The Three Fish

This is a story of the lake and the three big fish that were in it, one of them intelligent, another half-intelligent, and the third, stupid.

Some fisherman came to the edge of the lake with their nets. The three fish saw them.

The intelligent fish decided at once to leave, to make the long, difficult trip to the ocean. He thought, “I won’t consult with these two on this. They will only weaken my resolve, because they love this place so. They call it home. Their ignorance will keep them here.”

The wise fish saw the men and their nets and said, “I"m leaving.” The half-intelligent fish thought, "My guide has gone. I ought to have gone with him, but I didn’t, and now I’ve lost my chance to escape. I wish I’d gone with him.

He mourns the absence of his guide for a while, and then thinks, “What can I do to save myself from these men and their nets? Perhaps if I pretend to be already dead! I’ll belly up on the surface and float like weeds float, just giving myself totally to the water. To die before I die.”

So he did that. He bobbed up and down, helpless, within arm’s reach of the fishermen.

“Look at this! The best and biggest fish is dead.” One of the men lifted him by the tail, spat on him, and threw him up on the ground. He rolled over and over and slid secretly near the water, and then, back in.

Meanwhile, the third fish, the dumb one, was agitatedly jumping about, trying to escape with his agility and cleverness.

The net, of course, finally closed around him, and as he lay in the terrible frying-pan bed, he thought, “If I get out of this, I’ll never live again in the limits of the lake. Next time, the ocean! I’ll make the infinite my home.”

by Jalal al-Din Rumi

Re: The Three Fish

STP bhai:

:salam2:

What do you think is the moral or morals of the story in your views?

some one is hungry:phati:

Re: The Three Fish

Walaikum assalam brother AQ.

I personally think that there can be a number of morals extracted from the story on the basis of the way one perceive it, but I would say here what I personally feel about it.

The first fish was an example of a pious person, who preferred the the life hereafter over this world, and avoided the company of people who love this world and might have also persuaded him to be carried away with the attractions of this world (which are actually harmful).

The second fish is the example of a person who in hanging in between the two worlds. In the beginning he was convinced to love this world more than hereafter, but when the pious person left him, he realized the value of his company and felt guilty for preferring materialistic world over the life hereafter. It was still not late for him, so at the end of his life he turned to the right path, (which is very difficult to do) but somehow he managed to escape the punishment because of his sincerity.

The third person always loved this world and falsely convinced himself that he would manage to escape punishments even after enjoying the forbidden attractions of this world. He learned the lesson even later than the second person, when it was too late to repent because the time of repentance was over and the time of punishment had started.

p.s. I might have made a lot of mistakes in understanding because of hurried reply. Kindly forgive me for that. I am sure we can learn a good lesson from the words of wisdom which saints of the past have left for us.

JazakAllah khair for your time. Brother AQ I would also like to hear your words on the story.