The movie that destroyed the Pakistani movie industry?

IMHO:

The singular candidate for this has to be Maula Jutt. It ruined everything that had been painstakingly built, without much economic returns, by Pakistani film makers in the 50s, 60s and the 70s. It changed the language, culture, music and even the quality of acting talent in the movies.

Also, it brought in the trashy crowd into the theaters and drove away the families and the decent lot.

But more tha anything, it set a horrible precedent for the films that would follow.

To make things worse, the insane fundo dictator Zia took power in the same year as the release of this film and decided to take on the showbiz and film industry head on.

Re: The movie that destroyed the Pakistani movie industry?

Maula Jatt - introduced the first wave of barbaric cinema

Chooriyan - gave us the second wave of trashy cinema

if maula jutt was trashy then why did it become such a big hit??? this thread doesn't make any sense. everybody thinks he's a film critic ...little knowledge is dangerous mind you.

Stalker you are so right....

I dont think that Maula Jatt destroyed Pakistan film industry.
So the directors were so dumb that after seeing that movie everybody started taking over that style??
You obviously dont like it, fine. But pls no need to call others trashy if they do like such films.

And i like ChooriaN,
tell me what is trashy about it?

I think you need to stop playing Meera on this forum. Making inflammatory attacks is not going to get you anywhere.

For heavens sake people what's with the overreaction??? I gave my opinion, so no need to be heartbroken.

Let me expand:

Maula Jat - Why was it a big hit? It's OTT style of acting, dizzy camerawork, outrageous get-ups and loudmouth dialogues make for some interesting viewing. It performed well at the box office b/c curious people wanted to get a slice of something that was different. But then things started to go wrong when every other DUMB producer wanted a slice of the action and started making their own versions which became identical to the original. Maula Jatt was always meant to be a one-off movie.

Chooriyan - what disturbs me is that some people are asking what's wrong with this film? Let me explain...
Once upon a time a sleazy director called Syed Noor made a film whose story was a total rip off from Cinderella. He also introduced the concept of melodramatic acting in the film. Low and behold he introduced SAIMA!!! Rain dancing, dances around trees, love triangles and an alarming blood-soaked massacre at the end...is this really a masterpiece???
So why was this a hit? B/c the story attracted the neglected masses belonging to rural areas of Punjab who watched the film multiple times. Some producers realised that they could cash$$ in by aiming their films at a less sophisticated, brain-dead rural audience and voila you got a 'blockbuster' formula.

I may be generalising here and there but this is all what happened - in a nutshell.

Why Maula Jutt, why not Basheera Daakoo or Dulhan eik raat kee.

Maula Jutt was the first of the Gujjar-kind of film, and most importantly the biggest commercial grosser ever when it was released. It was in the theaters for years and years, and singularly managed to create a market for trash cinema, which was tapped to the fullest by the movies that followed, starring mostly Sultan Rahi.

I love Maula Jatt. I think its one of the most hilarious movies ever made. :p I actually own it on VHS :D

As to say that it ruined the film industry, I think thats a little far fetched. The movie was an original when it came out and that is why it was a big hit. The movie industry was ruined because many of the uncreative lot took over and started making the same film over and over again.

The bad thing about our Lollywood culture is that we have no concept of genres. If we had that concept, then there would be plenty of movies coming out each year. Some romance, some family, some romantic comedies and some gandaasa. And different audiences would go watch them. But we make a gandaasa movie and expect everybody to go watch it by adding a couple of "funny" scenes to cover the comedy and a few "songs" to cover the romance.

And even though thousands of Gandaasa movies came out after Maula Jatt, Maula Jatt is still one of its kind.

**And even though thousands of Gandaasa movies came out after Maula Jatt, Maula Jatt is still one of its kind.

**very true

**I know a movie that destroyed pakistani cinema ...

Let me find its poster ..... brb

EEWWWWW!! WTH is that?!

lol wth jin ki suhaag raat...kya behooda naam hai...hahahahah....aisi hi bakwas naam hotey hain with ghatiya posters like wehshi haseena..

:omg: :omg: :omg: :omg: :omg:

Dakuuu Rani :omg:

I hope the original intent of this thread is not lost -- that Maula Jutt set a trend for trash cinema in Pakistan that has crippled the abilities and talents of the Lahore industry to come forward with anything decent, for an extended period, since.

I am glad I haven't watched Maula Jatt or Chooriyan.
Although I did see a poster of Butt Badshah with Shaan's face on it last time I went to Pakistan and I thought what has happened to him???? LOL

I 100% agree with sTaLkEr that Mula Jatt was the beginning of end of Pakistan Film Industry. After that, the film industry produced a lot of lazy forgettable copied films from hollywood and bollywood. One example of which is "Chumi chumi thaa taa" , or should I say "Kiss kiss bang bang!" ;)