The Youth

Let me start off by saying the Irish teens are a sad bunch. There’s nothing for them to do. It’s always raining and they can’t even go outside to play soccer or something. Only on the weekends do they sometimes hit the indoor leisure centres for a few hours but other than that they spend their spare time at home watching tv, playing Xbox, texting friends, strolling outside aimlessly etc. So it doesn’t surprise me when I read news reports on youth gangs. As the saying goes, an idle mind is the devil’s workshop. The gang scene in the UK is even worse. You have 13 year olds committing armed robberies and 15 year olds committing murder.

I have two questions.

1: Who is to blame?

2: Would I be correct in saying that Pakistani teens (living in Pakistan, that is) are not as dependant on technology for entertainment as the youth in the above mentioned countries may be? I think Pakistani kids are more outgoing, more confident and there’s a lot more for them to do there. Agree or disagree?

Re: The Youth

vat this blind nationalism bbq??

I'm speaking from observation and experience of having spent years in both parts of the world as a youth. So no blindness in my comments.

mennu te nahi pata…but some fellow fbcd’s will come and expose your flawed analogy…aaho :snooty:

Nomi, you paindoo you!

Nomi: Let me worry about that.

Would you comment on the second question given that you live in Pakistan?

Its the weather I tell ya.

acha acha......i serious....

it depends on the social/economic background.......if you talk about middle/upper class kids......they are just as consumed by the technology and gadgets as any western kid......and also there is no culture of sports/playground due to the private schools that provide good academics but no sports facilites or focus.....

and lower class kids.......they roam around, wander, etc.......and then some in child labor......

so you need to specifiy what type of people you are trying compare here.......

I wouldn’t say this is the root cause though.

Regardless of the “class”, I think every bacha in Pakistan spends as much time playing cricket that an average Irish kid spends texting. My cousins don’t even have mobile phones. My relatives happen to fall in all of the categories you mention. Fact of the matter is, they don’t need to be rich to utilise the leisure facilities. In Lahore, for example, there are a million parks and the entrance fee to the parks is only like 10 rupees for kids.

Here, on the other hand, an average family cannot afford to hit the leisure centres or restaurants every weekend to spend some quality family time together. What else is there to do?!

I just remember my time in Lahore as a kid to be the most fun compared to Saudia and Ireland. :naak:

chalo g.....tuhanu zyaada pata howay ga....

If its really like that in Ireland, then its a very pathetic place. In Australia, it seems there are more playgrounds and recreation clubs than the number of people living there and they are always utilized by the local population. Still there are a few kids like that here but they are very few.

Elders say "bhook insan ko bohat kuch sikhhati hai" .If and when an individual gets all the luxuries instantly available to them , they dont realize the potential they hold with in.

and i swear technology is making us people dumb.