There are not enough tent in WORLD...

Re: There are not enough tent in WORLD...

reliefefforts.us is letting people place orders for tents

Someone made the suggestion that saudi's should donate the tents from the tent cities they use for Hajj. Even if they do, good or bad idea?

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

I heard on the Desi local radio (Houston) yesterday that Khidmat-e-Khalq had sent some people from Houston to China to have some tents manufactured and then delivered to the affected areas. They were explaining that a waterproof, warm floor? tent costs about $80 in US and Chinese manufacturers can deliver the same tent for 1/3rd of the price. Maybe our Govt. and other relief agencies should also look into that. Pir Ji, you are connected kind of a guy, can you forward that tidbit to the NGOs you are associated with? I will try to get the name of the actual chinese manufacturer.

Kaleem bhai, I have already provided info about a dozen chinese companies undercutting US costs by a third or a quarter to every single relief group that I know of.

if they are getting a waterproof, warmfloor tent that can fit 10 ppl for $80 in US, they are getting a bargain because usually those tents are several hundred.

send me the info on this manufacturer and I will pass it on to other entities, contact numbers for khidmat e khalq people associated with this effort will be helpful also.

Thanks

Re: There are not enough tent in WORLD…

are you suggesting that the survivors build their own jhuggis? from what I know some have already done so, but many are injured, in a state of shock, ill, lookign for loved ones etc..

you still have to load the material and move it because it is a bad idea to build a jhuggi right in the area where bldgs are collapsed and bodies are rotting (pardon my choice of words)..that is just asking for troible due to disease. Not to mention that then the jhuggis ill be in the way of any relief or cleanup operations.

It can work, on a smaller scale, but the effort required to move he materials from the affected areas to areas where sheds can be built may not be as simple.

There is enough raw material in the affected areas, that is the rubble, which can be used to build houses, what would be needed is cement. But i don't if the traumatised survivors will be able to live in concrete houses, specially when aftershocks are still being felt.

Fraudz

Will the ordinary tents be of any use? forexample if supplied with plastic sheets.

We were planning to mobilise people in Gulf region where locals have tents for camping and also to buy from local market, but now i donno if these tents will work as they are not water proof, there is hardly any rain at all in Gulf.

Has Pakistan government set up in office/website etc to guide people about this issue?

iconoclast

there is a possibility of using ordinary tents with tarps on top to try and waterproof them. This suggestion has been made as well.

you can do two things, #1 see if there are waterproof tents available in the markets, secondly have your community there raise funds and work with the reliefefforts.us which can then dropship tents from China to Pakistan.

i dont know about this group personally, but think they have a good idea.
you can donate to groups like helping hands or HDF who will use teh funds to buy tents, or you can work with reliefefforts.us who can take your payment and have shipments sent from China.

^Thanx

Is not!!! Yehi to rona hai… the people on TV are constantly saying htat there are no tents in the market, because Pakistan doesnt have a big tend industry.. The major tent making countries are gulf states, which are out of tents themselves… its hard to find tents in Dubai after the earthquake, all sold out. But you can still place orders.

It is reality that all tents in pakistan have been consumed (small tents only, not Tamboo type tents ). People have placed order to tent manufacturer in country but they would be able to make a few thousands at most in couple of weeks… which is too little too late

Actually, they showed a guy on tv who was telling about the use of sheets whcih are used on commercial hoarding to be used as material for making tents. He said that thousands of these sheets are stored in the goadams of big firms pirnted with their old advertisments. they are of no use but they are excellent for making tents fast and reliable

If I remember correctly they are called Polyproplyene double wall sheets. The material is strong and weather resistent ( it is the same sheet on which they print advertisments and place it on big hoardings). It is water resistant and store heat during the day and the material is quite strong.