The Notorious MIL issue

Hey fellow guppies :slight_smile:

It’s been a while since I posted - I recently got married and had been busy with pre-wedding and post-wedding engagements.

So here’s the shmeel. I have always had mixed feelings for my MIL. She’s quite nice, but more of a “meethi-churri” (sweet-knife). She’s over emotional (which is fine because she’s overly sensitive) and she is absolutely head over heels in love with her son (my husband), which is also completely understandable. But the possessive-ness that she has over her son is driving me nuts! During the first few months she was great in terms of giving me space and privacy, which I appreciated, but she’s always had a way with words, she did then and she does now. She says some hurtful comments in a sly way - and I hate when people talk like that, because I think I’m pretty upfront if I have a problem with something. I dislike playing games and I hate drama (just like all other girls).

Anyway, I’d love to hear some advice on how to deal with MILs in general. Here’s the issue with mine:

-She’s overly possessive. She wants to cook for him and she wants to serve his food. Which is fine once in a while, I don’t mind - because I realize her position in his life. BUT, I’m his wife and I should be able to cook for him and serve him dinner as well. Both the hubster and I work, so in the evening both her and I have this crazy race to pack his lunch for the next day. Btw, on my part this race is completely unintentional. I simply want to be able to care for my husband. Also, whenever I cook him dinner, she’ll ask what I made, which is fine, but after hearing the response, she’ll be like, “oh! woh to kuch nahin hota. Koi taaqat nahi hai. Main banaati hoon”. That makes me go nuts! Btw, this dinner is veryyyy rare. I’ve only been able to do it 3 times since I’ve been married.

-She always wants to know where we are going. And somehow always tries to stop us. For example, the other day on a Saturday night, both the hubby and I wanted to go out for kashmiri chai. When we were leaving, she pretty much hounded us and said, don’t worry, we have kashmiri chai. But God bless my husband, he just said, “no, we’re going anyway”. The other day we were going out to eat, which we only do once every 2 weeks or so. And she asked us, we told her we’re going to Boston Pizza, and she had the moosttttt sour look on her face and didn’t say anything.

-Now she’s started a new game, crying. She cries to get her way. She complains about me to my husband and bursts out crying. Saying, I don’t spend enough time with her. This is baffling to me! I come home every day at 8 pm, eat, do work and sleep because I wake up at 5. Yet, between these 3 hours that I have every night at home, I handle my work, husband, parents, siblings and still manage to squeeze in at least half an hour of time with her (which is always spent watching dramas with her). Yet, shes still complaining :s We take her out for dessert and dinner on weekends whenever we can - even though my husband and I barely get time together alone anyway (given our busy schedules). And now she’s started using tears :S When I heard of this, I was absolutely horrified! My hubby just said, “oh she was sad and I guess she couldn’t hold it in, but she wasn’t complaining about you”

There’s my venting. Sorry for the long post. I haven’t been able to share this with anyone, mainly because I don’t want to disturb my parents and sister with this and I obviously can’t share a 100% with my husband because it’s his mother afterall. And I don’t want to be one of those complaining wives :frowning:

Looking forward to hearing from y’all! :slight_smile:

Re: The Notorious MIL issue

This is what happens when women settle. Because then they grow older, have sons, have a relationship instead with their son, and then develop an assinine rage when you stand next to your husband.

It's because you're in a relationship, and she's not anymore. That's the problem.

If only women married men that they liked, instead of marrying their house, or income or car, or bank balance, or job title. :)

It would help the desi world a long a lot boys, if you guys didn't have mugshots of yourselves online. I think that would help tremendously in finding women like these a good man to be with. Thanks much for your such lovely patience and understanding o desi insert expletive men.

Even if cooking meals is like a competition for your MIL, don't treat it like one....otherwise you'll wear yourself out. Let her make dinner sometimes if she wants....you can make a mean salad or side dish....or...dessert....or breakfast. There are other household responsibilities besides cooking that you can tend to that would still reflect your care for your husband. It'll give you a break....you'll have less to do considering how swamped you are with your other responsibilities.

