The Shari'ah and Cosmetic Surgery

The topic on which i decided to write in preparation for my interview at a university I applied for is '‘The Shari’ah and Cosmetic Surgery’.

So i thought I d share with you people on what my findings were during my research.

The Initial thread I created to request help was http://www.paklinks.com/gs/religion-and-scripture/437262-help-required-research-on-8-issues.html

So here it is ..

The Shari’ah and Cosmetic Surgery

By Raza ul Mustafa Sabir

When Almighty consulted with the angels that he is going to create man and asked their opinion, although Allah Almighty is not bound to anyone’s opinion. One point that comes to mind here that when one is about to create something it is best to consult with others. So Allah Almighty intended to create man, He created man in the best form and shape as this was His most beloved creation. For this creation he selected the religion of Islam and with it revealed the Holy Qur’aan to the Prophet (Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam). This Holy book is a manual to set you on path to Islam and stay steadfast upon it. In Islam something is ordered either Haraam i.e. forbidden or Halaal i.e. permissible.

Every issue that arises through time till the day of judgement, the Qur’aan guides you as to which path you need to take. So in this era many issues have come to existence in which cosmetic surgery is amongst the most debated.

As per my introduction, when Allah Almighty created man, He Almighty created him the most precious, most beautiful without any defects. Therefore, when cosmetic surgery is in question, mutilation i.e. cutting and reshaping of one’s body or part of the body is involved. This mutilation in any form or shape is clearly prohibited in Islam. Allah Almighty mentions in Surah al-Nisa the words of Shaytan, when he said: “I will mislead them and I will order them to slit the ears of cattle, and to deface the (fair) natural creation of Allah.” (4: 119). From what we can derive from this verse is that to spoil or disfigure the true nature created by Allah Almighty, physically or spiritually is what Shaytan loves and promotes to practice.

The Prophetic Hadith states: “Abdullah ibn Mas’ud (Allah be pleased with him) said: “Allah’s curse is on those women who practise tattooing and get themselves tattooed, and those who remove hair from their faces, and those who make space between their teeth artificially to beautify themselves. They are such that they change the nature and features created by Allah Almighty. Allah’s Messenger (Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam) also cursed such women” [Recorded by Imam al-Bukhari and Imam Muslim].
Cosmetic surgery in Islam in default is forbidden i.e. prohibited. If one decides to practice the use of surgery, then it is of two main kinds, and they are as follows:
The first of the two is that which is used for medical treatment i.e. plastic surgery with the purpose to relieve the suffering of the person i.e. in skin grafting, suturing a hollow wound or bone setting. This kind of surgery to attain beauty has been deemed permissible in accordance to the Islamic Shari’ah as it is a form of co-operation in what is good and preventing harm that a person may have to face. In a narration by Imam Abu Dawud, Imam Nasa’i and Imam Tirmizi (May Allah Almighty have mercy on them) relate in their respective Sunan collections, that a Companion by the name of Arfajah ibn Aswad (May Allah Almighty be pleased with him) had his nose damaged in the battle of kulab. He replaced it first with silver, and then with a nose made of gold, with the order and consent of the Messenger of Allah Almighty (Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam).

The eminent Muslim scholar, Dr Abdel-Fattah Idrees, Professor of Comparative Jurisprudence at Al-Azhar University, states:
‘There is nothing wrong with plastic surgery if it is used to treat a deformed organ where the operation will offer a better quality of life. However, such surgery is not permissible if it is used for the mere purpose of beautification and which in return alters, changes, mutilates and disfigures the creation of Allah Almighty’.
However, the second of the two is cosmetic surgery which is primarily used to change the Creation of Allah Almighty with the intention in mind to appear more beautiful than one already is i.e. breast enlargement or reduction, face-lifts, spacing between teeth, reducing the size of lips and nose. This kind of surgery is not permissible i.e. forbidden in Islam because this kind alters the Creation of Allah Almighty.

If in rare case there is a genuine reason as in an organ of the body which is severely deformed i.e. nose is damaged as mentioned above in a narration or a child is born with more fingers than normal then in such cases, surgery which involves mutilation i.e. cutting will be permissible.
Therefore, in light of the above, the Jurists have declared that all types of mutilation to one’s body is Haraam i.e. forbidden unless when Shari’ah permits to do so, such as: circumcision, trimming the hair from the body, cutting the nails, etc… or that which is considered an adornment for the body, such as: piercing the ears or the nose, etc…

In conclusion, cosmetic and plastic surgery for the purpose of beautifying and adornment is forbidden in Shari’ah. However, if there is a genuine need due to something abnormal, then there is an exemption of permissibility.

Allah Almighty and His Messenger (Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam) know best.

Re: The Shari’ah and Cosmetic Surgery

:jazak:

Re: The Shari'ah and Cosmetic Surgery

*Jazak'Allah :)

:salam2: Fbi786!

