The ugly side of kite flying

*Every year I hear that a certain number of people died, including kids, because of ‘door.’ I am glad that punjab government is taking some actions against metallic and chemically coated ‘doors.’ Let’s see how well they implement it. Hoping less power generator ‘dhamakay’ and power cuts. *

Source: BBC NEWS | South Asia | Pakistan tackles killer kites

Pakistan tackles killer kites

**Kite flyers in Pakistan’s Punjab Province will face murder charges and a possible death penalty if their sharpened strings cause more deaths. **

Several people have had their throats cut this year by strings that are either metallic or coated with abrasive materials.

Police throughout the province have now been instructed to treat such deaths as murder cases.

Kite flyers use metallic strings or coat them with glass shards to take part in “dog fights” where the objective is to cut their opponent’s string.

The Punjab chief minister’s adviser on law and human rights, Rana Ejaz Ahmad Khan, announced the move on Tuesday.

Mr Khan said dangerous kite flying practices had forced the government to take this extreme measure.

Some of the victims were young children, he said.

Basant festival
Mr Khan said the government had the authority to count chemically-finished and metallic strings as offensive weapons. **

Police have been instructed to carry out raids on shops selling banned strings and make arrests, Mr Khan said.

Kite flying reaches its climax during the Basant festival at the beginning of spring but is a popular pastime all year round.

The kites pose a particular threat to motorcyclists and pedestrians in busy residential areas and have also been known to cause power cuts by interfering with electricity lines.

People have also been killed or injured falling from buildings or by walking into the paths of cars while flying kites or gazing at them in the sky.

This is a good measure, as metallic and chemical strings are prevalent, espcially in Lahore, where people forget the spirit of basant and engage in stupid bo-kaata competitions. However, a distant relative of mine sufferred a very bad cut on his neck while he was travelling on a motorcycle in Pindi, and that was an ordinary 'daur', so there are still going to be casualties and injuries, we will just have to live with them.

Interesting, never head of such a thing. Surprise it hasn't caught on in the states.

considering metalic strings as a weapon is a good security measure but it'll all go down in vein. Every year Basant gets bigger and bigger in Lahore with Pindi following very close in the footsteps. And this year they made it a three day gov't sponsered event. There is no way in hell the police can raid every other kite store in a city as big as Lahore and dont forget the small shops within mohlas selling metalic dours and the chemicals used to make them. It's way out of hands now. The best they can do is raid big stores which are supplying such items in huge amounts to reduce the availablity of them but they can't eradicate them.

*Originally posted by Gohan: *
considering metalic strings as a weapon is a good security measure but it'll all go down in vein. Every year Basant gets bigger and bigger in Lahore with Pindi following very close in the footsteps. And this year they made it a three day gov't sponsered event. There is no way in hell the police can raid every other kite store in a city as big as Lahore and dont forget the small shops within mohlas selling metalic dours and the chemicals used to make them. It's way out of hands now. The best they can do is raid big stores which are supplying such items in huge amounts to reduce the availablity of them but they can't eradicate them.

yara pindi me barish har saal kaam kharab karti hai, warna shaher me lahore ke muqabley ke basant hoti hai yara!!!

oh yaar kiya baat hai. Tum tu pindi kay cheetay ho.;)

you can try to stop shops from selling metallic strings, but then manjha,, the ones with glass powder on it, that can be made at home. My mamoon was a big time kite flier and used to make it at home and dang that thing was sharp.

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
you can try to stop shops from selling metallic strings, but then manjha,, the ones with glass powder on it, that can be made at home. My mamoon was a big time kite flier and used to make it at home and dang that thing was sharp.

Fraudia, all dours have that glass powder yar! It depends on how good you make it. If you're an expert, you can make daur which will be very 'pakki' and yet not so bad on your fingers, but then again you might have razor sharp daur that might cut your hands but at the same time make you look like a loser during 'pechas' and hear bo kaata from your neighbours! My first attempt at making daur also resulted in daur that cut just about everyones fingers.

spock my bro, not all dorr have the glass in it, dorr is the plain no frills string..once u apply assortments of sharp items with adhesives ranging from eggs and flour to high tech bonds, the dorr becomes what is known as manja/manjhaa.

majority of patang baaz folks have manjha only at the top parts of the entire line thats where teh dog fighst take place, the paich as they call them, but since regular dorr is cheaper that constitutes the rest of the line. cutting someone's dorr..the non manjha part is considered kinda lame.

hey I learnt all that stuff as I had the honor of handing my mamoon the assorted charkhees of manjha and dorrs as he asked for them, never really got into it myself but did mess up ppls kites using a sling shot :)

spock my bro, not all dorr have the glass in it, dorr is the plain no frills string..once u apply assortments of sharp items with adhesives ranging from eggs and flour to high tech bonds, the dorr becomes what is known as manja/manjhaa.

majority of patang baaz folks have manjha only at the top parts of the entire line thats where teh dog fighst take place, the paich as they call them, but since regular dorr is cheaper that constitutes the rest of the line. cutting someone's dorr..the non manjha part is considered kinda lame.

hey I learnt all that stuff as I had the honor of handing my mamoon the assorted charkhees of manjha and dorrs as he asked for them, never really got into it myself but did mess up ppls kites using a sling shot :)

hmm fraudia bhai, but I dont think nowadays anyone makes it without the sheesha... I havent atleast seen it made without it... Btw, where were u at the concert????????

Spock

I was not at the concert. Currently there are a number of things going on that have kept me so occupied that I have not had any time to myself or do anything fun. InshaAllah this will pass in a few weeks and then I will have some room to breathe. I can buy you guys some Nihari then :)

You may be right about the dorr, i believ the non sharp part of teh dorr was called sitli or sutli or somfin like that. but I am talking about 20 years ago.

Spock

I was not at the concert. Currently there are a number of things going on that have kept me so occupied that I have not had any time to myself or do anything fun. InshaAllah this will pass in a few weeks and then I will have some room to breathe. I can buy you guys some Nihari then :)

You may be right about the dorr, i believ the non sharp part of teh dorr was called sitli or sutli or somfin like that. but I am talking about 20 years ago.

Dont worry buddy, inshallah all will be fine, and yes there is a concert in september I believe, us me hazri must ho gi aap ki...

20 years ago, well, alot has changed, its true... Even when I was about 12 years old, there was some light of dignity during basants, and people would have a good time. Now its become more of a fashion thingie in lahore, and a bo-kata competition in pindi.