Re: Things to do in a mehndi - other than sing/dance/play music
Well my family are very orthodox and my mehndi is gonna be an all female guest list with no elders - however my big sis has to be there and she despises all the masti associated with mehndis...
Congratulations
I know this sounds nerdy but maybe you could make your guests watch some home videos of u and your family. You can tell me if this is a horrible idea. But i think it's sort of like a reminder of the life ur leaving behind or sumthing. lol
dAMN! so its a all girls party, all young girls, and still ure not allowed to have "masti"???
Kick ur sister out of the mehndi lolz..
dude its ur wedding! whats the worst they're gonna do if you have singing and dancing in a all girls thing? is she gonna go to every dancing girl and throw her on the ground or bash the stereo thinggy??
dear bollywood diva! a’salam.
mabrook on your wedding
please take time before your wedding, to sit down with your parents and discuss with them, that celebration, dancing, singing and music are permitted in islam at weddings and eid.
i dont want you to spend 5 hours not doing what you had wanted to do initially..which is just to have some fun with your friends before you’re married.
playing the drum…aka ‘dholak’ in urdu…*is *allowed. why not make use of that permissibility..and get the party on? you know that there are several ahadith, which clearly show that Prophet Mohammed pbuh clearly stated that singing, and dancing is allowed.
i come from a very orthodox muslim family myself..and yes i’ve become very rebellious in some aspects, but there is nothing wrong with your celebration of your mehndi. mehndi itself is NOT a part of an islamic wedding..but consider it a party being held in the event of your marriage.
i hope you will talk to your parents about this, and if they remain hard headed…please do NOT hesitate to go to a masjid near you, and ask an alimah for a fatwa.
congrats!
I've been to a mehndi where a sister came in and talked about the importance of marriage and of the husband's responsibilities and roles as well as the wife's responsibilities and roles. After that she asked the girls that were married to give some advice.
You could also have a few mehndi artists come in and have ppl get mehndi put on.
Okay sorry i dint mean to be rude but I still think, it’s your wedding, you should have it the way you want, it’s only one night. Its’ an all girls-gathering and I don’t think ure doing anything wrong if you have music and dancing and laughter and fun and it seems really unfair to not do the things you want coz your sister disapproves of it. :halo: but wat u wish.. btw if i dnt say before, Congratz
yeah..why not get ur mehndi done on ur mehndi..hire a mehndi artist..and while people are eating/talking amongst themselves, u can get ur mehndi done at that time....even the whole uptan thingy...make it more like a mayoun than a mehndi....ive been to lots of weddings where every girl there had to put mehndi on the bride's hand (well, in some cases on a leaf or on a money bill)...and then also put a few chooriyan on her as well....that took a while to do...also when i went to a mehndi in pakistan on my hubby's side, i was their only bhabhi out of all the cousins..so the bride's mom made me hand out this tokri full of the bride's old chooriyan and give the chooriyan to the other girls....
....well congrats on ur wedding, and just remember that its UR day and dont get stressed out if your guests are not having fun/being entertained by dancing/music, etc...
Hey Sara, no need for apologies yaar - you're right I SHOULD do things my way but I suffer severely from People Pleasing Disorder :P
I'd have my mehndi done on the day but I'm doing my mehndi party a week before my baraat just to ensure that a lot of the aunties that I'm expecting to descend upon my house 48 hours before the wedding wont be present.
I got my mehndi outfit back from the tailors today and its WOW - vibrant orange butterfly sari with cerise pallu...its to DIE for...hehe just thought I'd share it with u all :)
I'd have my mehndi done on the day but I'm doing my mehndi party a week before my baraat just to ensure that a lot of the aunties that I'm expecting to descend upon my house 48 hours before the wedding wont be present.
will post some pics of the sari on here...hai its beautiful!
Well the reason I planned it before the aunties arrive was so I could do whatever I wanted without getting into trouble...mujhe kya pata tha ki my sister would object :(
Kick her out?
Seriuosly naa you’ve been through alot ('ve read your posts before), and you really should let your hair down and have fun. Don’t let your sister ruin this for you, i think shes being incredibly selfish and mean. :halo:
I know what you mean Sara - she thinks shes protecting me from having a wedding devoid of blessings (sighs)
I'm working my way around it though...
I've got my close friends to write embarrassing and moving speeches about my single days and then read them out infront of the guests ...should be fun!
Break out the board games!:D
Seriously, I think that it would be a great idea to get the older ladies to tell stories of the times that they got married, My dadi and other ladies of her group used to do that on shadis, and it was so much fun, listening to them laughing like no body's business.