Seems like maybe she feels like her efforts are not good enough and thus is competing with you. Try to diffuse this feeling in her by complimenting her on her food/cooking...like maybe say how she makes a dish so much better than you. Compliment her in front of your husband....because it's for him that she's doing this......and when she sees that you're secure enough to do this....maybe (fingers crossed) it'll reduce the competitive feeling. You might have to do this a few times..as opposed to just once.

You can try taking your MIL with you when you and husband go out to eat....maybe do that sometimes....not saying every time cuz you both your need you privacy as well. OR when you both go out, try to bring her back something. It's a kind gesture and shows that she was thought of. As far as your schedule...see if you can squeeze in some more time to spend with her....or encourage your husband to spend some time with his mom if she's feeling left out. Or if things worsen, ask him to reassure her.

Maybe it's naive of me to think this since I dont have any marital experience, but I wonder why I've never heard of a DIL telling the MIL that theres no competition between you and me...a mom and a wife are two different relationships with different rights and they can't be compared...competing only causes tension. What would happen if she said that? All hell would break loose? She's be accused of badtameezi? Or would it calm things down better than recipricating with mind games would? Maybe I'll try this when I get married and post the outcome on GS if I live to tell it. :/

I wish my MIL would have packed my hubby's lunch instead of bossing me around and asking me to pack everyone's including FIL, BIL, hubby, and my own. :(
But yeah.. the willingness of MILs to come with their sons is quite annoying indeed. They just aren't familiar with the concept of date night i guess.
Maybe you can just confront her and ask her why she is so upset with you?

LOL, I would have thought you'd be happy with your MIL cooking the dinner. It frees you up for other things?

Of course since I don't live your life, this will be easy for me to say...but I don't think these issues are worth getting upset over. Here are my thoughts:

1) There are many other ways to take care of your husband and make him feel loved other than packing his lunch. In fact, since your MIL does this daily anyway....I would just let her do it. Ask her when you come home if she has already packed it. Her answer will most likely be yes. And when she says "yes"...just thank her for doing it. As for cooking the food....you get to put what you cooked on the table right? And your husband gets a chance to eat it? As long as this happens...don't worry about what comments MIL makes.

2) She asks where you guys are going anytime you go out and tries to stop you. You said yourself that your husband didn't listen to her and went out anyway to kashmiri chai. So clearly your MIL isn't winning this battle. Yes, I know it's annoying. But as long as you communicate with your husband the importance of you two going out alone sometimes and he agrees with you....then let her be annoying. Just make sure you and your husband talk in private and decide that at least 1 night every week....or 1 night every 2 weeks....you two will have a "date night". And let your husband handle his mother's attempts to interfere in this.

3) She cries and complaints to yolur husband. Let her. Your husband isn't upset at your behavior is he? And the next time your husband mentions her complaining.....simply say something like "I'm sorry to hear that your mom feels so hurt. Is there anything you think I should do differently that would help her feel better?". Let your husband decide how best to deal with his mother. Follow HIS lead.

Oh btw, in regards to cooking....since you've been married....have you ever asked your MIL to teach you to cook some of her and/or your husband's favorite dishes? Or are you cooking recipes that you learned BEFORE marriage? If you haven't already, I would strongly suggest you ask MIL to teach you some recipes.

Can I just say that I empathize with you and validate your feelings. That catty behavior would and should get on anyone's nerves, and you shouldn't feel like YOU're the entire problem.

Sorry, I don't believe in this business of the in-laws are always right, you're so nashukri, stop being a brat type lectures. We're not walking in those shoes, and if we were, we might not offer the same advice to ourselves.

Having said that, how you play your cards will determine whether your marriage stays intact or goes down south, so be careful of how you react to her.

Thank you so much for the kind advice guys - I have read each and every single word, and its just refreshing to hear some new points on this.

Redvelvet - whenever I go out, I usually bring something back for her - I know she likes dessert, so we usually bring back a danish or something from Timmy's. Half of this is because I want her to like me and the other half is because I genuinely want to. She is sweet when receiving it, but these little gestures don't seem to mean a whole lot to her. She's just hostile towards me and I have no idea why

Btw, I don't get to cook at all - that's why I'm complaining :P I've only cooked thrice since I've been married which is ridiculous, because I actually looooove cooking! And I think that my complaints mostly stem from the fact that I'm being limited as to what I can do. If this is going to be my house, then I should be able to do certain things that I'd like. Don't make me an outsider. In terms of housework, I usually take care of the basement (where my hubby and I are staying) and that's it.

