Now that's very rare..
Is that the female version of sartaaj? Why should it be rare? Guys should be expressive and appreciate the wife during those moments
Sorry I was not clear. I meant that's very rare to have a name of a woman.
The female version of sartaaj is " O' Phoolon Ki Raani/Bahaaron Ki Malka"
thanks . Your advice can save many marriages. Hope husbands reading this will take note.
I remember disliking my husband's name because it was too uncle sounding haha and I told the poor guy I want to change his name. He just took my insult. I was a bully.
I agree husband having same name as father/brother would be awkward for sure. But why penalize someone who is otherwise compatible with you just because of something petty like a name? You can always come up with nicknames/shorter version of the name for your husband.
I have a friend whose husband has the same name as her older brother. That didn't stop her or her family from considering the dude. It's just a different person and an entirely different relationship. I don't think people would mind so much if they knew the person for many years and then got the proposal because in their mind, both persons who share the name have a very different image/place. I hope I'm making sense...for instance, say my brother's name is Ahmed and one of the guys I've known since childhood is also named Ahmed. Now Ahmed the friend sends a rishta inquiry. I wouldn't find it so awkward. In fact, I might not even think about the name being the first thing that comes to mind because Ahmed the friend has a different image in my head.
That being said, I did reject a guy once. His name is Eid. Now that was just too weird for me! Koi insaano wala naam rakho, bhai, yeh Eid kis qisam ka naam hai?
Oh, also, people who have unisex names... like Irum or Misbah. So strange. What is wrong with the people naming their kids?!
as long as her name is NOT "Bi Jamaalo", "Bi Naseeban" or "Bi Tameezan" or likes of it, i'll be fine with her original name...you can always give him a nick! :)
This thread reminded me a weird shadi card. The groom not only shared name with bride’s only brother but both their fathers had exactly same names. At first I thought* k ye sub composer ki karistani hay*..
Having similar name as a family member is not a valid issue to reject some one...What matter most is compatibility, respect, love and understanding...My phopo share very own name of hers with my phopa ji and MA been happily married for past 21 years...they both name Tanveer
When my hubby's rishta came, and we were told his name , my initial though was "Eww", and "What an old fogey name". Seriously, it is just an old, old name. We all laughed about it, and it did not help that out of the last 10 or so rishtas, at least 4 potentials had the same first name!
It took me some time to say his name, in fact I would not call him by his name for some time. Now , I only call him by his first name when I am MAD at him.