be for 3-4 days. After then, 2 hours before showering, take as much oil as you need, warm it in the microwave (covered) and then apply to your scalp and hair, then wash it out with a GOOD shampoo that suits you. If nothing does then use baby shampoo, it is most effective. I suggest you google fenugreek seeds to read about how awesome it is. You can even mix it with yogurt and apply to hair for better hair growth. What it basically does it replenish the hair growth so that the new hair that grows out is healthier and thicker. Good luck and let me know if it works!
oh and stop straightening it! i know that will be hard esp if you're used to it but just don't do anything to your hair for atleast a month or so until the hairfall is under control. another thing is to take a good supplement for hair, skin and nails such as perfectil or vitamin e. eat LOTS of fish and always comb your hair lightly before taking a shower. if it's detangled, too much hair comes out when it's wet.
oh wow, that sounds interesting, ill definitely give it a try.. thanks! :)
As for the straightener, I know :( straighteners, curling irons, and mousse are my weaknesses... all very bad for my hair!
Take olive oil.......... fry lassan k outer covering in the oil......n then use the oil.....apply it everyday abt 1- 2 hours before showering.......
inshaAllah it will work:)
Nioxin Step 3 Shampoo and Conditioner used in combination with the Nioxin Folicle Booster.
Works.
Hair loss has alot to do with estrogen levels...theres a good article in the other hair loss thread, worth a read. It seems that high levels of estrogen prolong the life of a hair while falling or lack of estrogen shortens it.
Sabriya, some people have excessive hairfall in summers or winters.. if you notice closely, you might be able to tell which weather is worse for you. This tip is something I have posted a few times on here but here it is again: Take a bottle of olive oil, crush some methi dana (fenugreek seeds)- they are really hard to crush so you would need a coffee bean crusher thingy, add the methi dana to the olive oil and let it be for 3-4 days. After then, 2 hours before showering, take as much oil as you need, warm it in the microwave (covered) and then apply to your scalp and hair, then wash it out with a GOOD shampoo that suits you. If nothing does then use baby shampoo, it is most effective. I suggest you google fenugreek seeds to read about how awesome it is. You can even mix it with yogurt and apply to hair for better hair growth. What it basically does it replenish the hair growth so that the new hair that grows out is healthier and thicker. Good luck and let me know if it works!
Shay, How long before you noticed a change in hair falling level. and any tips on making them grow longer and quicker :) .... btw mashAllah your hair is lovely... wish I still had my healthy hair on me ... thanks for all your help