The Truth About Jamali and Shujaat...

This is for all you Jamali and Shujaat lovers… And this also comes from a man who was dubbed as the no. 1 Musharraf loyalist. Still think that the elections were 100% fair? Still think that Jamali and Shujaat are angels, sent into serve the people? Still think that the power hungry dictator, who is totally unconstituitional isn’t spending all that money for horse trading?

http://www.dawn.com/2002/12/30/top5.htm

Mian Azhar flays Chaudhrys

By Ashraf Mumtaz

**LAHORE, Dec 29: MianMuhammad Azhar on Sunday launched a frontal attack on Prime Minister Zafarullah Jamali and the Chaudhrys of Gujrat, alleging that those monopolizing power and the party today were once ‘courtiers’ of the deposed prime minister Nawaz Sharif. **

Speaking to reporters in the presence of Pakistan Tehrik-i- Insaaf chairman Imran Khan, and before that to a few dozen supporters at his residence, he said the ** prime minister was responsible for herding killers and turncoats into his cabinet and having the anti- floor-crossing law held in abeyance to lure in legislators from other parties to his side. No country’s law allowed corrupt people to sit in the cabinet, he argued. **

The former head of the ruling party demanded that the government should be purged of corrupt elements even if they belonged to the PML-Q.

Ignoring the suggestion that after losing chairmanship he could also lose basic membership of the party for harsh criticism of the government, Mian Azhar said he was willing to go even to the gallows for the rights of the people.

Imran Khan and provincial president of the PTI Mian Sajid Pervez called on Mian Azhar to “congratulate” him for parting ways with the oligarchy and thus saving himself from allegations.

The PTI chief said after ennobling the corrupt, killers and the NAB-accused by giving them cabinet posts, the government should open the prison gates and set the convicts with minor offences free.

Imran believed that infested with corruption, the present system would not last long.

Mian Azhar made it clear that he would not leave the party as he had worked very hard to popularize it to an extent that it formed its governments at the centre and in three provinces.

Positive criticism of the wrong policies of the government would be his future course of action, Azhar said. **He recalled that when he had launched the party, many of those at the helm at present were not willing to join it fearing Mian Nawaz Sharif. Such elements subsequently stepped in not because of any commitment but because of the party’s prospects of forming government. **

Azhar said he had fought a battle to rid the party of what he called a family rule and would not allow anyone to monopolize it now. Defending his stand on party affairs, the former PML-Q president said he had opted to step down because these days people were not being respected for their principles.

About the no-confidence motion against him, he alleged that most of the signatures on the resolution were forged.

In Lahore, he claimed, only 15 out of the total 70 members had signed the motion and the same was the situation elsewhere.

Now now, Spock..Musharraf’s supporters nowadays vote according to their conscience, they are all politicians of integrity who for the greater interest of Pakistan decided to support the government.:wink:

As white as driven snow
http://www.dawn.com/weekly/cowas/20021103.htm

By Ardeshir Cowasjee

To their credit it must be said that the Chaudhrys of Gujrat are self-made men. The fountainhead, Chaudhry Zahur Elahi, started life as an assistant sub-inspector of police. Imbued with native shrewdness and realizing that politics was his forte, he entered the fray and slowly rose through the ranks, minting money on his way up.

He educated and trained his progeny so that they may worthily follow in his footsteps and by the time his politically motivated murder was executed, the ‘joint family system’ consisted of a row of seven or eight palatial mansions on millionaires row in Lahore plus a large industrial empire financed by the country’s nationalized banks and the cooperative societies of Punjab.

With the revival of politics, Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain has emerged triumphant in the October 10 elections and is the parliamentary leader of the party largely formed by the opportunistic defectors and deserters from the Muslim League of Nawaz Sharif to which and to whom they all owe two rounds in power.

On October 24, Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, fully confident and flying high, delivered to the nation his Gujratburg Address (composed and written by his official speechwriter and printed on the front page of a national newspaper) which is worthy of countless reproductions and of being recorded in letters of gold in the books written on the history of Pakistan:

"My stance: A question is being asked why I am not the contender for the top slot. Why? I think a short explanation is due, especially so when I have been elected as the parliamentary leader of the single largest party - the Pakistan Muslim League(Q) - to emerge from the October elections. There has been unrelenting pressure from across the nation and from all quarters that I, being the natural and logical choice to head the new government, should not exclude my candidature.

"My family elders saw politics as a vehicle for public service and not for the naked pursuit of power. Helping the people and working for the well-being of the people was their mission. The lasting goodwill and the prayers of the public, which we saw during these elections, is a living proof of that legacy.

