government suffers damages going into lakhs of rupees
every year, especially when 3 grid stations caught
fire a few years ago on this occasion, it promotes the
celebration of Basant with an almost religious
intensity. And also despite the fact that lives have
been lost while celebrating Basant, the message
conveyed by the government is that while it does not
encourage unnecessary firing on this occasion, the
celebration of Basant should and must take place.

If people ever do stop to think about how Basant
originated, they assume it was a Hindu festival to
mark the change of seasons. Going into an in depth
study, however, we find a very interesting piece of
information in Dr. B.S. Nijjar’s book, “Punjab Under
the Later Mughals”. According to him, when Zakariya
Khan (1707-1759) was the governor of Punjab, a Hindu
of Sialkot, by the name of Hakeekat Rai Bakhmal Puri
spoke words of disrespect for the Prophet Muhammad
(S.A.W) and his daughter Fatima (R.A). He was arrested
and sent to Lahore to await trial. The non-Muslim
population was stirred to request Zakariya Khan to
lift the death sentence given to Hakeekat Rai but he
did not accede to their request. Eventually the death
penalty was carried out and the entire non-Muslim
population went into mourning.

As a tribute to his memory, a prosperous Hindu, Kalu
Ram initiated the Basant ‘mela’ in (Marrhi) Kot Khwaja
Saeed (Khoje Shahi) in Lahore. (This place is now
known as Baway di marrhi.) It is the last stop on the
route of Wagon no.60 from Bhati Gate. Dr. B.S. Nijjar
states on Page no. 279 of his book that the Basant
‘mela’ is celebrated in memory of Hakeekat Rai.

Keeping this above information in view, we have to
question our consciences and ourselves. As a nation,
we proudly proclaim our unflinching love and devotion
for the Prophet Muhammad (S.A.W), his family and his
companions (R.A). But are we displaying this love by
our actions? We need to question ourselves both
individually and collectively. Following a Hindu
custom is in itself distasteful but when that custom
has its origins in blasphemy, it should be totally
unacceptable to any Muslim.

On the contrary, Basant celebrations have reached the
point that invitation cards are printed out. It is
celebrated on different days in the country so that
the spirit of Basant is kept alive nationwide and
people can participate in it on a national scale. The
night of Basant is reminiscent of ‘Qiyam-ul-Layl’, in
the sense that people do not sleep on this night. But
the ‘ibadah’ is of a different kind. Reputed hotels
have their rooftops booked for the whole night. The
whole night is spent in flying kites, merry-making,
with Indian music blaring on loudspeakers in the
background.

When we, as Muslims believe that Allah has created us
for His worship alone, we have to try and inculcate
that Allah-consciousness in all aspects of our lives.
It is time to sit back and analyze ourselves, how much
do we remember Allah on the occasion of Basant? The
timeless argument of “Hey, what’s wrong in a little
fun?” can lead us along a path which may end in
despair and regret. The choice is ours to make. We can
say “Sami’na wa at’ana” (We hear and we obey) or we
can say “Sami’na wa asayna” (We hear and we disobey).

References taken from Salim Rauf’s ‘Waah re Musalmaan’

Dont think “you can” know “you can”
.::. ¢¼ ﷲ ﻼﺃ ﷲﺃ ﻶ ¢¼ .::.

thankoo 4 sharing

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/biggthumb.gif

Moved from Gen to Culture.

Saba

never mind what is the origin of basant it does bring color to the lives of lahoris
its a occasion to come out on streets and have fun a respite and a change from the mundane and other wise boring muslim festivals

Can this idiot explain how flying kites is a hindu custom?

Can this idiot explain how flying kites is a hindu custom?<<

Well according to the Taliban it definitely is not a Muslim Custom!!
SO those who approve of Taliban if not cheer them on accepted flying Kites as Un Islamic.

So I don’t understand Xtreme Bhai’s point of view. Since it is not Islamic anyway why don’t you give it to Hindus ?

Hakeekat Rai happened only about 250 yrs ago....Basant is certainly older than that.

It is like kids born today start thinking 20 yrs from now that President's day is celebrated because of them.

BS Nijjar did a good job of collecting folk songs of Punjab(I have couple of his books)....this one seems his comment based on myth or folklore in some cricles of Punjabi society.

Another Punjabi festival that was totally secular and non-religious in nature is Vaisaakhi(Baisaakhi)...now it is totally sikh festival because Guru Gobind Singh started Khalsa on one Vaisakhi day.

Why religion does not like free spirit and celebration of life just for fun and happiness?

Why religion does not like free spirit and celebration of life just for fun and happiness?<<

Which religion are you talking about?
If they don't put on their 'Islamic' hat no doubt some people would realize the reason it is not sanctioned in Islam could be that the religion was born in a DEsert wothout too many seasons.

Why are celebrations considered religious functions by Islam purists? Or Is it that, just the celebrations that have hindu origins are considered religious?

Is being happy and thanking God (shukr guzaar) for what he has given us something bad ???

Koi sumjhao!!!!

Nijjar has only narated one of the many myths about the origin of Basant, and the author Syed Anas sahib based his whole argument on the already flawed myth.

I do not like basant the way its celebrated in Lahore and it has nothing to do with religious reasons. I despise it for the same reason I despise the use of speaker from the neighborhood Maulvi Sahib during Ramadhan, like the over rated Mardi Gras before lent in my city, like the ever increasing drunk drivers at Christmas or those friends who would color my freshly painted door red at Holi.

Ok lets ignore the relegion factor. the hinduism factor...

because basant is just another festival which requires money to be spent. and as per the current financial condition of Pakistan and condition of majority of population. Only rich people can well afford this festival.

apart from basic enjoyment, this festival is totally meant for showing of one's wealth to others. This festival does not have any welfare objective like EID's on which rich people help other people.

In my view kite flying is totally useless idea, and waste of money, nothing productive in it. more over, the latest idealogy of dance, bhangra, big giant kites .... and every thing. is surely is exceeding limits.

As a nation can we afford such ayashies ?

do we see western/american/ other nations spending and wasting their useful and precious resources and time over such useless activites ???

One should justify things sensibly. and by providing solid facts. and i really dont see celebrating yet another useless culural festival whereas there are many others..

Dont think "you can" know "you can"
.::. ¢¼ ﷲ ﻼﺃ ﷲﺃ ﻶ ¢¼ .::.

.. basant have in recent years have transformed into most popular celebration particularly in Lahore.. now families get together and have parties and have a good time.. compared to other thiungs like cricket in which a lot of money and time is wasted all year around..basant is great event.

well it must be fun i wish we indian muslims had something like this here

Kabir Bhai, Its not just a Hindu festival. Basant is alive in India. Join in the fun. Holi and Diwali are also available for all.

Don worry. You wont become a Hindu by having fun !!!!!!

good quote:

Originally posted by FlameZz:
The Significance of Basant

by Syed Mohammad Anas

Basant, as we know is celebrated in Pakistan with
great fervor and the importance of celebrating it
seems to be increasing every year. Like many of our
rituals, its origins remain largely unknown to the
majority of people.

it is true.

Despite the fact that the
intensity. And also despite the fact that lives have
been lost while celebrating Basant, the message
conveyed by the government is that while it does not
encourage unnecessary firing on this occasion, the
celebration of Basant should and must take place.

many times fire works caused damage in U.S. on independance day. it doesn't mean the celebration of independance should be stoppe.

we have to teach the ppl to avoid things that can cause damage. it is good idea if ppl fly kites in grounds instead of roofs, and be careful then select "dor". T.V is good source to teach ppl to celebrate safe basant.

Safe basant..hehehe..glove pehan ke guddiyan udaao. hahaha

I agree on that point that basant has become more of a way to show off your wealth rather than have good clean fun. Nehoo, i'm waiting for the time to come when Pakistan will be able to celebrate all different ethnic festivals on a national scale rather than being limited to Punjabi entertainment.

kabir: "boring muslim festivals"???

I dont know how you celebrate your eids but we have lots of fun out here. You know , eid is a great time to do hulla gulla. You dont have to just visit family and friends. Invent your own traditions for eid if the ones available are boring. The way muslim holidays are celebrated are not set in stone - everyone has a different way of celebrating, so dont be afraid to have fun on eid.

** Despite the fact that the
intensity. **

According to a newreport qouting Amir Mehmood the government earned a profit of dhai arab rupees from the jashn-e-bharan festivities in Lahore :~) and a no of people got jobs because of it.

As far as “nuksaan” ki baat tou sari duniya mey hi public festivals pur kuch na kuch nuksan tou hotta hey. I am against firing and use of wire for flying kites but basant is great.

Aur jahan tuk waste of money ka sawal hey tou all sorts of enertainment requires money and waste of it :~)

Hamey bhi haq hey khush honey ka aur celebrate karney ka. Basant adds color to the lahori life. The people who say that its not part of our culture well it is. Basant is as much a part of lahore as is lahore a part of this great country

And i don’t expect everyone to like it but please don’t stop those who enjoy it from celebrating.

Spring is one season in which lahore is alive more than the rest of the year. Its a season that makes us feel proud of our City, its rich culture and liveliness. Amid all the tention such festivals give us hope and desire to live on.

God bless my Lahore, its rich culture, heritage and liveliness. :~)