The Return of the Sharif?

Considering what little respect for the law this government has..I am not sure if this verdict makes a difference. Anyway what do the rest of you think about this development?
BBC
Pakistan’s Supreme Court has ruled that a leading politician living in exile in Britain can return to the country.
Shahbaz Sharif, president of the opposition PML-N party and brother of former premier Nawaz Sharif, has been in exile for three years.

The court ruled Shahbaz Sharif would still have to face any charges pending against him.

Mr Sharif’s lawyers had asked the court to overturn the ban and the PML-N said it was preparing for his return.

Mr Sharif, former chief minister of Punjab province, went into exile with Nawaz Sharif and their families in December 2001.

Nawaz Sharif was ousted by current President Pervez Musharraf.

At the time the government said that part of the exile agreement was that any charges against them were withdrawn.

Some family members have tried to return to Pakistan but were forcibly put on flights soon after their arrival.

The court now says the ban should be lifted, but outstanding charges will have to be faced and Shahbaz Sharif could be arrested on arrival.

Court proceedings have taken place in Lahore where he has been implicated in ordering the killing of five people - a charge he denies.

** However, the PML-N argues that no cases are registered against him.

Party spokesman Sadique al-Farooq said: “We are happy that Shahbaz Sharif has been given justice by the Supreme Court. The court has upheld the values of justice.” **

Let him in. Lock him up. I dont mind his brother Nawaz. But this ******* is notorious for his habits of "picking" up girls.

dayyyynnnggg i know ryyyyyyyyyt :eek: cwazy :mudhosh:

i saw that on TV

Shahbaz Shareef’s intervoo :eek:

the sharif braadarz r coming back now? :konfused:

well i did kinda like nawaz sharif…he almost cried in a speech on national tv once..does anyone reember? he was talking abt a girl who’s father was murdered :S
:S

he seems like a gentle soul…i think he’s a bit bhola :smack:

shahbaz shareef on the other hand seems like a cunning shrewd person…Rabb janey

hmm…im not a political supporter of PML or somthin,but i was thinking, u cant just tell someone to leave their homeland…i mean ppl have an attachment with their MATTI..their ROOTS…and telling them to leave that is kinda harsh

so i think its good they r allowed back

i hope ab bas ye log sudhar jaein aur bas mullak mein koi phadda na ho :smack:

Musharraf has limtied power to deal with the Sharifs. If he pushes them too hard, Punjab will revolt, and that would be the end of Musharraf.

Oh god please don't let this be true.

Nawaz the thief Sharif has got to be the dumbest leader pakistan has ever had in history.

He has very little in terms of political thinking he only knows how to loot the country and build his own empire!

Return of the Choti Tind!

aho Spock thats what someone else was saying too :hehe:

He was on Geo. There were talks of a deal with Mush but he denied that.

*Originally posted by Imdad Ali: *
Musharraf has limtied power to deal with the Sharifs. If he pushes them too hard, Punjab will revolt, and that would be the end of Musharraf.

Which J$#@$! A34 analyst says Punjab will revolt for this khabees tind? Did u statistically generate this answer, or was there voting. please... say something that people will belive

*Originally posted by Bhadsha: *

Which J$#@$! A34 analyst says Punjab will revolt for this khabees tind? Did u statistically generate this answer, or was there voting. please... say something that people will belive

Nope no analyst. It's just Imdad, the armchair activist coiming straight to you from his cushy lair :)

Anyone know about Sharifs background? Imdad, you have truly lost it when you talk about this imaginary "revolt" in Punjab, much like the other fabrications.

Maybe Kashmiri-Lahori Mafia or the residents of Lahore might rejoice but to the rest of us, it is good riddance he is out of Pakistan. Imdad, get out of narrow minded ethnic politics, not only are they cheap but also self-destructive.

I support any Pakistani who puts Pakistan over his/her petty self interests.

what the hell is Mush doing bringing him back...!?

i say handcuff him at the airport and kill him in an 'encounter' with 'his supporters trying to free him' from the police en route jail.
nawaz sharif, benazir and altaf will then stay away for the rest of eternity!

hey, this thread reminded me of somfin :D has anyone heard this :D when we were kids and there were electionz going on, these lil rhymes were going around abt the political parties...

this one abt the sharifs

na baatein shareef
na kaam shareef
nawaz shreef
shahbaz shareef

^ haha!!! :smiley: :k:
these wacky slogans come up every election.

i remember this from 2002:
“awaam ki hai aik hi raay
Musharraf aur Imran hi aaye”

and
“jurat o bahaduri
Tahir-ul-Qadri”

weird! :stuck_out_tongue:

*Originally posted by Bhadsha: *

Imdad assumes everybody else is into petty tribalism and regional factionalism like him. Who cares if Sharif is coming back so long as he doesn't get anyhwere near office where his bumbling incompetence could be seriously damaging.

Hate to be devil advocate but the PML-N has effectively become Pakistan's first ever ethnic Punjabi party, most of it's entire electoral support is from the Punjab (primarily northern Punjab) and it's supporters are surprisingly anti Army interference in politics. Despite the strong ties many have with the Army.

Also many of Mushy's Kings party supporters in the civil service, army and political lotas have a soft spot for Shahbaz Sharif. He has been acquitted of all charges with regard to corruption and.. he is considered one of Punjabs best CM's (Chief minister not CM guppie!) in recent history.

I have not heard any rumors about Shahbaz Sharif picking up girls. He did marry twice (or may be thrice).

And despite what you guys are saying.. the dude, almost single-handedly transformed Lahore into a world class city, with some of the best road infrastructure.

He may be a wily politician, but lets give credit where it is due. There is perhaps no Governor in the history of Punjab who spent so much time and energy in developing Lahore. Yes, it may be a single-minded obsession at the expense of rest of Punjab (and even rest of Pakistan), but atleast it got something done, instead of looting the whole thing for personal gains.

I know its all my fault. Sharif can come back like a king, while bhutto and altaf cannot becuase they belong to the wrong ethnicity. Evidence is before our eyes.

He made Lahore real good, at the expense of rest of pakistan, but that shouldn't matter. Lahore's elite is mroe important to us.

*Originally posted by irem: *
hey, this thread reminded me of somfin :D has anyone heard this :D when we were kids and there were electionz going on, these lil rhymes were going around abt the political parties...

this one abt the sharifs

na baatein shareef
na kaam shareef
nawaz shreef
shahbaz shareef

I think it was like this...

Na Beta Shareef, na baap shareef,
Nawaz Shareef Nawaz Shareef! LOL

*Originally posted by Imdad Ali: *
I know its all my fault. Sharif can come back like a king, while bhutto and altaf cannot becuase they belong to the wrong ethnicity. Evidence is before our eyes.

Altaf isn't coming back because he know he;s a terrorist and will be treated as one, BB she keeps on claiming she will return. But in the end knows her sins and cant face it. THe little tind well atleast he has guts unlike ur Altaf leader hiding like a chicken in London ( a citizen of england I belive).

Harris that tahirulqadri one is funny :hehe:

Spock yup i remember that one too :smiley:

theres these ones too i can think of rite now [some of em r kinda personal but advance disclaimer: no offence intended :smiley: ]

gali se nikla aik faqeer
jis kee beti benazir :smiley:

pehli thee talwaar ab kee teer hae
apni cheater ab to benazir hae :smiley:

dhokaybaazi
dramaybaazi
mein le gya bazi
hamara qazi :smiley:

there was a real funny one abt sheikh rasheed, something something sheeda talli but i cant rememebr that one right now :smiley: