The other day, a friend of mine was talking about how ashamed he is to be Pakistani. He had even gone to the extent of not telling people he was Pakistani, believing that it would impede him professionally.
Immediately after the restoration of the CJ, he changed his stance, telling any and all how proud he was of being Pakistani.
Now, there are some good posts on this website about the grey areas in the restoration of the CJ; how it’s not the rose-tinted picture we want it to be. However, if the restoration of this one ‘maverick’ judge can cause people to once again have faith in this war and strife-torn country; can any negative really outweigh that?
Or is volatile allegiance not worth having in the first place? I suppose this goes to the question so many Pakistani’s were facing before this huge step forward; when your country behaves in such a way as to lose your support, are you still a part of it? Is nationality simply a question of allegiance, unspoken or spoken? Can it be revoked at will? especially in Pakistan’s case, where so many expatriats still feel a strong connection to their country of origin, what consitutes nationality for them?
Last few weeks have been a roller coaster ride for us, but then its not new. Few days back Sri Lankan cricket team was attacked when our govt was supposed to provide them top class security, that attack did put Pakistanis to shame but never did I deny my Pakistani citizenship. There are people who don't understand situations, whom I think are weak, pessimist... they will easily deny being Pakistani when asked, its only strong people who will not hide their identity.
Depends. Where is this person's true citizenship - in other words, what does the paperwork say?
If he holds his green passport and citizenship, then he's Pakistani, and he can deny it as much as he wants but that's what he is.
Otherwise, if he was born elsewhere or has gained citizenship elsewhere, then sorry to say, you're not longer a Pakistani anyway, so for him to deny it is not outrageous. And if he left the country, or refuses to go back to it, it stands to reason that he is not in concordance with what Pakistan and Pakistanis stand for.
I think the volatility is among all desis. However its Pakistanis only who are too quick to jump into the state of denial and discarding their own identity.
I know so many Pakistanis here, some of whom have come through guess what, Jaali visas or came through visit visa and stayed forever. Now these people are top of the list to say thoo thoo to Pakistan and Pakistanis for all the wrongdoings and claiming not to be called one.
I am born and brought up in Pakistan . Next day I come to States , marry some Gori who has already experienced 7 or 8 and get this Blue piece of trash so i would become American
Is qaum k liye aur is mulk k liye apni jaan, maal aur izzaton ki qurbaaniyan denay waalon ko kia khabar thi k aaj us k log is amanat ka istarah satya naas ker dengay aur ye k aaj jis thaali me wo khaen ge usi me ched kerengay.
ye bohot hi sharamnak baat ha sbk liye. aur isme Pakistan ya isk liye laazwal qurbaaniyan denay walay heroes ka nahi, humara hi qasur ha, humari hi jahalat hai aur humari hi milli beghairti hai jo iska farz ada na ker sakay.
Barhaal! is mulk ka shehri honay per sharm ana ye bazaat-e-khud aik intehai sharamnak baat ha coz isme Pakistan aur iski sir zameen-e-pak ka nahe, khud logon ka apna qasur ha.
Really dont understand what is so funny. You mean to say that you are willing to marry a Gori to just get the American citizenship while still owing allegiance to your former country…
So his proudness lie only in the re-instatement of CJ otherwise he was ashamed of being Pakistani. Does your friend know that CJ was also the PCO judge and legitimize the illegitimate rule of a dictator too.
I am not against the restoration of CJ, but this restoration would have zero effect on the perceived popularity of Pakis abroad..... Believe me.
I had a few verbal skirmishes with a few colleagues after the SL attack........I was worried and saddend by it but not once it crossed my mind to hide my proud heritage. The events of 16th have made it easy to love the country we love anyway. I think we are passionate then most other nationalities I have come accross. We love with a passion we hate with a passion......We are what we are...Pakistanis
Really dont understand what is so funny. You mean to say that you are willing to marry a Gori to just get the American citizenship while still owing allegiance to your former country...
Not at all. Its far better to marry a Pakistani Girl because they are modest and simple .Plus i dont like to be a 2nd grade citizen !
niden not many here (in america) are familiar with the convoluted history of pakistan; the restoration of the much touted CJ is exactly the kind of symbolic gesture that would legitimize a gov't in the western hemisphere's eyes. What he has done in the past is not so much an issue as compared to what he has now come to represent.
and saroo i agree; while it was definitely harder in the past what defines your identity is whether it changes or stays in place (very simply put).
it's all in hindsight now (hopefully); but I was beginning to wonder what would happen if the state simply collapsed. what would we say then? I used to be pakistani? now i'm...well...i guess back to indian? it's an interesting idea to think about (unfortunate...but interesting)