Where do US guppies stand on this?
My circle of desis have very limited view on it and its evident that their source of information is stereotypes and news outlets. Most of them favor, shut the door, send ‘em back, don’t give them any amnesty etc.
Where do US guppies stand on this?
My circle of desis have very limited view on it and its evident that their source of information is stereotypes and news outlets. Most of them favor, shut the door, send ‘em back, don’t give them any amnesty etc.
Re: The Immigration debate in US
America's economy need immigrants(legal and illegal) for doing jobs that Americans won't do.They are not a burden on America and are not taking away anyone's job.I support Ted Kennedy's bill in senate which offers a guest worker program and amnesty for illegals who have been working there for a long time.Republicans who are mostly racists want to treat immigrants like criminals,put them in jail for 5 years ...I think if they are so concerned about security they should do something about the border situation with Mexico and not start putting decent hardworking people in jail for nothing.
don't confuse illegal with immigrant though. there is a big difference there.
So lets talk about guest worker program. The Europeans have had this program for some decades now, how has it benefited them? They still complain about immigration, the immigrants through the guest worker programs are marginalized, isolated and often deprived from the society and their societies remain racist towards them and they towards the societies they choose to live in. I don’t notice anything good that has come from the guest worker program.
BTW, countries in the gulf show a worse example of guest worker program.
yes, kick them out and let people come through legal channals, process the applications which are sitting for 5-10 years (or even more).
It's another staged media event.
The real reason there are millions of Illegal Immigrants in this country is becuase it's institutionlized. By focusing attention on the people who cross the border, the debate is deliberatey skewed in favor of the real culprits allowing and benefiting from this scam.
Ultimately the American people and the poor illegals suffer and the rich get richer, and the evil further their plot of weakening American culture and it's strengths.
Who are the rich that benefit? Those who employ the illegal workers? If so, than that’s a big list, from the construction workers, to those who work at Pizza and McDonalds or “contract” for companies like Wal-Mart, to the ladies who clean houses for cash are employed by rich and not so rich people alike. The desi store where I get my stuff has Latinos stocking and cleaning, the uncle that runs the store says he is doing them a favor but I think he is just getting low wage jobs, and obviously he is not very rich himself.
Yet, in the end, what is the solution?
Not those 'rich' ahmadjee bhaijaan.
When an illegal enters the country he breaks the law. It's evil corporations like the IRS that institutionalize this immigration.
These illegals can get Tax numbers in lieu of Social Security. Therefore they can continue to work.. they get a portion of the tax back cuz it's not going to SS and they don't expect it either cuz they're never gonna be citizens.. Some of them have successful businesses earning 200,000 to 400,000 a year and they pay taxes. The TIN gets them Drivers Licenses. They can buy properties. They can buy Insurances. They can do pretty much everything except vote.
NO ONE can question their legal status anywhere.. cuz the IRS needs their money. It's that simple.
By shaping the debate around the 'cotton pickers' and the 'toilet cleaners' the criminals hide the fact that much of this is influx of 'cheap labor' is deliberate. By having a pool of people willing to work for cheap the minimum wage stays the same for decades.
The solution is to get these people a refund on their paid taxes and kick them back to their country.. but it's never gonna happen.. cuz it would mean that the IRS would have to actually give some money back for once.. something the greedy *******s are not used to.
How is kicking them back to their country a solution for them or for Americans? Its not like they really enjoy the life back home to trade it for a miserable one here. Majority of illegal immigrants don’t even make 10K a year, let alone having 100,000K. I would be surprised if 1% of all the illegal make more than the US median household income.
ahmadjee bhai jaan .. it's life.. do u think it'll work if every poor human being on the face of this planet deserved automatic residency based on the claim that he/she is poor and has a terrible life back home?
I made it into the country legally. Millions others did too. why can't the rest do the same.. Why penalize the vast law-abiding majority by rewarding those who bypassed the law with the same fruit the others had to earn with time?
My ex's great grandparents who were from germany just walked in to the US by showing the proof of the ticket they bought to board the ship in 1850s. Had it been those times we'd not have been discussing this. But the times have changed and more than anything else, immigration is politics now. Its true that illegal immgrants are a burden on taxpayers and that it needs to be controller somehow. There are vested interests though.
ahmadjee, I think there is a good reason why Pakistanis around you show indifference towards this immigration debate. Not only is this mostly an election year issue, but more importantly any amnesty offered to brown Mexicans will never be offered to brown Pakistanis/desis/middle-eastern people. Infact, if a Pakistani is found to be living in US illegally for several years, amnesty tau dur ki baat, he will be sent to Camp Gitmo where *us ko ulta latka ke chittar marein ge ye *... hence the "who cares! attitude.
As far as Mexicans are concerned, I have a feeling quite a few of them still think California and Arizona are part of Mexico, hence baap ki jageer hai, where they don't really need visas etc to go in and out. Kar lo jo karna hai.
but there is a fear europe will become eurabia and south us will become majority
latinos
hmmmm remind me what was done for amnesty during the reagen era.
You know what is really funny? So many demonstrations and protests with emotionally charged and angry people from all backgrounds and walks of life (from complete jahil mazdoor to paray likay professors), but not one incident of fights breaking out, people throwing stones at others or destroying property. Now compare this with the recent protests in Pakistan. Hmmmmm... makes you think doesn't it.
i think for guys it is more tough... women are more accepted as Muslims. maybe not. but i know my bag was checked at Penn Station, NY. i think that our identity as Muslims is the reason why we have to justify our religions. others think that they are saints.
the issue is more complex than mere religious clash or greed on the part of the ruling presidents or monarchs.
the common lot of women and men who are law abiding and good citizens come into the rut becoz we are unable to voice ourselves when we ought to.
for that matter, where are there any immigration laws in Pakistan. anybody and everybody comes right in esp. from countries that hold our country and our people as suspects of terror, where as the own working of these nations and countries and their govts., are ANTI-MUSLIM - for both males & females. i am a professor at a state university in NY and i know that many a times, my identity bites people. i always say if i were to come to my enemy country, i'd plant flowers from my country than land mines or drop destructive poison... and people get the point.
it is true that not all humans are capable of patience that is needed to have and establish JUSTICE accross the board. It is our lives' struggle along with all else that goes on...
best,