Say the analysts, and the main stream media within Pakistan. From an absolute technical standpoint, there is no other way for a short mile drone to be able to reach Afghanistan other than launching it from Pakistan itself
Then again, no surprises here considering the sheepishly designed sellouts representing us as a country bowing their heads down to defend Uncle Sam fully knowing the same Uncle Sam funds Israel to cause mayhem in Palestine
No denying this guy was responsible for creating Taliban Pakistan, bombing Marriot Hotel, bombing the Egyptian consulate. He deserved every bit of what was coming his way. The rumors circulating suggesting Pakistan has played a part in his killing however is enough to warrant new attacks on Pakistani civilians
Ooper se, when aunty Umme Hareem aka Mariam Nawaz was asked live on a show if the Pakistani airspace was used, she had the audacity to say no Pakistani land space was used. Ulu ki paunchi huwi pathi se sawal airspace ka kiya gaya aur jawab land space ka aya..
I do believe Pakistani airspace was provided to the Yankis. All those Muslims who have facilitated in such things will no doubt go to hell. Certainly such Muslims doubt what is in Sura-e-AlMaida about the punishments in hell for exactly such people. I don’t think civilian leaders have much say in these matters though. Not trying to make fun of or taunt anyone’s pain and agony due to a disease like [Amyloidosis](Amyloidosis - Symptoms and causes - Mayo Clinic, but Gen (R) Pervaiz Musharraf’s final days in this world and what’s ahead for him despite having all the worldly wealth he has got should be a reminder to every single one of us:
^ You indirectly did taunt the general for his disease. Point is, Musharaf was ten folds more of a honorable COAS than the current one has proven to be. Lal masjid was a legitimate fully armed threat near the diplomatic enclave in the center of Islamabad's red zone, the male chief running the place had to wear a burka in his quest to escape only to be caught while exiting is a story worthy of a book, if not a movie. Musharaf sent one of his officers to negotiate with Bugti inside his mountain based cave, only for the officer to be executed. The same Bugti was in the previous months constantly blowing up Sui's gas pipelines in Balochistan demanding for his monetary commissions and/or bribes, leaving the country with pretty much no gas since much of it would come from that particular region
Aren't we all imperfect in the grand scheme of things though, and possibly be guilty of making some of the most atrocious mistakes in our lives? Musharaf was no different, just another imperfect being, yet a honorable gentleman who served his country in the best way he could. To think he's made a fortune is to say a clown is happy to be doing what he does to entertain the cheering crowd. His son and daughter do well on their own, never chose to come in the limelight even if they had the means to
^^^ How else could I have brought up Former Chief Executive and President and COAS Gen (R) Musharraf's incurable and painful disease to be seen as a lesson? Please educate me.
If you think what Musharraf did was good or he had no option then it is fine. I no longer argue over such things. Everyone has to go into their own grave and there will be no lying there.
Absolutely Not !
I don’t like PTI, nor IK but I’m with their take on the issue from Day 1. Pakistan never had a suicide blast before 2002, lost more than 1 lac lives, tens of thousands got injured, economy suffered over $150 Billion losses. Any and all participation in US’s wars has only brought humiliation and suffering for Pakistan. I hope Pakistan does not forget the lesson from 2005 earthquake, and prevent US from creating it’s intelligence network inside Pakistan this time using relief operations as cover.
Turning against the Taliban and receiving massive blowback was the unfortunate consequence of supporting the Taliban in the first place.
Should have kept their hands off in the first place instead on indulging in fantasies of strategic depth.
Musharaf actually played a double volley considering the few choices he was given at the time. China wasn't as big of a super power so to speak thus his best choice was to help the emotionally wrecked (US) instead of looking them in the eye
General agreed to help US achieve their targets instead of opting to see his country be "bombed back to stoneage", and simultaneously instructing the army command to keep the Taliban in loop of whatever was to come their merry ways. If he had not have done that Pakistan would have been targeted a 100x more times already
Talib --> Student
Taliban --> Troops of students
Talib ilm in urdu
Taliban in pashto
People who attacked the US were Al qaeda, not the students aka Taliban
No. We don’t have to align to anyone’s interest. Only look after our own.
But our definition of our interest has been extremely short-sighted and counter-productive.
Was it in our interest to interfere in Afghanistan’s civil war and support the Taliban?
We could have stayed out and let the Afghans resolve their own issues.
