The most romantic thing

There are people more attractive than us, funnier, wittier, smarter, kinder, more succesful (there are also people who can spell successfull, I can’t). There are truly great people, people who pull our eyes and our attention and monopolize it with merely their presence.

There’s always someone who is better than us.

So isn’t it surprising that we can love just one person and devote our life to them? I mean, we focus so much on how people cheat on their partners that we forget that there are many more who look at us as if we are the prettiest and smartest in the world. Me and my husband, truthfully, we are both average looking but when I am with him, I can’t stop touching him because he is MINE and he looks the most handsome to me. It’s not just his looks, it’s that I know all his secrets and he hasn’t told them to anyone else, it’s that yesterday we did this, he looked at me like this, I fed him, we looked at each other thus, he sat like that and the light touched his brow just right. That intimacy, that secrecy, it’s incredible. It wasn’t always there with me but for the longest time now, I’ve never been tempted to tell anyone anything because it’s precious. It’s so sexy, that intimate knowledge. I really think it is the best thing about being in a relationship/marriage.

I used to hate that my dad never told me about my mom and even now she’s a stranger to me, but I don’t mind anymore because I understand his reasons and I also know if my husband died, I wouldn’t be able to talk about him. No token words about his personality or habits would do the whole of him justice, and never would I breach that intimacy. That’s OURS, MINE.

Everyone should be living with someone / in a relationship / married.

Re: The most romantic thing

Happy Anniversary Sarah :)

I love the fact that he shares everything with me too no matter how uncomfortable some of it might make me feel, I know that it is privileged information :)

MashAllah
in that case, i dedicate the following verse of this song to you two:
"chahey jo tumey purey dil se
mil ta heh woh mushkil se

esa jo koi kehi heh
bas woh sab seh hasee heh"

(and the following verse is for me! :crying: )
“us hath ko tum tham lo
woh merban kal ho naho”

i was actually listening to this song while reading yr thread

Yeah, start living together for longer than a weekend and then we will see if the spark stays. Nobody should be in a relationship/marriage if they don't want to. You can't generalize by recommending it to everybody.

Oh yeah funguy, it stays. I think many happily married and in love couples will say the same.

Hmmmm yes it is quite surprising... I mean just ONE person, wow :-)

Like funguy said, the spark doesnt last for long anyways...

U do get used to living together and understand each other.

U dont feel like sharing the precious moments with others..Phir U find out ur nice guy has been cheating behind ur back...U confront and argue and still cant tell anyone coz its still precious...U end up cheating on him...He finds out too....but u still love each other and end up staying together...phir U want to go and tell the world...coz U cant take it anymore...at the same time being nice to ur nice guy...ahhh its a vicious cycle haha

Kheir thats just a scenario....But if u guys r still 'in' love, may U always be...inshaAllah.

Desi kuri: wot a realistic scenario!

anyway, Sarah, i take it u recently got married?

ps. did u like my song i deciated to u?

If you guys could see those who have lost their spouses and decades later, still mourn them, you wouldn't say the same thing :) The prophet had a great marriage with Khadijah and Aysha, so if they could manage it, well I'll just take my chances too.

Meeni, yeah, I've heard that song! It's very nice and expressed my feelings perfectly, thank you.

good for u, (its great seeing couples in love)

yes the Prophet has set great examples for us (regarding marriages)

cute...
u can just tell when couples are soo connected with the shine that appears in their eyes when they talk about each other.

Oh gosh! Get a life! I feel like puking!

^ :halo: i think she has one

SS, i agree 100%… its amazing how we can devote our entire life to just one person. The connection you share with them, the silent moments.. the funny moments… everything.

cute thread

why is it that everyone here thinks that love dies out as you marriage progresses? i mean can't two ppl be in love forever and hold each other, tell each other everything about themselves, share whatever they have.. just be happy with each other?

why is it that every love story on GS has to have a sad ending?

btw SarahSplendor, congrates on getting such a great husband may Allah(SWT) make you guys the happiest couple.. :) and do pray for others like me to get that happiness too :)

^ hmm i think GS people do have happy marriages, its just a lot of people dont post much when they're happy and la la... u get more of a response to problems and headaches :)

Oh gosh get a life! I feel like puking!

hahahaha

I am funny.

ANd the best thing is when you can jsut stay silent and read each others thought - wheither its becasue you are so close or becasue of such familiarity, either way makes me go :love:

did i miss something here :hoonh:

n ppl who think love dies after marriage, my parents have been married for errrmm like 25 yrs now and they act like teenagers in love

tj, that is cute.

Sarah, that is so incredibly sweet. I hope it lasts forever. I so love whatever you write, I may not agree with your opinions all the time, but it's a great read always.

so you wouldn't tell your kids about their father?

hey sarah, its been a while since I’ve seen you post. congratulations to both of you on your anniversary.. hope you two keep proving these doubters wrong inshallah :k: