Recent articles have suggested that Bob Woolmer has a lot of clout and influence on everything thats Pakistani cricket..Its rumoured that he is behind the ongoing fued between Shoaib & the PCB and has suggested that the team are better off without the showman..it is also felt that while the best cricket technology & best backroom staff ( ie, trainer, physio etc ) are from Australia, he has gone South African.
My opinion is that if he has, then so what..If he has been given the responsibility of the team & will be blamed if they dont deliver then why should’nt he put his weight ( pun not intended) behind decisions that would have an impact..We just have to go back 15 odd yr back and look at what Imran Khan achieved..He was involved in every decision & was even given a big say ( or final say) in the team selection ( a luxury which is not within the realms of the current captains or coach’s capacity). No one till this day have had the courage to stand up to the showman..Agreed that he’s the best bowler in the world on his day, but how many of those days have we had..woolmer feels that he needs to act in the interest of the team & thats why he suggested to shoaiby baby to shorten his run up..but ofcourse Akhtar wants to be his own boss…i’d say its about time that we all backed the coach & go along with him & then if he fails, then we cann start faulting him..In the meantime i suggest the whole country should get behind him & let him build a team for the 2007 world cup.
Re: The woolmer influence
May I ask ^^ where did you get ^ this cut-piece :-|
Read the sports section of "The News" raindance.( dated 15/02/05 ).
Thank you sire ^
Oh ....kay :) and what is the point?
Have u read my thread properly acrobi123?..i think i'm making my point quite clear..I'm afraid that there's no other way i can put it!!
well doc your point is loud and clear but just try and replicate this freedom, pay scale given to a Pakistani born coach? able to brag anytime he like as our current coach Mr. Bob woolmer does, can you?
We back him 100% but you cannot ask that when he like to "zalil " our players; I mean shoaib akther and over all team during the Down under tour, I can understand in a particular case where shoiab akther is a brash ignorat guy but still in comparison with Shane Warne and Ricky ponting (before he became captain) pub brawl. he is a lesser pest.
and you know how exactly the coach, team, management and the board responded to that.
Lets not go that far, Wasim and Waqar's (beach) West Indies fuss, recall that! and how did the board handled it under the radar.
You dont go and publicly insult the player when you actually rely on or they are aces of your team no matter what they are upto, there are always way to deal with them behind the close doors, so far Pakistan hasn't found the opening pair and yet 4/5 openers (domestic season) are playing musical chairs most of the time, and that is my point My friend.
Mr. Bob Woolmer when appointed as the coach of Pakistani cricket the first agenda was fitness; umumm have they improved a bit?
anyways I am not on the case of gora coach, I admire his courage taking the job and if you look closely at his job/ wage agreement there is no way PCB will kick him away before the WC'2007 they dont want to get bankrupt.
Quite right
if u guys honestly refelect on the pakistani press they are always always always always very negative. it doesnt matter who the coach, captain or manager is they manage to only highlight the negatives. this is very surprising given that almost every other country from australia to england to india take pride in the performance of their national team. true there maybe criticism every now n then but there are always sugesstions as to wat needs to be done. our press on the other hand refuses to acknowledge the team as "our" team, i personally feel that the press in our country is used more as a mechanism too downgrade whoever is in control rather then an attempt to see wat the person in power is trying to achieve and make sense of the bigger picture. do any of us here sincerily believe that the outcome of the australian tour would have been different if bob was not the case. if anything we would have not seen the true colours of some one like rana, who rose to the chellange and took the bull heads on, here is a guy who showed tromendous courage, passion and determination all for our case and yet our so called media didnt really take to him in a manner where we should really appreciate him highlight his performances that too in a loosing cause, to me he is a guy who has it all which the pakistani cricket team should be all about, our media should be promoting such things to the same extent as they do in extractig interviews from has been idiots like sarfarz nawaz as wat some one like rana did is actually inspiring for the next generation of our team. for our media its always dooom and gloooom and that is wat really upsets me.
well on issue of media i cannot say anything just read the following article prepared by one of the best in Pakistan and world over…
I’m rather embarrassed of Umer Qureshi to write this and at the same time represent the so-called “Public who are also crybabies”. Of all the heavy weights of opinionated fans of GupShup, I have yet to see one on GS itself who is a whiner for the Series lost down under. Is he talking about Pakistan or some other country?
