The Pretext of 'Muhammad Sahab'

We read in our text books & some history books about muslim youth used to refer Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) as ‘muhammad sahab’ during late 1800 and 1900 in subcontinent. What was the story behind this trend ??

Re: The Pretext of 'Muhammad Sahab'

Interesting.

I never heard/ read that except in one of the Anwar Maqsood's script a character call 'Allah Sahib'.. Allah Sain is very much common in Sindh and there was a time when some people don't take name Muhammad and the persons with name Muhammad were called 'Naale Mitho - One with sweet name'. Some people refer to the Prophet with words ' Sain Jan' or 'Mithro Muhummad'.

Re: The Pretext of ‘Muhammad Sahab’

^ i never knew Sindhi was this sweet a language :wub:

addi. tuwahnk kay thoro waqt sindhi jay liye bhi darkar aahin.

sorry muqa bahi for my bad sindhi. :sid:

Its the simplicity of people that make their language sweet..

You are improving. Keep it up.

I still want to know the books referred by OP, where Prophet was referred as Muhammad Sahib. I think it has something to do with English rulers (Gora Sahib) calling Muslims as Muhammadan.

Thankyou muqawwee for these sweet rendering for Prophet pbuh in Sindhi for us. :)

Sindhi is indeed very sweet language. We need to learn more about our languages. Earlier, there were rarely any members here who were fluent in Sindhi. Now mashallah its getting better.

I have read about use of Muhammad Sahab in Text books and related books about history of Sir Syed , Allama Iqbal , Haali and other personalities from 1900 -1940s. There was group of students which stayed aloof from religion and details. But still they never challenged religion or its teachings. I do not know much about that particular group or their origin. Later on it appears that this group almost vanished.

I want to know the reasons. Along with that, there was also a large scale following of saving Khilafat campaign sidelined by civil disobedience movement started by Muhatma Gandhi ( 1920) just after WWI.

As you mention British used the term Muhammaden for muslims in subcontinent. I still never understood the reasons for that term. What was their problem with word 'muslim' ? Or they were muslims who had some problem ?

There is known college in Lahore M A O college. Its Muhammadan Anglo Oriental college

Mohataram Code red sahib

Mohammedan - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Peace Code_Red,

Never read such history book or came across it.

In arab if a group live in east than they call themselve eastern - in arabic 'Sharqavi' Maybe Muhammadan means from 'Ummat-e-Muhammadi'.