"Today, Almighty Allah has blessed the Pakistan Muslim League (Q) with the votes, support and prayers of the people. It is an occasion for thanksgiving, humbleness and also for moral responsibility.

"The two key challenges facing Pakistan are: number one, moral and number two, governance. The moral challenge requires fighting hypocrisy, fostering decency, burying the politics of revenge and promoting public interest at the expense of personal gain. The governance challenge requires tackling the problems of the masses with honesty, integrity and a sense of duty.

"I am being constantly reminded that under the principles of parliamentary democracy, the elected parliamentary leader of the single largest party in the nation should be the prime minister. But that would mean an action replay of the Bhutto and Sharif families who had made the government of Pakistan a ‘maasi da vera’ (aunty’s backyard). This repetition of blind ambitions and dynastic monopoly has to come to a halt. It also means that power is concentrated in the hands of a few - howsoever legitimately acquired it may be - at the expense of the nation.

"Therefore, we are sacrificing a political principle to uphold a moral principle.

"Today, Pakistan stands at the crossroads. It is time for wisdom and sacrifice. If the larger national interest requires a personal sacrifice, then so be it.

"For the sake of Pakistan I am giving up the right to be prime minister of Pakistan when the tradition in the past has been to sacrifice Pakistan for personal political power.

"Lust for power led to the break-up of Pakistan in 1971 and in the continuing jump from crisis to crisis.

"There are warnings that a deadly intrigue is brewing. We are completely fearless in this regard. It is our conviction as Muslims that Almighty Allah is the ultimate planner.

"Finally, I bow my head in all humility and gratitude before the Almighty for being vested by my party with the pivotal responsibility of picking the next prime minister of Pakistan during a turning point in history at the start of the 21st century. Make no mistake, I treat this as an amanat’. The sole consideration will be the supreme national interest of Pakistan.

"Before Almighty Allah and my own conscience as a God-fearing Muslim, I promise that I shall not let down the trust reposed in me. Please pray that Allah guide my judgment towards the right decisions and proper choice.

“I hope to see a new dawn of decency and democracy in Pakistan, Inshallah.”

Yesterday, it was announced to a patient nation that the Kingmaker Chaudhry had nominated as his party’s candidate for primeministership an equally able man, Mir Zafrullah Khan Jamali of the under populated, neglected, barren land mass that forms 43 per cent of the area of this country.

But perhaps and hopefully all is not plain sailing. The Chaudhry and his fellow Chaudhry, Pervez Elahi, will have to face the charges levelled against them which warrant disqualification from the political scene in Writ Petition No.18463/2002, Mian Sajid Pervez, president, [of Imran Khan’s] Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf Punjab versus Federation of Pakistan, Election Commission of Pakistan, Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain [Respondent No.3], Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi [Respondent No.4], Returning Officer, NA105 Gujrat II and PP 110 Gujrat III, filed in the Lahore High Court in the second half of September, by Advocate Hamid Khan, the president of the Supreme Court Bar Association.

It has been cited that under Clause (o) of sub-Article 2 of Article 8D of the Conduct of General Elections Order 2002 pertaining to the disqualification of members of our assemblies, it is stipulated that a person stands disqualified if “he has obtained a loan for an amount of two million rupees or more, from any bank, financial institution, cooperative society or corporate body in his own name or in the name of his spouse or any of his dependents, which stands unpaid for more than one year from the due date, or has had such loan written off.”

Similarly, Representation of People Act 1976, Section 12(2)(c), provides that a member is not qualified to sit in our assemblies if he makes: “a declaration that no loan for an amount of two million rupees or more obtained from any bank, financial institution, cooperative society or corporate body in his own name or in the name of his spouse or any of his dependents, or any business concern mainly owned by him or the aforesaid, stands unpaid for more than one year from the due date, or has got such loan written off”

This makes it quite clear that any person who has obtained a loan of Rs 2 million or more from any bank and had it written off, stands disqualified from being a member of the national or provincial assemblies.

The writ petition relates that Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain and Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi obtained a loan in the name of the company of which they were both directors, Punjab Sugar Mills Limited of Mian Channu, from the National Bank of Pakistan. In 1999, Rs.37.987 million was written off, which fact is recorded in the annual report of the bank for that year. At the time, Shujaat was the federal minister of interior and Pervaiz was speaker of the Punjab Assembly.

