i was just thinking today and some of you might remember too..
do you remember in the world cup that pakistan won long time back there used to be these two pakistani girls in the crowd there in the stadiums and PTV cameras always used to focus on them they used to be haath phela ke maanging duasā¦and we would always win those matchesā¦
for those of us who remember it was much talked abt on PTV as well in some of the world cup commentary programs after we had won the cupā¦many ppl think we won the world cup because of those two praying sistersā¦
hmmm just thought iād share the memory cuz i thought that was really cool
Irem jee...one of the sister is married to my brother friend Rehan(NY Jackson heights)...Allah bachai..baree khatarnak khatoon hain...Rehan Bhai ku bikul ullo (ka pattha) bana deya hai...i just met her once...dimagh ke lassi bana dee meree..told me how she got so famous on TV...bla..bla bla...bechara Rehan!!
That Green Baba is actually known as "Chaacha Cricket"! During Nawaz Shareef times, he would accompany the Pakistani team wherever they went. All expenses paid thanks to Ganja.
I can clearly remember the '92 world cup, it was during Ramadan. I was in pakistan at that time and our whole khandan (bachay, boRhay, auntiaN, uncles) was in one TV room praying and making duaa, so i'd like to think it was because of our roza and so many duaas that Pakistan won the world cup. :D
'99 world cup i watched in USA. I woke up around 4am because the match was going to start at 5. That match however was very disappointing, all my duaas went unanswered :-( Pakistan team ne wo chittar khaey jis ki koi hadd nahi.
I think Irem is right, those two were in the World Cup 92, not Sharjah. I can't say I am sure but I think they were praying in the semi-final b/w NZ and Pak. I was really young then so I don't remember exactly, and I never got to see any repeats of Pak's 1992 World cup matches again thanx probably to Benazir Bhutto's censoring of Imran Khan (and she still portrays herself as the champion of democracy, when she can't even tolerate freedom of the media).
yes i remeber those two sisters they used to wear black coloured gigs and they sat together, i donāt quite remeber the venue but i was watching the game when waqar had 1 ball to deliver and west indies needed 1 run to win the match and waqar bowled an inswinging yorker which ripped the stumps and pakistan won.
another thing it surely wasnāt a world cup game so all those who have mentioned above that it was a world cup game are WRONGGGGGG also funguy that guy isnāt known as chacha cricket he is known as chacha pakistan and sehar u said that all my prayers were left answered in the final of 1999 wc well you shouldnāt say that because, āallah tu sab ke suntahee bas bandooh ko allah ke zaaat par baroosa nahin hotaā samjee kiyaā¦
i met chacha pakistan at headingly during 1999 wc when pakistan played aussies and he told me that inorder to get to england he had sold some of his remaining zameen in his village and pakistan government only payed for the hawayee ticket and wc tickets it wasnāt all expenses payed trip so to say that paki government covered all the costs is a mere LIEEEEEE.
i met chacha pakistan at headingly during 1999 wc when pakistan played aussies and he told me that inorder to get to england he had sold some of his remaining zameen in his village and pakistan government only payed for the hawayee ticket and wc tickets it wasn't all expenses payed trip so to say that paki government covered all the costs is a mere LIEEEEEE.
RITE GOT TO GO KNOW CHAOOOOOOOOOOOOO
You sure know alot about Chacha Pakistan, u sure he ain't ur own chacha? lolzz j/k!
I very much remember the match with two two girls praying cause it was a very very conterversiol result. It was in Sharjah. Pakistan had lost all its initial matches and needed to win all the remaining matches. We were playing against West Indies. They needed 7 runs from the last over to win the match. Waqar was bowling the last over and Ian Bishop (remember him) was the striker. First ball and he hit Waqar for a huge SIX. 1 needed off of five balls. Waqar bowled 4 dot balls and bowled him on the last. The conterversy was one of the dot balls was drifting down the leg side and the Srilankan umpire didnt call it a wide. In all fairness it should have been called a wide and everybody made a big deal out of it, the same old bul**** that Sharjah is Pakistan's heaven and they dont let Pakistanis loose blah blah blah..
Anyway so that was the story of the two praying sisters.. Hope you all enjoyed it.