Well, its that little expression people back home make when making a warning to another person about something terrible they will do to him/her.
“agar tum hay mein nay nahe marra to mera naam bhi ghalib nahi”
the above sentence is followed by the person running his fingers around his mouth and then following down the contour of the chin and down to the bottom of it.
So whats the history behind this expression?? What does running your fingers down the chin signify in terms of warning others??
It is the courteousness of Desis that the gesture involves squeezing one's chin, and not some other part of one’s body.
Munno Bhai once wrote that Urdu is such a polite language that people don’t take you seriously. For example, if said in Urdu “Khwateen-o-Hazrat, Barah-e-Mehrbani, Line Seedhe KaraiN” and no one will pay any attention to you. If same instructions are given in Punjabi “Oye tuhadi maaN di…layne sidhi karoo”…and see how everyone falls into line.
*Originally posted by ghalib: *
So whats the history behind this expression?? What does running your fingers down the chin signify in terms of warning others??
I believe its called swearing by your beard, even though you may not have one:)
Since beard is more of a religious symbol, swearing by it is considered big.....like saying, saun darhi di, I really am gonna beat you up.
This remind me of the Orientals (old) movie when they portray the Arab dude massaging his beard and exclaiming something in this line " ...by the Beard of Allah…"