Things you liked about other sects / religions?

There are many things we say (sometimes openly and sometimes not that openly) against sects and religions we don’t follow.

But sometimes, certain things inspire you about those sects and religions. Lets share such things (practices, rituals, way of life, attachments) from different sects / religions (other than yours) which inspired you at some point of time.

I start:

Sect: I belong to a sunni family, but I like one thing (amongst many) about shia community i.e. they know about the history more than sunnis (whether we agree to that or not). Their young children know more about the early history of Islam, mainly they attend Majalis and this make them good / convincing speaker, debater not only in religious matters but also in other matters.

Religion: Parsis… very down to earth and philanthropist people. I’ve worked with a Parsi boss and the way he deal with people is exemplary. They are usually hardworking and have strong community set-up (which is also common in sects like Bohri and Agha-khani who once shared Gujarata and adjacent territories with them).

Re: Things you liked about other sects / religions?

I am always in awe and appreciation of the discipline, philanthropy and obedience of the Ismaili community. They do so much to support one another. From their social services and “duties” within their Jamatkhanas (volunteers who direct traffic, manage the shoe areas, clean, no one even thinks about getting out of line) run their educational programs, their intra community financial institutions, their Scouting programs, the way they settle and look after their own to the way and how they follow their Hazar Imam’s farmans to the T…they are like a well oiled machine. The Partnership Walk and other philanthropic endeavors they organize are always pulled off without a hitch and are well attended.

i, as a kid, liked the moHarram Ta’zia procession and the fervor with wich they flagellated themselves and how they distributed Zarda/pulaao/khichRaa to the attendees. it was fun. i wan’t allowed to go there but i sneaked in somehow.

maze kii baat yeh hai k mere gaaoN meN el bhii shi’a nahiiN thaa magar phir bhii moHarram kaa ta’zia dhoom se nikaltaa thaa.

yes, I had some colleagues from Islmaili community. They all have a dedication towards community services. Conducting short courses (after they themselves attended some religious courses) was common amongst all. They all tried to deliver to their best. Their networking was also strong. They were well connected. I remember once, an Ismaili girl hit my boos’s car and she gave a contact card to him for further procedure to claim damages, etc. One of Ismaili colleague was able to recognise the girl, when he just saw the card.

i admire the selfless service Sikhs provide hosting langaR sessions in the Gurdwaaraas and how the rich and poor contribute in running the community kitchen.

I like Sindhi Hindus for their positive contribution to Sindh. Most of the schools in rural Sindh were built by them (per-partition). They were running many charity programs and still after 6 decades, one can trace institutes they built or run. Their affection with land is also exemplary. They still want that their ashes be mixed in waters of Sindhu, as they consider it their ultimate absolution. Jhoole Laal :slight_smile:

Food from Brelvies (sunni sect), they are best food maker…
Shia scholars are good in research, and their fatwas are more thoughtful. I would read them if I am looking for an answer.
Hindus, they are more down to earth and open heart. I am talking my experience with them.. They were our krayedar…
Shia girls… always inspire me… :blush:
Agha Khanies… They are very close community in Pakistan, and they never involved in any kind of law breaking activities… They are hardworking…
Memon… They always talk relevant things… Less formal… No drama and no grudge against anyone…

Memon is not a sect or religion.. ignore my last point…

I agree with muqa bhai about Shia’s having more islamic knowledge than sunni’s. They can even quote a Quranic verse with translation on an issue. Going to Habib public school was totally worth it. :slight_smile:

The eyes of a truly pious musilm are soft. And kind. There is an aura about that person. An inner peace that radiates outward.

Thanks. I like you too.

My post was both matter of fact and serious. I meant every word.

Sometimes I wish I could live like a hermit, but then I remember I have too many worldly obligations to fulfill. Mysticism has always attracted me…

Excellent topic! I don’t have much to contribute here because my knowledge about any other sect is quite limited. Look forward to the replies though.

This is a nice thread! I always admired the Agha Khani and Khojay communities. They are so well organized and sooo hospitable. I recently worked at an Ismaili event and they were so nice I almost felt like family!

I’m not familiar with the sects in Islam as much but I know quiet a few Sikh families and they’re so friendly. They don’t discriminate and they cook really good food :slight_smile: I have a few Jew friends and their religion is close to ours and I never knew that. Don’t know about all Jews but the ones I know are really caring and understanding people. They respect all religions.

I find Shias very open-minded.. They seem less black + white than us imo

Qadiyanis for their motivation towards education and the way they survived among all the odds they faced.

Agree with khatti’s post about the Ismaelis being very close-knit and supportive of each other. Also agree with MQ and the others about Shias in general being more knowledgeable about Islamic history.

I like how devout Christian families say grace before eating. Similar to how we say Bismillah at the beginning and Alhamdulillah at the end.

I also like the rasm of saat phere (and what it symbolizes) and sindoor bharna in Hindu marriage ceremonies.

This reminds me of a thread I opened abt two years ago. On one Saida aunty, the oifus neighbor when she was a child. Oifu would go to her house for Biryani and other delicacies! She was apparently an equal opportunity food thief.

Beggars would come to Sajda Aunty’s house daily. And they would get served in the SAME utensils that house members used.

Any religion that teaches that is awesome.