The Mian - BB Blunders

This report below was interesting to read today. And with this a thought occured to create a thread where we can post and discuss various serious, not so serious, insane and comical blunders Mian Nawaz Sharif and Benazir Bhutto have made in the past or are making at the moment or may make in the future. The nature of the blunders could either affect them personally, their party, colleagues or Pakistan. So do share whatever you feel should be mentioned here, majorly by Mian, BB but episodes from other players could also be accomodated here and there.

To start with, this report says Nawaz Sharif is suffering the Saudi wrath, which i’m sure must be giving him enough sleepless nights already because it was the Saudi royals who had saved his behind in Dec 2000.

http://dawn.com/2006/10/29/nat3.htm

JEDDAH, Oct 28: Nawaz Sharif’s stay in Saudi Arabia has finally come to an end. But the million-dollar question is if the Sharif family was forced by the Saudi authorities to vacate the sprawling, old Saroor Palace in central Jeddah, their residence for almost seven years, or they vacated it of their own free will as they are claiming? The Sharifs, struggling to keep their claim to being Pakistan’s first family, keep generating controversies wherever they go.

** Some here insist the Sharif family ‘have been evicted’ from the Saroor Palace in Jeddah by the Saudi government for violating the terms and conditions of their decade-long exile brokered with President Pervez Musharraf. The old palace reportedly belonged to Prince Saud Al Faisal, the Saudi foreign minister.**

Former prime minister** Nawaz Sharif had applied for a British visa so that he could travel to the UK to facilitate his son Hasan Nawaz’s treatment. **After several delays, some members of the family, including Nawaz Sharif and his wife, were finally stamped UK visas by the British mission here. The visa was valid for six months. That period is over now.

According to sources, the delay in stamping the UK visa to the former prime minister was that the British mission wanted the applicants to clarify where would they return after the expiry of their visa term.

** The Sharif family had apparently hesitated to put Saudi Arabia as their return destination.**

The issue had delayed the granting of visa to the Sharifs by several weeks then. Nawaz Sharif finally left for London nine months ago, reportedly on the condition that he would not take part in politics and would soon return to Saudi Arabia.

** However, in defiance of the condition, he got his UK visa extended and is also participating in politics — a move that has reportedly irked Riyadh.**

The Blunder: *
“Aur kisi ka ban na bab apna to ban”* as a famous quote goes. This is again a classic example of “kulharri apne paon per” again from mian sahab within a span of 7 yrs. I hope he realizes that annoying the Saudis was an extremely stupid thing to do. And though hypocrisy may not be a deal for him, but when it involves Arab traditions of hosptality and value for word etc it’s serious stuff. Not that he’s in any deep trouble yet, but he’s just proving his intentions, lies, and deception. Fortunately this blunder doesnt affect Pakistan directly.

Re: The Mian - BB Blunders

A friend once had a discussion on this issue with me..I mean the whole exile thing. I pointed out Nawaz should keep his promise as a rule..to which my friend said, "a promise made under threat has no legal or moral validity anywhere in the world."

I am sure the house of Saud can appreciate the philosophy of going into exile and then going back to "claim" what one believes is rightfully theirs..after all thats how their Kingdom was formed almost a hundred years back.

I personally get surprised when people make assumptions about the supposed democratic term between 1988-1999. Firstly Benazir wielded very little power in her first term..as did Nawaz sharif. Realistically if they are to be judged it is to be on their second terms. Unfortunately their performance left much to be desired in the second terms no thanks to their deals with corrupt politicians who assisted the PM's own plans.

Still one has to look at things in context..in 1988 BB inherited a country that was a total mess..karachi was a boiling cauldron which the army wanted to go in and "fix". Afghanistan was still at war and the economy was a mess..then followed the pressler amendment and sanctions..continuing instability inAfghanistan..tensions and nearly war with India in 1990, nawaz Sharif did open up the eocnomy and a lot of the psh towards economic liberalisation and privatization started during his second tenure ..he also had to fight of the very near danger of Pakistan being labelled a terrorist state because of the ISI's shenanigans. Then comes to BB's second tenure when she successfully eased the pressler sanctions(Maliha Lodhi owes her present job to BB )..and lets not forget Pakistans missle programme getting into fast gear during BB's time..lastly we have Nawaz Sharif and the nuclear programme..it is a well known fact that many people in the Military were opposed to the tests. Yet Sharif went ahead anyway...

