Quote:After his playing career ended in 1992, Khan entered politics under the tutelage of Lt.-Gen. Hamid Gul, the former Pakistani intelligence chief famous for fueling the Taliban’s rise in Afghanistan. (Gul believes that September 11 was a U.S. conspiracy.) Khan, a man who once captained the Oxford University cricket team and was a feature at London’s trendiest places, now turned against the culture he had previously enjoyed.
Quote: In 2002 one of his party leaders remarked: “Even we are finding it difficult to figure out the real Imran. He dons the shalwar-kameez and preaches desi and religious values while in Pakistan, but transforms himself completely while rubbing shoulders with the elite in Britain and elsewhere in the West.” Khan claims that his marriage proved he wasn’t a politician but his divorce and his recent demagoguery show that he now is one, albeit one of the worst sort.
No Lt Gen A A K 'Tiger' Niazi was not directly related to Imran, at least not in the past 4-5 generations, but definitely somewhere down their tribal tree, as they're both from the Niazi tribe.
^ Well every country needs an army. And no true patriot should be against the army as an institution. What people detest is military not confining themselves to the barracks and meddling in politics and affairs of the state. Failure of our politicians is no excuse for the military to see themselves as an alternative to democracy :)
so if i wear a shalwar kameez in pakistan and english dress abroad? does that make me a hypocrate? then i am afraid we all are.
good thing about imran he doesnt lie about the facts. so you all know his past girl friends? atleast he didnt use the prositutes and actoreses like almost all politicians without admiting ever.
He has been touching shoulders with british elite and know the society inside out. and then chose the path which was correct.
so what you want him to do wear and adopt taliban way? bashing west for its bad things is an healthy critcism, nothing wrong with it.
bashing for daemonising someone for personal gains, is not right anyway.
so Ania ayoub and her sister had no relationship with Altaf???
Face the khan with real answers, demoralising on personal grounds will not get altaf and co anywhere.
Imran commend the independant judiciary of the west. bash its wrong doings . absolutely nothing wrong with it!
both of these people wrote this article, i guess have never have visited Pakistan and met him personally. and commented on him without anything.
I had the chance of attending this meeting and 2 others hosted by APPNA in chicago. One of the meeting was a political forum organized by Dow Medical College Alumni, the guest speakers were Imran and Farooq sattar along with an unknown Sindhi politician in self exile. There were atleast 300 dioctors mostly from karachi, I was under the impression that pro MQM crowd will give Imran a tough time but it was interesting to see farooq sattar blasted by Imran on almost every issue and in the end every sigle response by farooq sattar was " imran bhai bilkul sahee keh raheen hain, main in sae ittifaq karta hoon" Imran really impressed everyone including karachi crowd. I still remember Imran equating MQM with prostitutes, whoever pays the right price will win their support, they have totally forgotton about their actual agenda of quota system and bringing biharis back from bangladesh
My impression was that vast majority of doctors fro karachi have lost faith in MQM. Another interesting event was the booing for Chaudry Shujaat when he was introduced in the main banquet attented by 2000 pakistanis along with 3 congressmen and 2 senators forcing him not to come to the stage. There were shouts of lota lota and shame shame in the huge hall, which would have embarassed anyone but this guy. Later APPNA apologized for inviting him to the banquet.
I have heard that APPNA has invited CJ Iftikhar Chaudhry, Imran and Eitizaz Ahsan for the annual meeting in Florida
I had the chance of attending this meeting and 2 others hosted by APPNA in chicago. One of the meeting was a political forum organized by Dow Medical College Alumni, the guest speakers were Imran and Farooq sattar along with an unknown Sindhi politician in self exile. There were atleast 300 dioctors mostly from karachi, I was under the impression that pro MQM crowd will give Imran a tough time but it was interesting to see farooq sattar blasted by Imran on almost every issue and in the end every sigle response by farooq sattar was " imran bhai bilkul sahee keh raheen hain, main in sae ittifaq karta hoon" Imran really impressed everyone including karachi crowd. I still remember Imran equating MQM with prostitutes, whoever pays the right price will win their support, they have totally forgotton about their actual agenda of quota system and bringing biharis back from bangladesh
My impression was that vast majority of doctors fro karachi have lost faith in MQM. Another interesting event was the booing for Chaudry Shujaat when he was introduced in the main banquet attented by 2000 pakistanis along with 3 congressmen and 2 senators forcing him not to come to the stage. There were shouts of lota lota and shame shame in the huge hall, which would have embarassed anyone but this guy. Later APPNA apologized for inviting him to the banquet.
I have heard that APPNA has invited CJ Iftikhar Chaudhry, Imran and Eitizaz Ahsan for the annual meeting in Florida
Oh this is the same APPNA who on the sojourn to India presented an award to a Hindu Nazi...Advani...
if APPNA is in your neck of the woods anytime go take a look. Let me warn you if you go with high expectations you will be thoroughly disappointed. These folks who are supposed to be the best of the nation in terms of educational attainment in pakistan and material success in US, act like two bit thugs.
PS: yeah dont know which idiot decided to give advani an award..hopefully they dont make it to Europe or they may give a post humous award to hitler
The decision to award Advani with an award caused great humiliation for the then president Hussain malik. He was confronted by angry doctors in an open session in Houston and had to apologize for the blunder. People elected to offices to APPNA are no saints but they commit blunders they are taken to task in meetings open to all every year.
so who were the 'champions' who caused this massive blunder? I know atleast one loudmouth ublicuty hungry lady .. who makes news every so often. aisde from her who else.
I fully support Musharraff and ONLY person i would support except Mushy is Imran Khan, Altaf is a "gandi naali ka Keera" and i really hope Khan saab will fix him up for good. I think the worst thing Musharraff has EVER done is to support this SOB Altaf (I guess he had no choice but i am still disappointed that this terrorist was supported by Mushy).
The problem with fixing Altaf is that whatever may have happened recently in Karachi, whichever party is in power at the centre - PML Q, PPP, or PML N is bound to make an electoral alliance with his party. If Imran was part of any these govts he would have to accept that, because however detestable Altaf and his goodas are, the MQM does have a pretty solid vote bank.
I am sure the recent incidents would have changed the mindset of Karachiites, if they still vote him SIMPLY because he is muhajir then we can probably never get out of this problem. I am sure most people in Karachi do NOT support him, i have hardly ever come across a person who still supports Altaf (at least none of the Sindhis i know support him).