the way things were..

so, we’ve been having lots of dholki sessions for the past few weeks.. trying to get the brats to learn a few songs for the engagement party..

my mum and two aunts are so cute.. they get so hyped up with all the clapping and spoon playing.. none of them can sing.. well they know a few songs like “latte di chaddar” and “chitta kukkar” and stuff… but otherwise nothing..

I think they all feel quite sad about their own weddings.. how nothing ever happened. No singing.. no dancing. Everything was so conservative.. and they were just expected to sit there and do nothing…

with me though.. they are soo determined to do everything they wanted.. they want me to sing (even dance) at the engagement (i doubt id be dancing).. its almost like they are living their pre-wedding days through me.. its so cute.. I guess they’re trying to change the way things were or are.. they want girls to enjoy themselves.. afterall its the girls special day.. why should she sit there like a mute… huh?

its about time we enjoyed our special day :slight_smile:

Re: the way things were..

right on sister!

A girl that lives around my area is having a bachelorette party. In addition to the dholki and bridal shower. Yep, a bachelorette party. No aunties. No uncles. Just the bride, and other naughty girls. Well, maybe a male stripper. :mudhosh:

sadzzz, does this mean you're leaving me? :(

I thought we vowed to eachother to remain single and faithful to eachother for eons to come. Or was that a dream? Please confirm. :(

That’s so awesome :flower1: I only wish my wedding will be full of as much hungama… i want all teh shor, the dancing, the singing, and I don twant to be a spectator, i want a say in every decision o nwhat i’m gonna wear, and I wanna dance at my shaadi :blush: :mudhosh:

Wow sounds like alot of fun!

Inshallah Sara :slight_smile:

yeah, my mister thinks its halarious cus im so involved with the whole thing. Ive got this whole folder organised with songs.. and im making copies for everyone and we have seating arrangements too (cus the brats dont do too well when they sit next to each other)

i cant dance so i doubt that’ll be happening.. but im gonna be singing on the day :blush:

Wow an organised Desi wedding, that's something you don't hear about!

hehe... yeah. I just like to have things organised...

Believe me so do I but everyone somehow manages to screw it up. It's frustrating but after all..... it's desis...

sadzzz, I think I'm gonna end my GS life. cries uncontrollably.

Sara, hehe.. my aunts and the brats are actually really involved. Its the first wedding in our family so everyones mega excited about getting it right and perfect

Roman, awww sorries

:dhimpak:

Shadi is fun, *Nachangey saari raat *

But one’s own wedding is not that much, but nevertheless exciting :k:

Good luck :k:

Janey se pehely ek jhaphi :teary1: :hug:

^ Ill invite u to my wedding and u can nacch all you want :nuch: :bhangra:

:slight_smile:

My friends got strange looks from my relatives (aunties) at my dholki cuz they prepared a dance for me :hehe: I was like who cares - it is my day!

How sweet :)

So sweet hearing about all the preps...keep us posted babe :)

mashaAllah sadzz.. :)

awwwwwwwww i so want to be at your dholki nights sadzz :frowning:

i want you to sing and dance too! make sure you take loads of pictures and send them to me :blush:

dayom… nice stuff… weddings in my family are a total bore…! too strict. mums side is cool they mingle, have fun, shor sharaba, hulla gulla.. dad’s side, in our village, u just go, sit on a manji, have some food, hug the groom, congratulate him and ur done! ive been to a couple of weddings at the villlage, and i didnt get to see the bride… sighhhz, kismat :stuck_out_tongue: the groom just goes to the girls side once and thats it i think, i,m not sure though. I think punjabi weddings are more fun and colorful and full of festivities. :k:

roman, lajawab is still single. Good luck :k:

haha..hey i sang n danced at my wedding :blush:

weddings are so much fun.. n i so want to be at ur dholki! (crash the party :smiley: )

enjoy each moment of it sadzz, u’ll remember it always.