:jazak: for sharing. If u would like to add few more lines then here is what i can share :slight_smile:

As u narrated hadeeth so i think u may add the above lines so no doubt should be left.

You may add it at the begining of 3rd para. :slight_smile:

Wish u all the best :k:

^^ Thanks LK for the extra input. however, i had to send it off as soon as. The above got sent but your input is greatly appreciated.

And thank you. InshAllah i will get in cos am applying thru a scholar whose friends with the Director of the institute ..so he cant turn me down lol ..

So Dunt worry I will need more help in future cos this course involves alot of research and writing essays upon essays.

Thank you @Dil Pakistan and @ Sidra0092

No probl :biggthumb:

Good luck FBI786 brother. :cheer:

Excellent contemproary subject choice… doubtless the University will accept you otherwise thier idiots not worth studying with.

^^ Wel am sure they ll accept me InshaAllah as i have my contacts you know the honourable Pirzada Sahib of Jamia Al Karam.

And the uni am going to is called Cambridge Muslim collage and they have a reputation to uphold so hopefully they wont be idiots if they turn down people.

http://www.cambridgemuslimcollege.org/ is their address if anyone is interested.

Wow Cambridge walla baboo…

:d6c:

Peace Fbi786

Please check your PMs ... I have detailed comments I can send you by email.

Wassalam

^^ Sorry psyah been busy .. have seen your PM aswell ..

I really appreciate your help and JazakAllah. The reason i didnt reply was that the document above I have already sent because it had to be with them wednesday evening. secondly, the task was that it had to be limited to one page only and no longer so even if i did add something more .. they gona think am trying to be smarty pants lol

and finally, It was a document to just show that your capable of writing something short but to the point.

and lastly, InshaAllah I will be accepted Its just that this was a formality for me and 4 others as 5 of us are applying with reference to our institution where we studied from Jamia Al Karam and CMC is in very good ties with Jamia esp the principal. So CMC has to give us a place dont mean that we dont value our commitment

However, InshaAllah Should i require help in future I shall contact yourself as i am a very fond reader of your threads and posts.

. wrong reply in the wrong thread :smack: .

I too am very proud of you and hopeful for you. MashaAllah a great asset to the ummah.

Oh okay then ... Would you like to see the comments anyway? Shall I post them here with your permission?

^^ Yes You can post them here .. Not just beneficial for me but for the readers of GS too.

and thank you for your kind words ..

and send to ma email at [email protected]

Thank you.

Peace Fbi786

I’m only putting the blue bits down, I’ve sent you the whole lot:

{Include here the concept of life being a delicate balance, and even those people who are born without body parts or with extra ones – are still alive and the biochemical balance required for life to ‘exist’ has to be perfect. So even they are perfect – provide references for the biochemical balance}

{Ok, also consider the concept of the term, ‘cosmetic’ and the term ‘surgery’ … The first i.e. ‘cosmetic’ implies that there is no greater purpose than to introduce something superficial to cover a defect, or something that is decorative rather than of functional benefit. Surgery in this context is an ‘invasive physical’ medical procedure as opposed to treatment which is non-invasive, which can be physical such as a plaster, bandage or massage, or involving something that can be administered through normal bodily openings, i.e. inhaled, rubbed, supposed, ingested, injected, etc.}

{Make note that traditional forms of surgery were not designed to alter form but to minimise alteration of form resulting of physical trauma – say that changing of physical form is technically considered ‘mutilation’ and western society has interesting views towards mutilation, and that some forms of mutilation such as tattooing is not considered so by the predominant West however, some people in the West consider circumcision as mutilation and cutting of limbs in Islamic penal law is a type of mutilation that is often required, because its harms are not outweighed by the benefits –
Read this: Mutilation - Wikipedia](Mutilation - Wikipedia) - in the section

Usage of the term

{However, mention the other forms of artificial beautification, such as to perfume, to wear kohl, to comb hair, cut nails, henna. These need to be made distinct from the other forms of artificial beautification. There is a clear separation between ‘permanent change’ and ‘temporary’ change. Mention also the focus on functional enhancement versus decorative enhancement. Show that some forms of change are not permanent and those are the ones that are not considered mutilation.

Compare this with other rulings such as with organ donation, that ijtihad has made donating one kidney acceptable because the other will be enough to work for the donor and that giving blood is okay because it replenishes. Also mention the fact that the body is given to us as a loan by Allah, it does not belong to us that we can damage it, and giving an eye is not allowed as it destroys the ‘functional’ ability of seeing in 3D for the living donor. Say that on a similar basis permanent damage or change is viewed differently to temporary change.}

{From this example in the hadith above show that the nose has a functional use and the modification made to it is to retain that use. So it becomes clear that ‘functionality’ is higher in priority than ‘image/form preservation’, i.e. if nothing is wrong functionally then it is prohibited to change the form, but if functionality is impaired then changing form becomes permissible}