So all in all yes Nawaz and BB made many many blunders..the billion dollar question is this..who helped them, for how much and where are those people now?

How humiliating for Nawaz Sharif, that the people he initially begged (the Saudi royals) to rescue him from prison in late 2000, are now showing him the door as well. By his own admission, his wife Kulsoom had smuggled in a cell phone to his prison cell, and then managed to phone Saudi Prince Abdullah’s people to start negotiatons to get him out. He had first in fact phoned the royals of Dubai, who politely turned him down. :hehe:, and then he managed to get through to Riyadh.

When the final deal was struck, Kulsoom appeared on tv with her face beaming like she had won the lottery, and when Nawaz landed in Jeddah he couldn’t stop smiling. But is it no surprise that Sharif, a coward who could not hack prison life in Pakistan, and yet who quite traitorously ended up living in a Royal palace in Jeddah (not some ordinary house by any stretch), would end of trying to renege on the deal he originally so desperately sought. The Saudi’s are loyal and welcoming friends, but they detest anyone who breaks their word, and Nawaz Sharif has finally lost his own real foreign friends.

^ The funniest part was when Nawaz was attempting to remove the prison bulb in his little celler, and in the process got electrocuted and fell down and hit his tind! Maybe its that bump on the tind that gave him the idea of begging the Saudi royals for extradicting him from Pakistan lol...

Zak, whats with all the praise for BB and Nawazu? They were thugs, no doubt about that, no matter how hard you try...

Spock..you know I've never minced my words on Nawaz (Nawaz at a time when most people were still fawning all over him in 1998) or Benazir..but at the same time one must distinguish the government from the leaders. And most of what I've said is common knowledge..

Nawaz was for example offered a deal far better than Musharraf if he hadn't tested Pakistans nukes (some put it at over 10 billion dollars)

Mind you both made countless blunders, their biggest being the kind of people they surrounded themselves. Fortunately for them and unfortunately for Pakistan all those people are now Ministers under Musharraf.

Ganja writes :slight_smile:

What happened to Taliban of **Mheed ** (its Hameed) Gul and Aslam Beg, ** hain ji? ** They were supposed to fight for 100 years. They did not even fight for 100 days. But why? The fact is that Taliban is one of few products, which was “made in Pakistan” for exports like Basmati rice and cotton yarn, wrote Nawaz Sharif, the deposed former Prime Minister of Pakistan. And he wrote in typical Punjabi English, without caring for grammatical ethics. It was written in exile, according to The Friday Times..

On why the war did not last for 100 days, he wrote: “On their behind, there were our ** faujis **so they went from strength to strength for ** fife ** years. Until September 11. That day, milk’s milk and water’s water became. I would have done exactly same to same if I had been in ** Ghaddar ** “Praiz” (in lieu of Pervez) Musharraf’s shoes. Only difference is, ** faujis ** would have sabotaged ** elacted ** Prime Minister’s ** deciyion ** in stand with international community.”

“On my behind,” Sharif went on to add in his memoirs which is yet to be available easily, " they would have ** killed eye at Fazlur Rahman and Qazi and Maulana Samiulhaq Sandwich, ** and they would have continued their ** hello-hi ** with Taliban." Going ga-ga about his fearless grammatical sense, the once top leader of the Pakistan Muslim League, wrote: “Americans would have found out and President Bush would have given me ** danda. ** So I am glad ** faujis ** are in hot seat. Now they know where their policies have got us. Hmmph! Strategic defiance! Strategic depths! Bigs are coming!”

In conclusion, the erstwhile big boss of Islamabad said :“Thanks God Taliban are finished but I am spotting them and maulvis because ** enema of my enema ** is my friend. These days maulvis are ** enemas of Praiz ** Musharraf. But soon, when America decides that democracy must return to Pakistan, I will start criticising maulvis and Taliban and become darling of West. Then I will become PM also.” (IPA)

Good one Abdali.