The Pakistani Woman of the 60's/70's and The Pakistani Woman of Today

I never grew up in Pakistan, so maybe my views are skewed. I grew up watching dramas and reading articles about the TV heroines and TV drama protagonists at the time and even I’d say into the 90’s the Pakistani woman portrayed as a protagonist (plays featuring powerful roles played by women like Saba Pervaiz, Faryal Gohar, Rahat Kazmi’s wife forget-her-name, Huma Nawaz, etc.) were powerful women, women seeming to make a change. One drama I remember, Huma Nawaz (where is she now?) played the role of a doctor working in a city hospital, showing how in a big city government hospital the sad state of affairs. I remember these women being in roles where even as wives and daughters, they showed themselves in difficult situations and then TAKING a STAND for themselves and fighting for their own rights, and their own rights in their love lives. One scene I remember maybe it was Saba Pervaiz against Sajid Hasan insisting “Tum mujhe samaj ne ki koshish karo”. Seems like the women of that time were just different.

Or is it that the whole class of educated women from that time period have mostly migrated out of the country, and because of the brain drain and the recent increase in conservatism and in some areas, extremism, there is a push towards the “proper muslim woman” being as it’s often described even in the masjids here in the US as good “mothers, daughters, sisters” and “obedient wives”, there is a rise now in the value of the housewife, which incidentally gets correlated with the UNEDUCATED, POWERLESS, OBEDIENT housewife?

Do you think women have just become more conservative, that feminism is moving backwards and regressing in today’s Pakistani population - is it something just happening to women in Pakistan or is this wave of conservatism even abroad? And maybe conservatism is the wrong word for it.

I just don’t remember the kinds of sermons in masjid when I was growing up that women should stay at home and be obedient, but now, even here in progressive mosques, I sometimes here the message that women should be married early, and even if that comes at the expense of an education, and I have YET to hear a sermon about educating daughters (I think my dad heard one such brief sermon ONCE, and that was about a hadith that suggests a huge reward for educating your daughters and enlightening them with wisdom).

Re: The Pakistani Woman of the 60's/70's and The Pakistani Woman of Today

Watch all the dramas and then make up your mind... its not right to watch few dramas of those decades, and none of current times and conclude about whole population of pakistani women...you gotta do it right... watch all the dramay...

I am pretty sure I set the record for drama watching in grade school, I don't know any desi kid who was a geek about this stuff. I practically emptied the shelves of the Indian lady that ran our nearby desi grocery store.

Dramas these days, well I am a walking drama myself, so no need to watch overdramatized over-made up models trying to do justice to a crappy script under bakhwaas direction.

Oh and Atiqa Odho, remember her role in Nijaat? God she was powerful.

Umera Ahmed is the culprit behind this sorry state of females in Pakistan :p

Re: The Pakistani Woman of the 60’s/70’s and The Pakistani Woman of Today

Huma Nawab in USA working in grocery shop and someone said that the owner fired her because she was on drugs and coming late.

(source: http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showbiz-pakistan/296854-missing-actors-and-actresses.html)

///////so no need to watch overdramatized over-made up models trying to do justice to a crappy script under bakhwaas direction.////may be its just that...... difference in the quality of drama being made......instead of some deep rooted reverse feminism going on?...kya khyaal hai?Also, those dramas are from your old days.....nostalgia much? associating them with good times and whatnot..

Maybe. :O Don't say such things about my Huma Nawab. I thought it was Nawaz. I really liked that actress, I looked up to her alot!

She was a good actress and always played rebel except one long play where she was abducted by a Daku and got married to him.. but in that role too, she also portrayed a strong lady fighting to get custody of her child.

The Pakistani Woman of the 60's/70's and The Pakistani Woman of Today

Or maybe woman just feel they have more of a choice now more than they did back then. They had to make a push for many of those changes and those were the issues of that time. I never watched dramas so not to aware of specific stories...Not too sure but I do know what you mean about conservatism and the shift in mind sets towards more religious ideologies even for the newer generation . However I have yet to go to a masjid where they don't encourage education. I see aunties preaching that type of stuff as they all want DILs that will run things the way they did. New changed or a way of doing things is not welcome. Even in the most educated families I have seen that mindset when it comes to who and homes are being run. You would think they didnt know any better but that's not the case. I feel as if a general disregard for basic human interaction and respect for others has totally been lost and its such a contradiction with the conservatism / extreme Islamic values being pushed forward in our communities. .. People are coming closer to Islam yes but not necessarily in the way it was intended. It seems more out of control. ... Not sure if this relates to OPs thread but I think it's a whole bunch of deep rooted issues playing a factor ...

Saira Kazmi

Re: The Pakistani Woman of the 60’s/70’s and The Pakistani Woman of Today

Increase in conservatism? :konfused: Wouldn’t the frequency of the sermons you’re hearing imply that…there’s a lack or veering away from conservatism instead? Or that there is a shift in priorities that is hurting family dynamics…whether that shift is career-related or even a materialistic one?

All I know is that the women of the 60s-70s used real plates and they only used paper to write, read, or clean.

^they sure as hell did have maids..

In the west, feminism no longer looks down upon traditional roles for women because they have realized they can benefit women and can be empowering to them in a 'different' way. One no longer sees the hostility for women who choose housewifery from modern feminists that the 2nd wave feminists had. These days their issues and debates are more nuanced like 'how the hurricane has affected women", "how the recession has affected women", "how obesity affects women" and "how bird flu has affected women"

You didn't grow up in Pakistan, you don't live in Pakistan. You don't pledge allegiance to the Pakistani flag then why are you so worried whether women have become more conservative or not? Sorry to burst your bubble but you have lost whatever little Pakistaniayt you had in you. So go and fully assimilate in your amreekan society...it will be easier on you...

There is a simple explanation to why the portrayal of women has changed in Pakistani Dramas. Before the arrival of Cable TV in Pakistan, most people didn't have a lot of options when it came to watching TV Dramas. This meant the Drama producers had a lot more freedom with the story lines, as long as they were not anti-government. The people making those dramas used that freedom to make stuff that was both educational and entertaining.

The arrival of Cable TV in Pakistan changed all that. People started watching Indian "Saas Bahu" Soaps and Pakistani channels started losing ratings. The advent of Pakistani private channels didn't help much either. The private channels learned early on that if they wanted ratings they had to follow the Indian Formula, and with that Pakistani Dramas started losing their integrity.

I can't say much for the progress real women have made in Pakistan, because that'd need a lot more research.

Stop hating yo.

nowadays praablam is with cunning nands and meethi churi MIL's :-/

LOL

Really? Not a generalization and prolly not the norm, but I've noticed some educated moms encouraging early marriages and less education in their daughters. In some circles there is a rush to get young people married earlier, and when I've asked people why they're not pursuing an education and career like their mom, the response is usually some excuse of Islam and worry of devils influencing for premarital sex and relations and to protect everyone's hayaa.