Seriously living with the in-laws is not easy - I came with a very positive attitude. I had heard lots of scary stories before getting married, but I was determined to have a happy relationship with my MIL. It just seems as though as she's not willing to do that. In one way I kinda get that, because she loves her son, but on the other hand, why the heck did she get him married if she wasn't ready to? :S For all the un-married girls, if you are absolutely convinced that you will have a happy time living with your in-laws, then do so, at your own discretion. Otherwise, ask your future husband if you can have a house of your own, somewhere nearby to his parents. But having your own domain is SO very important, because women are so territorial its crazy

Why??? Simple question, no?

MIL veut beaucoup bebes ....from her little boy.

Who stops you from cooking? Has she told you not to?
Just go in the kitchen and cook whatever you like. She is not going to pull you out of there. If she really wants to cook, let her. You can make an appetizer or dessert..
If she complains, explain to her that you really miss cooking and would like to make something even in small quantity. Or maybe even ask her if you can assist her in cooking something she is making (then she wont be able to complain that you don't spend any time with her).
You are right.. living with in laws is veryyy hard. I had such a hard time.. I was crying all the time and got treated like dirt. They were also sweet talkers.. and would say rudeee thing in a way that I couldn't even say anything back.
I could never speak to my MIL because she would mumble everything in the background. Ohh and she would raise her voice so even if I wanted to say anything, I wasnt able too. I couldnt be straight forward because hubby had asked me not to say anything to her and that he would speak to her on my behalf.
Since, you are straight forward... why not just speak to her about it? Don't be rude but just ask her questions and explain what you want from her and what she should expect from you.

Is there a FIL or other siblings in the picture?

I'd let her cook if she's so passionate about making sure she's cooking for her son. I don't think it'd bother me as much...I like to cook but I won't put up a fight with anyone in order to do so. It seems as if she's having separation anxiety. Ignore her.

Bless you. You got, married too young. I'd happily let my mil cook for hubby. Its better than having to cook everything for him.

dude you are working from 5am to 8pm....let the MIL cook dinner and specially if she insists so much. Probably after a month or so she would want you to take care of cooking. Actually when your MIL is packing lunch for your hubby, ask her to pack something for you too in a very sweet daughter like tone. ;-)

^ LOL!

ninjamummy - there's a FIL, Bro in-law (younger and is completely awesome!) and SIL (married, who I completely ADORE!)

It's not the actual cooking part that gets me down - its the limitations of what I can do or can't do. The hardest part about living with in-laws is that you simply cannot live the way that you want to. And its annoying when people say "well that's life" - because it shouldn't be. I love being desi, but certain parts about the "desi" mentality get me pissed off - and living with the in-laws is one of them. If this is something you would like to do, then go ahead. And let me be clear, I'm all for taking care of in-laws, respecting them and giving financial support, etc; But why does all of this have to be done at the expense of the wife's comfort? I don't like being told what I can or cannot do and I don't like being complained about when I've done nothing worthy of crying about and I completely despise having to explain why on Earth I'm going out with my husband.

Venting completed.

And please don't call me "nashukri" or "too western" for thinking this way. I'm not saying I want to do whatever I want and no-one should say anything about it - I get that its her house with her rules and I respect that. But don't restrict me that much :S

The Notorious M.I.L, the realest playa to hit the streets in nearly a decade :hmmm:

I want to know are husbands held to the same standard with the girls parents? as it is expected for the girl to treat her inlaws as her parents or even better!
I feel that my in laws are my in laws and love and respect them as family but not to the same love I have for my own parents, the same for my husband he is loving and respectful to my parents but not the same as he loves his parents.
We treat each others families the same, I find it an unreasonable expectation that Pakistanis place on daughter in laws.

^ ditto.

Where have you been all my life?! Totally agree with you.

I hate it when someone comes here complaining about their totally rude and obnoxious MIL and gets told THEY are the problem, THEY are being childish and THEY need to bend to every whim and need of their MIL. How come girls mothers don't act like this to their daughter's husband? I think they should start.

Why don't you do something about it?