Instead we allied with the Taliban and supported them fully to come into power.
Then the Taliban harbored Al-Qaeda and the US turned against them.
What could we have done then? Stood by the Taliban and face the US?
We had to do a U-turn and face the wrath of the Taliban instead of facing the wrath of the US.
Why did we put ourselves in a position where we had to make this choice?
It was the short sighted militaristic vision of strategic depth as our national interest promoted by our military establishment that led us there.
Mustn't forget we're a small nation, and big eat small all the time. No offense but what would you have done say if it were your mother who is loved by millions being told she'd be roughed up? Emotions eclipsing logic is my guess
You think a army general like Musharaf willingly succumbed to the pressure put fourth by the US?
We had zero friends who were capable enough to withstand the endurance test in case Pakistan was attacked in 2001. You had the Saudi’s but they themselves were busy negotiating for NS’s safe passage. Our alliance with China, Iran, Russia, Afghanistan wasn’t as strong as it is today either
In his book, Musharraf asked his commanders how long could we defend our land against the americans if we didn’t comply, and the air chief literally said minutes to a max two hours. What this tells us is the americans were dead focused on assaulting Pakistan just to get to Afghanistan come what may
Pakistan’s reputation as well as it’s economy only took a hit when the US realized Musharraf was playing a double game. Before that, we literally were their most strategic ally’s where even India had to take a back seat and watch
Some may very well disagree but we legit did what was in the best interest for us at the time
Let’s assume I am wrong. If you think US would have spared Pakistan, you are mistaken. Just how Pakistani land and air was used to attack Afghanistan. Afghanistan’s land and air was to be used against Pakistan had Taliban not defeated the US. There were more than 40 Indian “consulates” dotted on the Pakistan-Afghan border under US umbrella wreaking havoc in Pakistan. US goal was to soften-up the target before striking. Many top Pakistani officers had secretly stopped following the orders of Pervaiz Musharraf because they knew that Musharraf was only siding with the US for personal benefits so he could stay in power longer. One such officer was Ashfaq Pervaiz Kiyani. His role was instrumental in getting rid of Musharraf but by that time many things had already gotten out of control. After American bases in Afghanistan were established, Americans were ready to start bombing settled areas of Pakistan but Kiyani frustrated them so they bombed Salala to send a message to Kiyani. Pakistan owes a lot to the Taliban as they refused to return the favor to Pakistan by not letting US bomb Pakistan in return for ceasing US’s operations inside Afghanistan.
Pervez Musharaf, ex CAOS and CEO Pakistan = Master of U-Turn who peed in his paints when Assistant Secretary of State called him and told him "Either you are with us or against us", that US would bomb Pakistan to stone age. He immediately withdrew the support to Taliban and therefore army of Northern Alliance entered Kabul without firing a bullet. After Yahya Khan he was the most shameful, coward, drunkard and corrupt CAOS happened to Pakistan who took over illegally from NS on the justification of corruption and promised to eliminating it with in no times. The corruption increased many folds than NS's PML(N) government during his tenure. He also handed over many including Afia Siddiqui to Americans for peanuts. It is a shameful history of Pakistan.
Umm, the US would not have spared Pakistan if it didn’t cooperate is pretty much what i’ve been trying to say. Afghanistan was used and abused because of some infidels in the top brass of the Taliban who allowed Al Qaeda the leeway to conduct mind blowing operations against the US. Only fair the US came after the people or the country responsible, as should any country do who’s sovereignty isn’t respected and is attacked. What some of us often forget is what happened to the US on that unfortunate day was pretty messed up, it had them shook to their absolute cores, and more so since the US at the time was busy flaunting about how it’s super invincible and powerful to the whole world. Pakistan was a key strategic gateway for them to carry on with their so called counter attacks, and it mustn’t have mattered to them if we complied or not
When the US on purpose bombed a Pakistani outpost around the Pak Afghan border in 2011, guess who was the COAS? General Pervaiz Ashfaq Kiyani. Twenty four Pakistani soldiers lost their lives including a Major, and this sellout of a COAS couldn’t even muster up the courage to get the US to apologize. Raymond Davis killed Pakistani’s and fled off scot free, COAS at the time? Kayani
And you’re trying to compare this douchebag with Musharaf. Anything else this clown was good at other than being a straight up sellout was playing friends with NS and SS