The rise of Roman Urdu

What Ataturk did to Turkey we are doing it to Pakistan gradually. Congratulations …!! We are on the path to abandoning the Arabic alphabet.

[thumb=H]urdu17338_8747675.JPG[/thumb]
Look at this advertisement. Besides, go to Pakistan, look at our sign boards, the billboards, everyday use of English words. Shows well the love and respect for Urdu. Half the nation got lost in having Urdu as the national language, it never became the state language. Does the Pakistani nation have any identity?

I am not saying, English shouldn’t be learnt or used, all I am saying is what place does Urdu have and its alphabet. For me, I hate Roman Urdu, I smell the Turkish kind of secular reforms in it.

In fact it has become a fashion to speak English. If someone speaks good Urdu he is looked down upon, atleast in some "high-class"places.

^Aray meray bhai ....how can one nation become "So called Secular" by "So called change in Alphabets"????That way Bangladesh may be a Hindu Secualr Nation for using Sanskrit alphabets???

Islamabad bhai, aapki post bhi angraizi mein likhi gayi hai, urdu mein nahi :hehe:

Who is saying using English is bad? All I am saying is, use Urdu in Urdu alphabets.

^ i agree

i never thought of it that way..but i agree..urdu in urdu alphabets...or better yet , abandon urdu and make arabic our national language and teach only eng. and arabic in schools...kids can learn urdu at home and in aronud a generation or so, arabic would be our national language.

Isl,
i totally agree with you.
a nation who forgets its roots and forgets to respect its identites can never be resepected by anyone...we as a nation ought to realize that...

true. urdu is such a beautiful language…the fascination that desis seem to have with english is ridiculous and obviously this fascination comes from their obsession with the west. :smack:

I agree with Islamabad. I think that the media has alot to do with it too. All the actesses are trying to talk in English. I guess people that can say a few words in English are considered better than the ones that cannot.
Urdu is a fascinating language and we should be proud that it is our national language.

*Originally posted by ThandyMazaq: *
i never thought of it that way..but i agree..urdu in urdu alphabets...or better yet , abandon urdu and make arabic our national language and teach only eng. and arabic in schools...kids can learn urdu at home and in aronud a generation or so, arabic would be our national language.
Here we go again.

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Here we go again.

what?

Topic is about Urdu and how to preserve it in its pristine form. You are telling us how to destroy it completely. Jazak Allah Khair :)

i'm also concerned about the guy in the ad wearing pants and shirt. why cant he just wear a thob and jump?

by looking at that picture, there are more serious problems to be dealt with.

Like homosexuality........

:rolleyes: ^