Every one seems to knew the weaknesses of the team even before they boarded the flight from Pakistan.
I’m afraid my all time favorite Umer Q has lost his spine when its needed to be tough and straight on some issues such as BCCP-ICC stand off.
Secondly, I agree with Bob in saying that the team re-build is on track and far from
Completed.
However I do not agree with Waqar Younis appointment as a bowling coach to
Broken bones and twisted arms. He should have been given the ‘Oven fresh’ talents to put to some use.
Many of you ^ who are mesmerized by Shoaib Akhter’s attitude or his appetite for fun and fantasies, must turn a page. He is the best we got and should be treated with respect. If you have any yourself to give.
Guys like him bear the heavy burden of the ‘media trial’ and one way or the other the decisions (Boards - courts - critics) get tainted and ineffective.
I agree with acrobi123 and to add that ‘Waqar-Akram’ beach fuss went as far as
Pakistan’s high commission getting involved with the local courts.
Despite this to justify it by saying that “at least they produced results” so whats the big deal if they ‘blew few joints’ on the carribean beach representing Pakistan.
So Back-Off Shoaib Bashers
thank you desired..you have really hit the nail bang on the head..i respect the point that acrobi is making..first of all, it woud be an ideal situation if we had a pakistani coach who could take us thru his transitional period. Which pakistani coach has the credentials plus the authority to be able to speak their mind..i think currently there is no one available (wasim akram may one for the future..though currently he has even excused himself to take up a bowling coach's role due to his own commitments).
Woolmer has from day one requested the pakistani media not to throw too much negativity on the pak. team as it tends to effect their performance.
Regarding the past incidents of shane warne, ricky ponting, wasim & waqar..i think it would be fair to say that at the time they were grilled by the press..but its in the past now..lets take this team forward even if it means having a foreign coach with the pak. emblem on his chest to take us there.
“mesmerized”
LMAO
Atleast I’m not “mesmerized” by his attitude, I’ve seen this of him for a long period, so no “shock” or"mesmerize" or whatever word you want to pick. I don’t care much about his “fun” or “fantasy” either, but if players are to abide by rules, there should be no exemption. He is our top strike bowler, yes, but does he really be “treated with respect”… not anymore.
He has shown lack of committment time and again, dedication, lack of fitness… what else do you want to see before dumping him? a broken hand or a broken leg?
Shoaib lovers can continue to lick if they so wish ![]()
^^ ![]()
I think i will have to agree with the capt (captain1 ie)..unlike shoaib akhtar!!...
love him or hate him, he's a great bowler..but only once every 2-3 yrs...(does that mean he'll peak again at the nxt world cup?)
^^ Do you have any optimistic or analytic guess to your point?
My wild guess will prompt Captaan Sahib to jump on my young shoulders untill
the fat lady sings. :D
Raindance and Captain bhai-- You people dont have to bring Shoaib in EVERY discussion :D
Bob Woolmer is a highly respected coach in the world of cricket. He should be given decision making authority. People will argue that thats what Javed Miandad was craving for. He wanted similar authorities but the difference between Miandad and Bubloo is that former has almost zero man management skills and this has led to his ouster not once, not twice but thrice.
---------------------zz-------------------------
Saby Praa, ^^
If you were my “Old Lost buddy” I would have given you a “Chapat” on your
head.
:k: Lekin koi baat nahi,
The thread opener is talking about BEEP Him and I or Captaan Sahib just
took up the que from the head post. Keun Captaan1 sahab, mainay theek kaha naa? ![]()
^ I agree with you Rainy. It was some other thread where we dragged Shoaib ![]()
Finally we found a point to agree!!! ![]()