The Tablighis

Re: The Tablighis

Actually, it isrude to show up at one's house without prior invitation, unless they are wayfarers/travellers in the classic sense of the word. In that case civil etiquette (the Eastern kind, which on this issue is much more civil, imho) demands they be shown courtesy.

Most Tablighis are locals.

even if they are travellers, usually when they stop in a city they have a place to stay, could be at someone's house, could be at a masjid.

Now dont get me wrong, even when i was at uni, I helped them by arranging them to come to my place and people to come to my place so people can come talk to the, and leave. the common compliant was that these ppl would show up, and just nto leave even if the guy has to go to work or class, and it was a real pain getting rid of them. This way being in a nuetral territory meant ppl can come and go as they please.

and even for travellers, courtesy is one thing, but they should also not be a burden. show up, sure, ask me if I have time. If i dont..go away. I will ofer you a drink or so anyways. But this is not how tablighis operate, once you open the door, your next hour or so is shot, and you end up looking like a jackass fortrying to get rid of them.

Call..I will make time, I will talk to them , listen to then, and ask questions

wich takes us to a different point, they are usually very illequipped to answer much beyond the usual speech that I have heard already from the guys that showed up 6 months ago.

No one is asking you anything, Arabs praise them. When you get a chance to travel visit please visit the Markaz in Cairo, Egypt and Amman, Jordon. This is work is no-longer just in Indian sub-continent. If we don’t do it..someone else will, Arab TJ from Qatar the Jordon are going to remote villages in Argentina and in central African countries.
Who you fooling? No-one but yourself. This will spread to every city in this world......we can be part of it or we can continue to ignore it.

I am not fooling anyone, including myself. I am exercising my right not to open my door for an unannounced visitor.

and i am glad that they are going to spread the word. I do hope that they will also be taught etiquettes for the countries they are going to and not offend people by coming across as pushy and disrespectful of your privacy, your space, or your time.

errr.. not reallly.

The mission has nothing to do with appointments or convenience, their only goal is reminding people of maut and Akhirah, they are not out to change the world, ONLY ALLAH can do that!

It is a grass roots movement and effort, we call them Jammaat, they do not refer to themselves as any Jamaat and there are NO DUES or membership.

**Next time they come to your door offer them donation and see they will turn it down....:) **

kami yaar, let's put it this way; nothing can happen in this world without the will and command of Allah. If Allah brings some-one to your doorsteps who ONLY wants to rehearse you the greatness of Allah for the sake of Allah and want absolutely nothing back in return - it's only because Allah looks at you with His mercy. Mind you, that people in the work of dawah are only there to remind themselves about Allah by rehearsing his greatness.

Now, whether you open your door or not for whatever reason, at the end it's up to you; likewise, you choose to rebuff or listen to the talk of Allah - based on the reasoning which makes more sense to you. Now, does Allah need human or anyone per se, it's the other way around. So, the only one to benefit is us whether we are giving dawah or receiving it

One more thing, we are not making time for 'anyone else' except our own selves - if we sacrifice our time to listen to the talk of Allah, it's to our own benefit, if we refuse it, it's to our own loss. The believer's job is to strengthen others in Imaan and yaqeen, hidayat is only in the hands of Allah

Lastly, there's no such thing as tableegh "jamaat"

Abdullah K summed it all up! Excellent posts. Jazakallah.

o me going to pakistan for 40 days (chilla) in june… inshallah /… :yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo:… sooooo excited!!

its not appointments for MY convenience, it is appointments for THeir convenience, because if I dont have the time then they cant talk to me, if I am not home, they cant talk to me, if I have previous commitments, they cant talk to me.

They dont ask for donation and I dont offer donation anyways.

I don't know where you live bro but here when brothers come knocking on doors, they first ask you if you have some free time, if your busy or anything. It is your decision, what your heart says, to let them in OR not..

there's always the next time..but really, going against one's own 'nafs' (soul) is the hardest thing - now consider this, who in this day and age will come and remind you about Allah for the sake of Allah - I can't think of anyone

let me add my two cents..

the ways it is suppposed to be done is that when they come to the door they should request for a few free minutes .. ... now, if he says he can only offer 5 minutes, "then they can only take 4 minutes ", and if he says I have no time, then they should ask for a more preferable time when they can return.

does every one do so? no, and that leaves a negative impression ...

well abdullah in that case its is Allah's will that I dont talk to these guys.
I am not questioning their beliefs, intentions, or sincerity (although many do)
I am simply suggesting that they be a little mindful of other people's commitments

what do you expect me to do when someone comes over and I am taking care of a sick relative? or if I am preparing for an exam in 14 hours? or if I am packing for a flight in 4 hours? what if I am not well...there are many reasons a person can not entertain even friends, let alone strangers who have ust showed up.

what is such a big deal in giving ppl a quick call and saying we are coming over. Okay fine, they did not have the sense or decency to call, but just showed up. Now when you are telling them politely that I appreciate you being here but I can not talk to you..whatever reason you may have, they just insist on coming i and that they will only take a few minutes, and just dont leave even when you say, excuse me but I really need to go now, or I really ought to get back to what I was doing.

the question is not with what they are doing but how. It is a small courtesy for them to call, it shows respect for the person they want to see. A good positive start to communication.

If they are not taking the advise and insist on violating common ettiquettes, then they are unknowingly or knowingly hurting their own cause and work.

my parents, my siblings, my elders, my friends.

o pahleeez..... as I said, they ARE supposed to ask for time, .... so dont argue about an issue you both agree to!

yeah they ask if you have time, but no matter whatthe answer, they insist on time. and i take that as disrespecting me. dudes show up at my door, ask to talk t me, if I say I only have 10 minutes, then they should get out in 10 minutes but they dont, if I say I cant talk to them right now, then I hear the same emotional blackmail..oh u have to make time for Allah, cnat you cancel your dunyawi activities for an hour. Then they want me to give them names and addresses of my friends..its like so u admit that what we are doing is a noble task, and tableegh is farz on all muslims,

yes.

would you join us .. you can get sawab of tableegh and help in the work of paighambars by giving us some name sof other people we can talk to.

I mean then you try to explain, listen, its private info. I dont know if my friends necessarily want me to hand out their contact info to ppl, but these dudes keep pressuring. ..oh dont yu think they should hear this as well, you should helpo in doing good and stopping bad, and blahbidy blabidy blah

Maybe I have had the misfortune of dealing with some illmannered, unprepared groups, but my experience with their approach has been very negative.

would be good if they ask for time over the phone rather than after ringing my doorbell.

if I am not expecting ppl, I am not opening my door. could be jehovas witness, lawn services sales guys, kids sellling newspapers for whatever, girl scouts selling cookies.

My home is my private place, the sign says no solicitors. respect my wishes, and dont ring the door bell.

blame the palyers, not the game.... the tablighi's dont do it the way its supposed to be done, which makes ppl think that "tabligh" is nonsense.....