The Real You...

Salaams, Guys & Girls.

Have you guys ever looked in the mirror and were unable to associate the ‘Image’ you have of yourself (in your mind) with the one you see in the mirror ?.

Its like there’s a ‘public’ face/personality of you that everyone knows and interacts with on a daily basis and then there’s the ‘you’ deep inside which you are aware of but no-body else really gets to know. And every now and then you look at yourself in the mirror and you think ‘thats not the real me’..

Well may be its just me turning into a Schitzo.. or have any of you guys ever felt the same.. even if it was only for a fleeting moment ?.

your fellow guppo Arch-Angel (…err I think !)

Death is only the Beginning.

Yup

you got ‘this’ right…

I have no idea what are you talking abt … :slight_smile:

hey Pristine .. thanx yaar !, at least now I know that its just me ! .. must be a mid-life crisis type thing

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/pagal.gif

then again it might be due to low sugar levels during fasting ! :wink:

Arch, only if we all understood ourselves, i dont think you are alone

No No No Wait a sec. U're not alone in that one! How can u say that, when u were to come across more ppl like me. So count me in.

Yes, I feel that way at times. U look into the mirror and the reflection u see staring back at u, seems to be asking u, that have u been true to urself, have u treated urself the way it deserves to be treated and will u be proud of ur accomplishments or how ur life is the way it is?

SOmetimes staring at the person in the mirror means more than just seeing one's reflection. With cyco's like us, we try to see the person who's within us in that image. Ever tried making a real "EYE CONTACT" with urself? :) try it, and ask urself a few questions, see what that person has to say back to u.

Arch..ahem! Yes, whatever I've written above doesn't makes sense, but hopefully lets say we come up with a better justification or reasoning as if in why this phenomena is experienced. :0)

Adios!
DB:)

Mangelo... Thankx yaar, After reading Pristines comments I was just about to have myself commited ! ;) j/k

Seriousley though, its something which is very difficult to explain but once you've expereinced it... you know exactly what I mean. You'll know when it happens to you.. It may only last a few seconds.. but you'll know !.

DB... hey sis how are ya ?.. as long as someone understands what I'm trying to say.. that is all that matters :). I try to stay away from these type of topics simply because they are so difficult to get across to other people, especially when you're not sat face to face with them. But this one I just had to 'get off my chest' since it has happened to me a number of times.. I'm sure theres no science behind it and for all I know it couldbe just a 'figment of the imagination'... but I just had to share it with you guys. Sorry if it all sounds gibberish or that it's bored the hell out of ya !.

until next time....

[This message has been edited by Arch-Angel (edited December 05, 2000).]

Mujh ko bhi tamana hay Iqbal ko deikhoun
ki us ki judai may buhut ashk fashaani

Iqbal bhi Iqbal say aagah nahin hay
kutch iss may tamuskhur wAllah nahin hay

heheh i totally know what youre talking about....like youre in the middle of laughing or telling something funny to someone and you glance over into a window or mirror and youre like.....EW whose that? hehehe when its actually you!!!??? ive told this to my friends and they all look at me like im nuts..soo woohoo more power to ya! i guess we are the few elite who can see life in many dimensions ;)

Yeah I think I know what you mean. I don't go around thinking I'm not who I appear to be etc. However sometimes I'll just look up to see my reflection and it's like I'm looking at someone else. Like you're not looking at your own reflection but standing in front of a total stranger whom you do not even recognise. It's really an odd feeling and last a few secs only happens very rarely.

[This message has been edited by waqas72 (edited December 04, 2000).]

Wa'salam. I have seen the above stated scenario surfacing among people from time to time. A question which solely depends on how a person perceives themselves. It's like this, everyone has two sides to them. A public one, and a private one. To an extent they should be similar. Because what one is inside (privately in terms of thinking patters, beliefs) is exactly what they should come across as, in public also. However, are the two different (if one's thoughts and ideas are totally different from what they let others to believe about themselves), then that is a conflict in personality. And could be a major underlying cause waiting to resurface in the form of a major disaster at some point and time. What differs public from private is not the conflict of personality but one's behavior while being in the 2 settings. As u have posted above, "there's the 'you' deep inside which you are aware of," and one shares that part of one's self only with people one knows, trusts and is close with, is what sets private under a different spotlight from public. See the difference?

As far as the-looking-into-the-mirror situation is concerned, I think when one looks in the mirror, the person who looks back should be the same person who resides inside of the onlooker. In order to achieve anything in life, or to get anywhere in life, one must be content and satisfied with who they are. The term "image" describes the perception others have of an individual. Integrity and vision is what a person really is. Eyes are windows to a soul, and attitude is the eye of a soul. If one has the right attitude there is no way, they can not be all they hold the potential for. Self-image determines the height of success in life. It is very significant that the person who looks back at you from the mirror is who you really are. It's vision which adds value to everything.

WOW ! :eek: Having started this thread I looked back and thought it was a stupid topic and no-one will reply… Ab maloom hua keh sirf men nahi.. balkeh sub pagal hain ! :wink: j/k,

no, seriousley guys, thanks for the replies. I think most of you have experienced this phenomena at sometime so you know where I’m comming from. few sighs with relief !

Rarediamonds & gold you wrote >>
As far as the-looking-into-the-mirror situation is concerned, I think when one looks in the mirror, the person who looks back should be the same person who resides inside of the onlooker. In order to achieve anything in life, or to get anywhere in life, one must be content and satisfied with who they are.

I agree with what you said. However, to be content and Satisfied with who you are, is a state which is difficult to achieve. The image you project of yourself (ie your ‘public’ face) is not only determined by who you are but also influenced by family, friends and social circles. That however is another story…

Archy... No don't say that. I mean don't think of ur topics being boring or so, cuz if u do, then ppl like us that likes to analyse life, and ponder over the minor details will feel leftout and out of the whack!

Okay I've to run! More falsafa later! :)

Adios!
DB:)

DB, hey sis, as long as there’s someone to listen, I’ll keep talking !. Nice to have actual deep/meaningful conversations now and again but too much of that stuff can make you

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/pagal.gif

!.. OK time to go home and get some grub !.. see ya later (insha allah)