the "R' word

yes true ... not worth wasting time on discussing why it all happened ...

moving forward , I guess we can try hard to keep our jobs , even if it means at reduced payscales , save lots of money for bad times , refrain from fazool kharch , not go on those yearly holidays , dont block your money in mortgage untill the situation gets better ...

and pray hard to Allah mian that these horrid times pass away soon !

Re: the "R' word

Well said CB.

I think holidays are nice... but you should always stay within ur mean.... i usually go visit my sister who lives 6 hours away for a weekend for holidays, and I do that about two times a year.... the last time I had a vacation was..... probably in 1st grade when we drove to Disney World.... lol 2 day drive from DC. Im hoping I can go to Disney world for my honeymoon...

....but yes the people that expensive vacations every year... im just sitting there thinking look at the economy... you should be saving that money....

hey CB, I recall you mentioning the recession to last approximately until 2011? Is that an estimate on the positive side or negative - like is that wishful thinking or a realistic guess.

yes i know greed is an integral part of free market systems. but u think greed of taxpayers is ok while greed of banks is not? greed is not ok regardless of where its coming from! buying houses u cant afford is stupidity! im not saying that its not the banks fault, ofcourse it is! but u cant say that its only the banks fault. yes there was zero accountability, therefore the blame also rests on the shoulders of regulating agencies!

RESEARCH THE DAMN TOPIC. read any reliable source for the causes of this crisis and u will not read from any sane person, that its all the banks fault. JESUS CHRIST MAN!

and btw i hope u also realize that the US market system is NOT a capitalistic one anymore specially in view of all these bailouts.

sumorani, let me ask you this.

if a homeowner was irresponsible and bought a home he couldnt afford the payments on, and defaulted, why would it affect anyone more than him and the bank? at worst, you'd get a bubble and bust in the housing market, a la the tech bubble in the late 90s. greenspans low interest rate policy to stimulate the economy can be blamed only for that much of damage.

but the real meat of this recession isnt a simple housing bubble gone bust. financial institutions are solely to blame for creating and trading in "derivatives" aka glorified betting schemes invented in the last 10 years.. thereby leveraging and amplifying what would otherwise be a bubble into a humongous credit vacuum, and spreading it over to almost every single investment vehicle in the west. this has been the most significant issue for this recession.

^everything u just said is what i have been saying. there are a lot of factors that led upto the recession ofcourse the housing bust is not the only thing but it was a significant factor that led to it.

im gonna let u research ur own question. u seem to know more about the financial sector so u should figure out on ur own why alll of a sudden allllll these people that couldnt pay the mortgages are more than just a problem for themselves and the banks. and u can research the mortgage backed securities as a first measure since the mortgages were being paid to investors that bought the cdos so ofcourse it would be a problem for more than just the homeowner and the banker!

im over this argument, ive realized i can keep explaining everything with evidence and reason but no one is gonna understand it when theyve got their eyes and ears closed. u can only learn something when ur open to learning it.

more importantly i have just gone into happy mode cuz i just found out i passed the first exam i took for the cpa!!! yayayayayayyy!!!!!

SU , no one can say for sure when the situation will get better , however so far , the economists are mainly thinking that things will be very slow for possibly the next two years .. although it all depends on how the government responds to the current economic climate ...

What we are hearing is that the worse of the job cut period is over ... or nearly over ... so hopefully we wont be hearing of job losses that much by year end ...

and it will take time to get the credit back in the running ... so two years is just an estimate ....

Oh man, I really hope so!! CB you sound so nice and professional. I like! :lifey:

Im no expert, but my take is that it will take at least 3 more years for the turnaround.

oh thanks SU .. :cb:

yeah man i hope your right!!!

Im sorry I have to disagree here a little. So many businesses are trying to sell various types of products, is that what marketing gimmicks are all about. Just because someone fed you a piece of information, doesn't mean you blindly listen and join in and spend your money. It is up to the individual to do some reasearch on their own. You don't blindly spends $200-500K or more, just because oh the banker/realtor painted me a pretty picture and I listened. A person must know his salary and what he is able to afford, no matter what anyone tells you.

If I go into an auto sales shop looking for a small compact car because my budget is say $15K, I would be silly to buy the $30K-40K car, just because well the agent told me I can afford it, im too stupid to do my own calculations.

I would say blame goes to everyone but to some tax payers who baught home in lalach but mostly to to the bankers.

