"...They are your Garments, and you are their Garments..."

Wait, why can't girls of Islamic origin marry non muslim guys keeping in mind the guy changed his religion?

I find it wrong that a guy can marry a non muslim by converting into one but a girl can't do that?

What kinda nonsense is that?

Whats the reasoning?

Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.

Love happens once . . .

Coconut : Are you a muslim ? Either ways a piece of advice regarding your question. There is nothing wrong in asking questions, but, when the hudoods(boundaries) are set by ALLAH(SWT)(read Suraah Bakaraah(The Cow)) then its your obligation and duty to observe those boundaries and not to transgress or go over.

And Sister Sarah. If its in the Quraan, then its the absolute truth, no question about it. Prey 2 rakaas and simply ask Allah(SWT) to give/guide you to the answers you seek. You can also seek out an aalim to guide you to some literature that will be beneficial for you in understanding Islam. Also we must be thankful for what Allah(SWT) gave us.

A side note : Just a reminder to all gupshuppers that Ramadhan starts either thursday or friday of next week in usa/canada, so lets prepare ourselves for this wonderful month full of blessings and ask for Allah(SWT) for forgiveness and guidance - Ameen

[This message has been edited by zman (edited November 09, 2001).]

Originally posted by zman:
Coconut : Are you a muslim ?

Never ask me that question again, its clear in the context of my signature and custom title that I am muslim unless you doubt me being one.

Either ways a piece of advice regarding your question. There is nothing wrong in asking questions, but, when the hudoods(boundaries) are set by ALLAH(SWT)(read Suraah Bakaraah(The Cow)) then its your obligation and duty to observe those boundaries and not to transgress or go over.

There is always a reasoning for those boundaries. If you can't provide it then someone else can. I'm here to find out why a muslim girl can't marry a guy by converting him into a muslim.

Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.

Love happens once . . .

[This message has been edited by CocoNut (edited November 09, 2001).]

Coconut,

It's not what you said but it was the way you said it.

Originally posted by Sarah Splendor:
** I don't believe in blind faith, I need a reason to believe. If there is none, then I cannot. The same thing in, say, philosophy, if you don't agree with it, then you can't believe in it.

I'll agree with you on that.

Love happens once . . .

Originally posted by Sarah Splendor:
I don't believe in blind faith, I need a reason to believe. If there is none, then I cannot.

If your'e serious, you Coconut aswell, seek out people well versed in the Islam and ask them your questions, you are falling into circular arguements here. You are not helping yourselves by using knowledge gained on this site to justify or negate being muslims.

Originally posted by CocoNut:
*There is always a reasoning for those boundaries. If you can't provide it then someone else can. I'm here to find out why a muslim girl can't marry a guy by converting him into a muslim.

I have not seen any such restriction. The only restriction I have seen is that Muslim women cannot marry a practicing Jew or Christian, while men can. Women can convert anyone to Islam and then marry.

Again, if guy converts to Islam, then there is no problem for Muslim girl to marry him.

We oughta be Changez like, don't we?

This thread is a trip..

Sarah asked a logical question

if men and women are quoted the same number of time in the Quran, why are men

• allowed special priveleges like marrying more than once?

• and marrying a non-Muslim, while women can't?

I want to have four husbands at one time too

Allah gave us The Book. It's when we discard the Book, we get into problems of coming up with ridiculous arguments trying to answer logical questions.

1) Men weren't given a license for poligamy. Read a previous post of mine. So Sarah, no dear, you can't have four cuz even men aren't supposed to have them.

2) From 2:221, Men can't marry a non-believer UNTIL they believe. Women can't marry a non-believer UNTIL they believe.

Equals. Right?

60:10 reaffirms what 2:221 tells us about believing women. They are not lawful wives for unbelievers.

Also take (5:5) which makes it lawful to marry CHASTE WOMEN AMONG THE PEOPLE OF THE BOOK BEFORE YOUR TIME.

In my research, I haven't found an ayat that tells women it's lawful to marry people of the book OR PROHIBITS THEM TO MARRY PEOPLE OF THE BOOK!

But I'm open to education.. (FROM THE QUR'AN ONLY PLEASE).

These are GOD's revelations that we recite to you truthfully. In which Hadith other than GOD and His revelations do they believe?(45:6)

Usually I get treatment from my parents and people in Pakistan and by Muslim people that leads me to believe Islam is unfair to women. I guess most people would say its a societal belief, not an Islamic one. I am not well versed in Islam but people (my Quran teacher who apparantly got education from Al-Huda in pindi or someplace in Pakistan) and she says women have a great status in Islam. But I don't want a great status and I don't want a crappy one, I want men and women to be equal and to have equal opportunity so that we can, to an extent anyway, eradicate some of the differences between them that create rifts in society. If we did that, there would be no need for choosing the sex of your child and reading special and to even have discussions as redundant as these ones. So far, the stuff I have heard hasn'e convinced me otherwise. Just one example is that mothers have heaven under their feet and fathers don't. That's not fair to the fathers. Do you guys get where I'm coming from? It's not so much as questioning Allah and Islam but trying to understand why we have such idiotic boundaries and why we are so often forced to live within theme.

Splendor is lost

Where's the girl who started this topic? I want to hear her views too.

Devil man's asylum erotica!

first of all, all of you guys who are here defending islam, i appreciate your try, but it is point less to come her and defend islam in front of these people whoose main aim is to ask questions not for believing more in islam, but find reasons to malign it. now i will my self try to answer their concerns, knowing fully that no one will change his/her mind, ppl who believe in islam will continue to belive in it, and ppl who consider it a child's play will continue to do so. well first of all sarah, in one of your previous posts you said how idiotic the command sound that if fathers dont bury their daughters, they will be rewarded. well in arabia during the times of jahalat, that is before the advent of islam, having daughters was considered such a bad omen, especially among the high chieftans that many of them would simply bury them alive for the fear of shame and anger over getting a daughter. so i think it should explain the reason for that command. (forgot if it is an ayat or hadith) and secondly, what is your deal with fairness??? those feminisnts dont realize that males and females are DIFFERENT physically,chemically and mentally. so stop this idea that men and women can EVER be equal, they both have different responsibilites and duties and rights in islam and mixing them will only result in total social chaos similar to the one in american society. i know i know ppl dont like to read long posts, but what the hell, you guys have picked up such a deep topic, u can't simply explore it in few lines..so bear with me for the lenght of the post. islam, like judiasm, but unlike christianity, is a social religion. meaning, it can be followed by individuals alone, but it is mainly based for a society. and like every society, it has a basic component of scociety, in western societies, individuals are the basic building block of the society, while, islam considers a family to be the building block of society. well, since western and islamic culture is different from its foundation, the complete buildings are sooo different that it is not possible for westerners or western educated ppl to see the reasons behind islamic laws. in an ideal islamic society, a family is made up of a male a female and children. male is considered to be the primary bread runner of the family, so it is allowed for him to not cover him self from head to toe because it would be too cumbersome for him to work outside almost for the whole day wearing a naqab. now, the female of the family is considered to be the person responsible for raising of the children, who are the future of the society, so their up bringing is of utmost concern and to make sure that they get all the attention and love of their mothers, instead of the wholesale style care of the day care centers. now, in the perfect islamic society, women would not NEED to go out side alot, she is required to observe niqab. there is also one more reason, men get sexualy excited easeir than women. and if this sort of sexual desires are aroused very often in males, it might lead them to take their sexual desires to an outside marriage affair, which, if discovered, might lead to tensions in the household. so, agian, all these laws are desigend with the idea that they can only show their true beauty if implemented in a pure islamic society. and why cant women marry more than once at the same time?? well look at my answer above, islam considers the family unit's incharge to be male, so having more than one incharge will lead to disorder, and chaos in the family. well, now if a women is widowed or divorced, then how will she afford to feed her children and also be at home to be a good influence on them? its impossible, so males were allowed to marry more than once so in case a person wants to help so and so widower, he can legally bring her and her family under his protection and provide the bread for it while the mother is there for her children. i know ppl will still not be satisfied with it. but frankly, i dont giveit damn, i am doing my duty to just defend islam when it is malinged and whether or not you belive it or not, its non of my business.
if you are sincerely looking for knowledge, dont go out asking ppl so these complicated matters, no one can explain them in words fully, isntead read the translation if u dont understnad arabic (i dont either..learned it all from translations) and inshallah allah will calm your heart and you will become a true muslim, that is a submissive slave of allah....

[This message has been edited by ThandyMazaq (edited November 09, 2001).]

So far, the stuff I have heard hasn'e convinced me otherwise

It hasn't?? What more do you want. Read my post. How can you still believe there is any disparity?

and btw, since you are eager to criticize Islam and traditions etc I believe you are not all that nonchalant about the issue. So maybe you do wish to learn the truth.

It would help if you did some legwork too. Start reading the Qur'an and try and understand it. Don't take anyone else's heresay. You have a Book. Read it.

These are GOD's revelations that we recite to you truthfully. In which Hadith other than GOD and His revelations do they believe?(45:6)