The two Chaudhrys obtained another loan from the Muslim Commercial Bank Limited for their Punjab Sugar Mills Limited and in 2000 a sum of Rs 22.792 million was written off, which fact is recorded in the annual report of the Bank for that year.

According to the law, as it stands today, it appears that both the Chaudhrys fully qualify for disqualification.

Technically speaking, Imran’s writ petition filed in the Lahore High Court - not heard and decided - is now infructuous, but the disqualification, if established, is a continuing one, and can be invoked at any time by any concerned or aggrieved person in appropriate proceedings before the Election Tribunal or the Supreme Court.

Now what? Are the Chaudhys worth a further amendment in the laws of our pure but poor Republic of Pakistan?

The title of the following news report made me laugh.

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_31-12-2002_pg1_2

Nice article spock
finally someone speaks against the chaudharies.....!!!there are nothing but 'ghundas'....who've looted Pakistan
PTI released a report which included evidence of the chaudharies gettin loans worth 22.4 million rupees written off by Musharraf's govt!!
Musharraf got these people in to save his presidency....they're are all lotas!!
Im not sure about Azhars intensions in sayin all this....if he knew they were such corrupt people.....why was he siding with them?!?!jus coz he lost the elecitons n he was thrown out....hes accusin them....hed stay quite if he was givin a ministry!!!.....he aint so innocent!
btw.....nyone read the book....'chaudhrion ki chorian'??....i heard its interesting
Musharraf is responsible fr all this....he came in with the promise of bringing in good governence....is this it?
He took an oath when he joined the army.....which said that he would not take part in any political activity 'what so ever'
a 22 grade officer who failed to abide by his oath has become the president of Pakistan.....is this justice?!?!
he overthrew the PM of Pakistan....who had been elected by a majority of the Pakistani people....is this justice to the nation??....he came in sayin hed leave after 3 yrs as the court said.....n he had a fake referendum......our judges have taken an oath of loyalty towards this sharabi.....what justice will they provide to the nation?!
Jamali has got cases in NAB against him but because he supported Musharraf....all his wrongdoings are forgotten n its the same for Faisal Saleh Hayat, Rao Sikandar Iqbal, Chuadhari parvez Elahi n Shujaat!
Shahbaz Sharif was exiled??....for what reason??....hes been one of the best and most successful CMs of Punjab!!....he was a great man under who Punjab prospered....the police and other public institutes were made efficient.....!!!
Zakk....they have to support the govt....the have two choices like Jamali did.....Prime Minister or a victim on the NAB in prison!!!
what do u expect him to choose
I wudnt bother readin Shujaats speech....hes a disgustin person whose looted our nation.....n so did his father....Zahoor Elahi!!

Lets just wait for Allah's insaaf in Pakistan!!!....im sure it wont be too long!

LOL, yep it was funny…

16 new lotas :slight_smile:

Originally posted by Bilal_Tarar: *
Nice article spock
finally someone speaks against the chaudharies.....!!!there are nothing but 'ghundas'....who've looted Pakistan
PTI released a report which included evidence of the chaudharies gettin loans worth 22.4 million rupees written off by Musharraf's govt!!
Musharraf got these people in to save his presidency....they're are all lotas!!
Im not sure about Azhars intensions in sayin all this....if he knew they were such corrupt people.....why was he siding with them?!?!jus coz he lost the elecitons n he was thrown out....hes accusin them....hed stay quite if he was givin a ministry!!!.....he aint so innocent!
btw.....nyone read the book....'chaudhrion ki chorian'??....i heard its interesting
Musharraf is responsible fr all this....he came in with the promise of bringing in good governence....is this it?
He took an oath when he joined the army.....
which said that he would not take part in any political activity 'what so ever'*
a 22 grade officer who failed to abide by his oath has become the president of Pakistan.....is this justice?!?!
he overthrew the PM of Pakistan....who had been elected by a majority of the Pakistani people....is this justice to the nation??....he came in sayin hed leave after 3 yrs as the court said.....n he had a fake referendum......our judges have taken an oath of loyalty towards this sharabi.....what justice will they provide to the nation?!
Jamali has got cases in NAB against him but because he supported Musharraf....all his wrongdoings are forgotten n its the same for Faisal Saleh Hayat, Rao Sikandar Iqbal, Chuadhari parvez Elahi n Shujaat!
Shahbaz Sharif was exiled??....for what reason??....hes been one of the best and most successful CMs of Punjab!!....he was a great man under who Punjab prospered....the police and other public institutes were made efficient.....!!!
Zakk....they have to support the govt....the have two choices like Jamali did.....Prime Minister or a victim on the NAB in prison!!!
what do u expect him to choose
I wudnt bother readin Shujaats speech....hes a disgustin person whose looted our nation.....n so did his father....Zahoor Elahi!!

Lets just wait for Allah's insaaf in Pakistan!!!....im sure it wont be too long!

Yes... Virtually all the Pakistanis in Pakistan know what Musharraf is doing right now, by making people like Shujaat incharge of a nation, or selecting a terrorist from the MQM as a Governer. They have stopped caring, even though their hatred for the present regime grows.

Eventhough it has been proven that Shujaat is no better than Nawaz, he has been calling the shots. I just fail to realize how some people, mainly musharraf loyalists go about justifying this.

As for Shahbaz Sharif, well one thing is true, he did alot of constructive work for Punjab, especially Lahore, eventhough I am not fan of his. He was also behind the work that was done in Rawalpindi, and that Murree Road project he envisioned was also brilliant and very daring.

n he got exiled for all that!

*Originally posted by Bilal_Tarar: *
n he got exiled for all that!

Brother, its all politics... No one cares for what he actually did, or didnt do. Its just because he was Nawaz's brother. Do they remember what Zulfi Bhutto or Ayub Khan did for the nation? Somewhere there is a dictator lined up on top who makes these decisions.

*Mian Muhammad Azhar on Sunday launched a frontal attack on Prime Minister Zafarullah Jamali and the Chaudhrys of Gujrat, *

Yeah, by losing an election, these comments aren't surprising. Even, if Chaudhrys of Gujrat lost, they would have said the same thing.

Politics.

Re: The Truth About Jamali and Shujaat...

*Originally posted by Spock: *
This is for all you Jamali and Shujaat lovers...

So who bugs you most Jamali or Shuja'at

Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
**Mian Muhammad Azhar on Sunday launched a frontal attack on Prime Minister Zafarullah Jamali and the Chaudhrys of Gujrat, *

Yeah, by losing an election, these comments aren't surprising. Even, if Chaudhrys of Gujrat lost, they would have said the same thing.

Politics.

Its got something to do with your uncle mushy... Oh and one more thing, why do the Chaudhries of Gujrat still ran for elections despite their money laundering and loan frauds?

Re: Re: The Truth About Jamali and Shujaat...

*Originally posted by Pilot: *

So who bugs you most Jamali or Shuja'at

Kun sa jahaz ura raha hai? As for Jamali and Shujaat, both are Mushy puppets of zero capability...

*Originally posted by Spock: *

Its got something to do with your uncle mushy...

Nope. Read your own article. :)

Jamali is just mushy's puppet, thats a fact.

BTW, spock, weren't you a huge supporter of musharraf's government? Well its good to see you've realized the truth...

*Originally posted by Proudpaki007: *
Jamali is just mushy's puppet, thats a fact.

BTW, spock, weren't you a huge supporter of musharraf's government? Well its good to see you've realized the truth...

Ukhalil, Im not a supporter of Musharrafs Government, when it comes to their economic policies and the way they setup this new parliament. So read before throwing out senseless fundamentalist crap. Btw, Im still proud of the way they handled the post sept 11th situation, ended Pakistan's obsession with the Talis, handled an agressive neighbour from the East, and the West. If he had carried out fair and free elections, and handed power to a civilian Government, I would have thought highly of him.

My vision is not just limited to waging jihad and preaching talibanism like you, and thats not how I judge people. He is a wise man, and has made some remarkable moves, but most of them are defensive and strategic moves only a military/tactical expert can make. Governing the country properly, even if you have good intentions, must be carried out by sincere civilian regimes.

Btw, since I have spent enough time proving you wrong and humliating you, Im not going to waste more time on you.

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *

Nope. Read your own article. :)

Do you even have a clue what you are talking about? Can you prove the Chaudhries of Gujrat have not issued huge loans from banks, and are the biggest crooks and defaulters? NO

Originally posted by Bilal_Tarar: *

Yes, Azhar was siding with the chadhries and before Azhar it was the Sharif brothers Nawaz and Shehbaz who were siding with the Chaudhries also. Chaudhries flourished for 14 year under none other than Mian Nawaz and Mian Shahbaz Shairfs. And they stayed quiet about it. and would still be quiet about them were the chaudhries on their side. Thay are all the same.

hmm....

lets elect people who are sincere, and have not looted teh countries and have a plan for the country.

Lets name one..

I am waiting.