The role of...

science and philosophy in Islam.

Of course we know that the Qur’an has some very good scientific facts hidden in it and a very good philosophy to go along with it. But how come that after only about 200 years the superior position of muslims with respect to these two very great aspects of life the Muslims have not made any substantial progress? What is the cause of all this? As you can see current-day Muslim countries are amongst the lowest of the low when it comes to science and philosophy? How come? How come in the beginning of Islam studying people like Plato, Socrates, Augustine, Euclides etc was stimulated but after 200-odd years it declined?
One may say that currently only Pakistan has some development, like in the nuclear field, but its nuclear technology was nothing else than stolen from Holland and irony has it that the thief Qadir Khan is now suspended from duty (aakhir chor pakra hi jaata hai :hehe: )

Anyway, why is there not any development on such fields AT ALL in islamic people currently?

(please don’t quote sources which show how ‘good’ the muslims were in such fields years ago…I’m asking about NOW! )

As a present-day example we can take the Taliban…I’m sure they didn’t have any single laboratory in Afghanistan or a library with the world’s greatest philosophers…WHY?

Re: The role of...

*Originally posted by NeSCio: *
Of course we know that the Qur'an has some very good scientific facts hidden in it and a very good philosophy to go along with it.

accha ji? exshplain tou karain zara, kiya philosophy hai?

ps. Does being a wanna be comes naturally to you?

I think that the premise of you post is to ridicule Islam as a religion and Muslims as followers, but still I would like you to answer how did you drive to these remarkable presumptions?

Firstly, you presume that whatever the Muslims had achieved in Science and philosophy is solely based on Quran? Care to explain how you came to this conclusion?

And then you go ahead a step to presume that after 200 hundred years Muslims didn’t had “substantial progress”, and you fail to mention what was the criteria of measuring this substantial progress, and to compare the progress you jump ahead 1200 years and compare the current situations of Muslims with the current world progress?

Then again you compare even the slightest development (nuclear) as to be stolen, so can you enlighten us to what you consider as “genuine” progress?

Again you round up 1.2 billion followers of a faith and ask them why there is no development in science and philosophy, as if the onus is all on them for not being the leaders in these fields.

And what’s the story with the Taliban, do you think that it was the apex of Muslim rule or science and philosophy?

NeSCio there is a difference between a simple inquiry and ridicule. I thought that it was a virtue of people with knowledge that they were always nice when asking questions, especially when it involved someone’s faith?

MiniMe bhai jaan there is a difference in responding and being defensive.. why are u going on the backfoot.. :)

I'll take a shot NeScio..

How do you intend to measure progress in scientific and philosophical fields?? is there a criteria we can use to judge?

Nescio

socio economic positions of some countries, and ill formed priorities of others have prevented the establishment of a thriving R&D infratsructure.

You will see muslims go to other countries where the infratsructure is in place, where they can get finding for their research, and where they have some protection against ppl stealing their work.

its not that R&D does not go on, it goes on on smaller scale, less of a breakthorugh type of work, and it does not get noticed. But whatever does go on is miniscule, but then we as a nation (referring to Pakistan here) need to get our priorities straight, get the support structure in place, sfaeguard people's economic wellbeing as well as intellectual property, and you will see growth in this area.

expecting any focus in R&D from middle east is wishful thinking unless they have finally grown up. I would say BD, Pakistan, Iran, Indonesia could do something in this area.

Mr. NeSCio,

You may want to get to the following website for the role of Science in Islamic History:

http://www.globalwebpost.com/farooqm/study_res/abdus_salam/i_science.html#quran

fatehahmed bhai jaan please read his post again..

the time to dwell on past achievements is gone.. the 'Ummah' is threatened from everywhere because of their lack of scientific progress or other achievements.. let's look forwards.. not backwards..

Mr. PakistaniAbroad,

If you would care to read the article, you would notice that it did take up the issue of current condition of Muslim in the field of science and the reasons behind this downfall and also discuss the steps to revive science within Muslim countries. So I find this article very relative to our discussion.

and while we read that educating article let us not forget that dr abdus salam is not a muslim, but a follower of the ahmadi (qadiani) religion…

maybe 'we' should stay away when we have nothing better to contribute to the topic at hand..

