The world's most dangerous haven

Lets make the record straight… for our friends…

**An unlikely bolthole for investors
http://www.economist.com/finance/displaystory.cfm?story_id=10567602

http://www.economist.com/images/20080126/CFN673.gif

THIS newspaper calls it “the world’s most dangerous place”. Mark Matthews of Merrill Lynch calls it “the greatest information-arbitrage opportunity in the world.” He may be right. Since the start of the year, when Pakistan was reeling from the assassination of Benazir Bhutto, it has been the best-performing stockmarket in Asia (see chart). More evidence of madness in financial markets? Probably not. Its politics are bleak but the economy is expected to grow between 6.5% and 7% in 2008. Its companies continue, on average, to have a high dividend—4%—and a low price/earnings valuation—under 15 times. Perhaps its main salvation is the lack of foreigners in the market: that means fewer people to panic about the security situation—or the subprime situation back home.

Re: The world's most dangerous haven

I wonder how many expat Pakistanis will now move back to Pakistan in wake of this report.

Atleast 10s of my family members moves to Pakistan in last 5 years. They start their business and the best thing is they are all happy.

Mashallah. Where did they move from? Are you planning to move or are you already in Pakistan?

^^ All of them move from USA, i will also go back as soon as my studies finish. We have to pay back to our nation in any condition.

Pakistan is much better then we give it credibility for. I love my country andshould learn from this chart.

lol, isnt that the same Merrill Lynch I had quoted for the "Recession of USA already taking place", which you rejected labelling It as "b.s."??!
Funny.

I don't know what the obsession with "mai na manoo group" but if you visit the "most dangerous country" thread most of guppies disagreed with that notion. "Most dangerous country" flag is raised to create exaggerated panic, to target more than deserving "militant" related criticism at Pakistan.

Pakistan has seen economic growth, the only question sometimes arises is how much truth was provided by govt. There have been miscalculations, may be some incorrect policies but GDP and all has seen rise in last few years.

Re: The world’s most dangerous haven

^^ their is no obsession my friend, but some people keep denying the facts and figures. Its all possible of great leadership of President Musharraf.

May ALLAH bless him :jhanda:

just like “Musharraf can do no wrong”, personality worshipping group.

May Allah guide them to right path. :jhanda:

Mashallah. God Bless Pakistan. Long may the success continue under the great leadership of President Musharaf. :k:

Thanks for saying Mashallah :slight_smile:

Logo ki buri nazar sai bachna padhta hai. :)

^^ :rotfl:

Yeah....that too when you are taking all these pakistanis for a ride:D in this forum with all your "God bless" being a BHINDIAN:D....

Just a joke buddy:)....you should be the ambassador for peace and friendship(from indian side) between India and Pakistan eventhough i don't agree with some of your opinions and with all your "God bless blah blah"

Yes, when the "God Bless" comes from insincerity and arrogance, there is very little difference between the "terrorists" that Aalsi pretends to hate, and Aalsi himself.

Both sully the name of God and both will inshallah suffer the same fate. Ameen.

Alhamdulilallah. 'Peace and Friendship Ambassador' sounds good. :)

Aalsi Saheb, kitni baar kaho It's parta not "padhta". Hum idhar Urdu use karte hai, not hindi.

Did you not read "From Indian Side" or you are from Indian side?

Peace and Friendship should not have boundaries. We are all Allah ki maqlooq. God Bless Peace and Friendship. :k: