Re: The Rights of Women in Islam
sorry, mujhe bahalane ko ghalib sumaj nahi ahya
I dont deny anything that is in the Quran or Sunnah and I never will. If you dont like it, move on.
Islam is the way of life that Allah wants us to live, and we muslims live by it, we will continue living by it and it will not change.
People with the western type of thinking can not understand this, Islam will never evolve or change to fit the constantly changing cultural trends. It has been the same since it was revealed and will stay the same for all time.
Look into Islam, you'll see why for every man thats converting to Islam theres 5+ women converting to Islam...hmm I wonder why?
Dil ke bahalane ko Ghalib, ye khayal bhi acchha hei.
LOL I am a man bud, and born in muslim family. as of my own religion, first I would like to remove the gray areas from the religion then I will decide. Borderline Muslim you can say that.
I do believe in equal rights, sorry to say without any if, buts or maybes.
I was wondering that how conveniently the pro equal right people has not replied for my post # 36.
I am giving reference from Holy Quran which supercedes Hadees. Be kind enough to give reference from Holy Quran.
My stance is men and women do not have equal right as per Holy Quran.
If a husband is disloyal or ill conduct then woman has a full right for(khulah)divorce.No one can forbid her for her right.But if a woman is disloyal or ill conduct then its the man's duty to guide her by punish her and if she does'nt want to be a good woman then she can leave her husband.Husband has to pay his role as a maintainer.
Also if a husband do evil things then Allah will only ask Him(husband) for his deeds........But if a wife(woman) do evil things Then Allah will Ask her(woman) 's Husband for her deeds.
For example if a woman does'nt wear hijjab then Allah will ask her man for this sin.(why did you(man) not make your woman wear hijjab)?
Hope you got it.
After reading so many responses in defence of Islam, would like to know a single role model Islamic society where Muslim women are enjoying life?????
The question still remains why the woman is not allowed to guide her disloyal husband, Maximum she is allowed to do is leave her husband. On the other hand she can be verbally reprimanded, seperated or beaten as I gave the reference before.
I read your example without the reference, reply withheld until I have the reference.
BTW when Allah created Adam and Eve, that was equal. Both created at the same time. Had the same rights. Allah never asked Adam to be keeper of Eve. Also when Allah created one Eve for Adam He knew whats best for Adam otherwise He would have created four Eves for one Adam from the begining.
God knew at the time of the creation, that some centuries later in the Holy Book He will be giving the consent anyway for polygamy.
I read your example without the reference, reply withheld until I have the reference.
She can guide her husband but not in the way husband can.....Why?bcoz men are responsible for the deeds of thier women and as well as thier own deeds but women are only responsible for thier own deeds and not responsible for thier husband's deeds. bcoz men have more responsibility Thats why men have a degree over thier women.And remember men have a degree over thier women not over someone else's women or not over every women.
don't misunderstood the ayah.......
here the ref for my statement about Men held responsible for thier and thier women's deeds.Man is the ruler in his home. He will be held responsible for the conduct of his dependents, and woman is the ruler in her husband's home. She will also be held responsible for the conduct of her dependents. (Bukhari).
God knew at the time of the creation, that some centuries later in the Holy Book He will be giving the consent anyway for polygamy.
I was'nt expecting this statement from you anyway...........
there are many things in the past those are'nt part of the Shariat e Mahammad(saw).We today as muslims don't follow the rulings of anyother Prophet except Muhammad(saw).
Creation of Adam and Eve ........you can start another thread for that.
"Allah is the All Knower of Everything".
Expect the unexpected, then you wont be surprised, just kidding. :)
Mods if you want to remove this mail you are welcome.
Edited.
Later ....
[quote=Afridi786]
I dont deny anything that is in the Quran or Sunnah and I never will. If you dont like it, move on.
quote]
What does 'move on' mean?
I have read the whole thread and quite a range of questions and answers, wow. I am making an attempt to address a very small part, since the topic is so vast that we can write and write and it would take pages and pages. But before I start, I would like to mention an aya here, that got me thinking …
“Believers, let no man among you mock another man; the man being mocked is usually superior to the man who mocks. Let no woman among you mock another woman; the woman being mocked is usually superior to the woman who mocks. Do not slander one another, nor call each other by rude names; it is wrong that someone who has embraced the faith, should be called by a rude name. Those who do not repent, are sinners.”
[RIGHT]Quran, Al-Hujurat, Surah 49:11[/RIGHT]
Let me also add that pre-judging without the right knowledge is called Prejudice. Basically we try to advocate our own biases without making an effort to understand. I have seen here that people take an aya and start criticising it without understanding.
LB with reference to your post # 36: Where you took an aya from Quran 4:34 and highlighted and underlined some words and started questioning it.
We all know and accept that Quran cannot be studied without fiqh and understanding. Though not all of us have studied fiqh but at least we can consult some detailed resources before making our judgement and start questioning.
The aya says, Men are maintainers of women … that does not give them any political authority over women. It simply means that it’s their financial obligation to maintain women. Women on the other hand do not have the same obligation. The wealth they acquire is considered discretionary wealth and if they want, they can share it with their husbands or they can spend it on whatever they want to. In fact, in Maliki Mudhab, it is wajib, a fard for a man to provide domestic help for a woman. Although a woman’s work at home taking care of children and household, is given the status of Jihad. This is a Sahih hadith. Prophet :saw: said that a woman gets the same muqaam and rewards of a man in Jihad fee sabil-Allah for doing all the household work. Now how many men get the opportunity of being in a Jihad, while women get this status everyday at home ![]()
Now LB, when you questioned the rights of women when men are disloyal or vice-versa … do you even know the purpose of this particular aya, why and when it was revealed?
We need to understand what that aya means, which requires the detail and sophistication of fiqh and fuqaha have explained it with precision, that I cannot go into detail here or I’ll take at least 2 more pages and yet I may not be able to do justice with the job since I’m not a religious scholar. There are rules of fiqh that relate to men (when they are unfaithful) and if you really want to learn in detail, I can give you references of written and audio material. So let me first say that it is utterly forbidden to beat a woman or a child or even an animal in Shari’ah. **Basically, **this aya relates to domestic violence. How? That takes us to knowing, when and why the aya came. Prophet :saw: said, “Lunyeyadribu khiyarukum” meaning, The best of you would never hit a woman.
This translation that you put in bold and underlined about “beat them (lightly)” . This is not actual beating, it is, strike lightly. That too, it was given with “karahiyah” (disliking) as a way of maintaining the self-esteem of Arabs. This verse was revealed when a woman was struck by her husband and the Prophet :saw: said to the woman that I’ll take you and you can strike him the same way, he struck you. And they were actually on the way and this woman was gonna hit her husband in the presence of :saw: because he thought that was fair. At that point this verse was revealed. In other words it conveyed the message, don’t humiliate these men, they are Arabs. And because they have already done so much (let’s not forget that these are Arabs who used to burry their daughters alive, forget about giving them any respect or share in inheritance). Under Islam, they had transformed themselves. Arabs were very proud men (they still are, we all know that) and if :saw: would have humiliated them that way, and he would have lost them. So this aya was revealed as per the psychology of those people. This message was given to the first people.
Now, my purpose of this post was to share some information and not to hurt someone’s ideas or beliefs. Neither did I mean to go beating about the bush by repeated discussions. If anyone is interested to know more about what I mentioned here, please contact me, and I’ll be more than happy to share the source of my information.
And Only God knows the truth. May God forgive us for making any wrong or uninformed claims (intentional or unintentional) and may He :swt: guide us to the right path. Ameen, sum Ameen.
But was the message given only for Arabs? Islam is universal religion as argued by religious people, based on that it’s hard for me to believe what you just said.
Let's not get down to a reductionist approach, shall we? I don't want to take each and every word of your statement and start analyzing it. As I said above, none of us here is a scholar. If you really want to learn more, ask a scholar. If you need to search some more, pls. explore some resources. I hope and pray that you find the answer to your satisfaction, ameen.
Light Bearer, as you are very "curious" about Islam, go to Ummah.com/forum, sign up and post any question you want in the appropriate section, MashAllah there are many muslims with much deeper knowledge than most of us on here.
Recite
4:34 Men are the protectors and maintainers of women, because Allah has given the one more (strength) than the other, and because they support them from their means. Therefore the righteous women are devoutly obedient, and guard in (the husband's) absence what Allah would have them guard. As to those women on whose part ye fear disloyalty and ill-conduct, admonish them (first), (Next), refuse to share their beds, (And last) beat them (lightly); but if they return to obedience, seek not against them Means (of annoyance): For Allah is Most High, great (above you all).
As for the whole Quran and this verse, it is meant for all Mankind, now if you look at it logically, you would understand, first if you suspect a woman of disloyalty and ill-conduct, you should first admonish them, speak to them/confront them, then you should refuse them in bed, abstain from them, then as the last resort if they are still disloyal and guilty of ill-conduct, then beat them lightly, but if they heed the warnings and become loyal, do not seek to harm them. Makes perfect sense.
Hope the answer is sufficient...btw men and women r not equal in Islam, in the eyes of Allah swt they are, but on this world, men are a degree above women as they are to take care of the woman financially, women have no such financial obligations. Men are the protectors and maintainers of women, because Allah has given the one more (strength) than the other, and because they support them from their means.
I'll also include the next ayat after the quoted one to show how fair marriage is in Islam.
4:35 If ye fear a breach between them twain, appoint (two) arbiters, one from his family, and the other from hers; if they wish for peace, Allah will cause their reconciliation: For Allah hath full knowledge, and is acquainted with all things.