Muraad: among others the philosophies about tolerance, humbleness, and of course the Oneness of Allah

MiniMe: >>>I think that the premise of you post is to ridicule Islam as a religion and Muslims as followers, but still I would like you to answer how did you drive to these remarkable presumptions?<<<
For the umpteenth time in this forum, I’m pointing out the difference between ridiculing Islam and ridiculing the ‘followers’. I would never ridicule Islam as I’ve often stated, and as far as I know I never have, and never has it been my intention. However, I verily at various moment have been very critical of the muslim countries and the people in them. But one cannot simply state that ridiculing them is the same as ridiculing the concept of Islam, which I have tried never to do.

Firstly, you presume that whatever the Muslims had achieved in Science and philosophy is solely based on Quran? Care to explain how you came to this conclusion?

Where did I say the progress was solely based on qur’an? But if I wasn’t clear, let me rephrase: How come that despite having such a great book amidst them, Muslims in recent years have failed to contribute substantially in these fields?

And then you go ahead a step to presume that after 200 hundred years Muslims didn’t had “substantial progress”, and you fail to mention what was the criteria of measuring this substantial progress, and to compare the progress you jump ahead 1200 years and compare the current situations of Muslims with the current world progress?

Partly this answers pakistaniabroad’s question: You can look at every-day (technical) things we use, like television, radio, computers. You can also go and have a look in the medical field. The Arabs have contributed quite a lot in early years, but I can’t think of any good medical research coming from the Muslim countries (CT-scans, MRI, antibiotics, treatments etc). If we take automobiles, we will see all big companies are from the West or Japan. Why not a single good model from the Arab countries? (after all, it is their oil that is making these car run).

Then again you compare even the slightest development (nuclear) as to be stolen, so can you enlighten us to what you consider as “genuine” progress?

If the essential concept or other steps are genuinely coming from a single of few research groups. And in case something is originating from other people, it is not from someone who afterwards you consider as ‘alien’. Like DNA, Watson and Crick got some basic ideas from someone else (one of their colleagues), but they admitted it…and also paid credit to her.

Again you round up 1.2 billion followers of a faith and ask them why there is no development in science and philosophy, as if the onus is all on them for not being the leaders in these fields.

I’ve not said all of them shud be pioneers in those fields, but you can at least expect that from within these pool of ppl, there should be some good talents who didn’t need ‘exterior’ help from the West for their development, but could come up with good ideas from within themselves.

And what’s the story with the Taliban, do you think that it was the apex of Muslim rule or science and philosophy?

No, but I presume –perhaps erroneously- that there might be some ppl on this forum who do…….so actually if was more directed towards them……my apologies for not being clear on this.

Fraudz: I agree completely, but then I wonder how come these countries (also referring to Pakistan) are considered by many –especially on this board- as ‘best’ Muslim countries in the world, if they cannot even understand the basic concepts of how to lead a country on the right path. It reflects what bas state the rest of the countries is in. Surely, one cannot say that it is Islam that is wrong (and too am not saying it), because that is our basic dogma. So clearly something has gone wrong along the way….….I’m asking what is it, and HOW COME???????

clump together any other bunch of countries. lets take the southern hemisphere for instance. south america, central africa and south africa. significant scientific achievements? past or present?

as muslim countries, we're probably even looser coupled than these countries. we're just a bunch of countries in which muslims form the majority.

what scientific development have they engenedered?

stop moaning about introspection and how we should think why we didnt progress scientifically, stop asking yourself "is it my religion?" "is there something wrong with me?" .. yes, there is. you, and people who love to nitpick about islam, sit on your arse and keep thinking that.

while it may be commendable for you to think "why didnt i make scientific progress inspite of being a muslim?", fact of the matter is, being a muslim doesnt make you a rocket scientist. infrastructure, good policymaking, honest politicians do. as far as grad school goes, you arent the better or the worse being a muslim.

So no, islam doesnt discourage philosphy, islam doesnt discourage science, but islam doesnt guarantee either of them either. They're not correlated, you dont need tauheed to understand markov models.

How come thailand doesnt manufacture space shuttles? How come no country in south america exports car engines?

Stop bashing yourself over and do something useful in the meanwhile.