Why mostly bankers?

As they make money in selling to the stupids and dikhaing subz bagh to them. So yeah tax payrers are very little to be blamed 99% bankers.

I agree with the person who is contantly trying to explain to sumorani that banks has to explain each and everything and if they didn't have that much amount then why at the first place they gave loan. Doesn't bankers call again and again to take a loan. Why would they do that without gaining anything.

If we all followed islam then it wouldn't be our fault.

If muslims buy homes and give interest it's haram so the are greedy and totally wrong. Why would I buy a home or a thing on mortgate or credit card when I don't have enough money to fully pay at the same time. Why this much lalach. Can't you live in rent house. Will you die living in rent house. Wouldn't it be better to stay away from taking mortgage to go against what Allah said not to do at all. It's haram and taking or paying interest is a war against Allah. Why take home at mortage. So yes they are at fault.

Why do ppl think that they will pay it off slowly why not think that they might die and then with his/her dead body they will take sin of having qarz on him/her + interest.

Ppl get happy when they buy home on mortgage keep charchaing making fame among relatives and others even laugh on the ppl who doesn't have home but I laugh on them. I'm totally against going for haram thing. Alhamdolilah I'm living in rent hone still alive masha Allah and doing whatever I wan't.

I'm not saying its not good to have your home. But it's not good at all have hone on mortgage. I would love to buy home if I had full money to pay. First thing I'll buy

Mostly bankers are to be blamed first they all work for and get haram money. They all go for interest. They force ppl and try to force. So muslims who are low in imaan go or no imaan at all go for mortgages or interest.

Many times bankers called me for mortgage and loan they were offereing me I always told them I'm muslim and it's haram for me to take mortgage and loan on interest. If you called me then give me loan without interest then I'll take it. I also ask why you are calling me himself without me asking to you how much and what you would get?

What I found here these ppl are totally dramas. Make rules to save themselve and hide things and show subz bagh in everything. Write things in very fine prints and even in the language which is hard or impossible to understand. Lie a lot. I don't know why Govt. let them do that openly to do the frauds.

Yes the bankers are to be blamed for sure. Why at the first place they gave loan to ppl and invested when they didn't have enough money.

As someone said a person or first time buyer doesn't know anything. How would he/she be blame that much as bankers didn't tell them truth or everything? Bankers should have explained to them everything instead of dikhain subz bagh.

You fools specially muslims why going for haram work and going for war against Allah. Why would they give you loan without gaining anything. They always gain no matter what. They always put you in loss no matter what happens to you.

Why would I be blamed as a tax payer. I haven't bought a home on mortgage nor the car and nothing. I'll get affect out of those who gained alot no matter haram or halaal. I didn't anything and why would I be affected for those haramkhors aka bankers or mortgagers. Sorry no offense. I say the truth in a very straight forward way. I don't and and don't want to say things in sugar coats.

Exactly.

Why not think why he is asking me to do that. What is his interest? Why would I go for which I can't afford?

Why don't they research before they go for something. Andha dhund aur jahilon jaisi harkat to undhay aur jahilon ko karna chahyay na kay aankh walay aur parhay likhay loag. Allah nain dimagh istamaal ko di hai agar istamal naheen kartay to logon say mashwaray lo. Apni hasratain, shauq aur khuwahishon ki bhaint naheen charhna chahyay.

You know my BIL wants to buy a laxarious and big car now. As he has 2 cars already and a home at mortgage. He started to earn less from couples of months have not enough money to buy and spend all money whatever he makes and asking my sister to give him money to fulfill his daireena khuwahish aka buchpun ki khuwahish to buy a luxarious car. Don't even try to call him stupid. We are enough to laugh on his khuwahishain and harkatain.

sorry for spelling mistake of luxurious. I realized when I hit post quick reply. Feeling so kahil to correct all.

Man i typed out a huge reply but my stupid window closed... ok to sum it up... both parties are at fault.. im just saying I have seen a lot of cases where the consumer is lied to thats all...

This happens to me all the time but once one of my family member told me type in the box that comes up to fill in your id and password then you'll see your post and yes it did work since then I'm not loosing Masha Allah.

what? what box? Where?

When you post a white page comes up there you have to write your id and password click yes or what it says to log in then your post will be posted.

Or before posting try to copy.

Why it's happens it logs you out so it try to ask you to log in.

yeah i did log in... but my post wasnt there..... :(