It is also heartening to see ulema coming to the fore and backing the elimination of the Taleban. What isnt so great is that atleast according to this article there is a bit of a barelvi-deobandi dynamic going on here, which is not desirable. this is no time for holding back because of sectarianism.
Most of Pakistan’s 160 million people are moderate Muslims, but for years they have been reluctant to speak out against the spread of the hardline Taliban. Not any more.
‘The military must eliminate the Taliban once and for all,’ Mufti Sarfraz Naeemi, a senior cleric of the moderate Barelvi branch of Sunni Muslims, told Reuters.
‘Otherwise they will capture the entire country which would be a big catastrophe.’
‘They want people to fight one another, that’s why we have kept silent and endured their oppression,’ Naeemi said.
‘We don’t want civil war … But God forbid, if the government fails to stop them, then we will confront them ourselves.’
For the first time in Pakistan, protesters have been taking to the streets to denounce the Taliban.
Barelvis have been holding anti-Taliban rallies across the country and are organising a gathering of 5,000 clerics in Islamabad on Sunday to drum up support for the military in Swat.
‘We support the army operation in Swat because it is a battle for the survival and defence of Pakistan,’ Sahibzada Fazal Karim, leader of Jamiat-e-ulema-e-Pakistan, a moderate Islamic party, and an organiser of the weekend conference, told Reuters.
‘What these militants were doing was un-Islamic. Beheading innocent people and kidnapping are in no way condoned in Islam.’
Bhai apni betting apney pass rakhein, .. Filhaal.. show any news/clip where civil-society/political leaders except two idiots: Jammat islami & Imran Khan.. is not favoring it. Shahbash.. jaldi sey dhondo, use future powers, same way Spock use in Star Trek (the future begines)
Aside from all the irrelevant and factually incorrect talk along with some really poor usage of English language and spellings, are you forgetting that Maulana Diesel, the head of the JUI (which by the way is a Govt ally), as well as the chief of the PMLQ lota Pervez Elahi is also opposing this operation. PML[N] has also criticized it in the parliament.
a) 45% backing a military operation is pretty sizable, and does not imply 55% opposed.
b) The survey is from March, public opinion has shifted significantly since the shariah deal, the incursions into Buner and the statements against democracy/judiciary
c) While PML(N) has criticized the operation in parliament, mostly for operational details and on not being consulted, it has repeatedly said that they back the operation (both the leader of the opposition and Nawaz Sharif are on record.
d) If the operation is brought into the parliament as is currently being considered by PPP, with the backing of atleast PML/PPP/ANP/MQM it is expected to be passed overwhelmingly.
Aside from all the irrelevant and factually incorrect talk along with some really poor usage of English language and spellings, are you forgetting that Maulana Diesel, the head of the JUI (which by the way is a Govt ally), as well as the chief of the PMLQ lota Pervez Elahi is also opposing this operation. PML[N] has also criticized it in the parliament.
Your contradicting statements with eagerness to prove only you are right, but you are not again.
Criticism is the right of every political entity same goes for PML-N. Please any statement any source where PML-N didn't support the army operation? If you can't because this is the third time i asked, then better not reply !
Your contradicting statements with eagerness to prove only you are right, but you are not again.
Criticism is the right of every political entity same goes for PML-N. Please any statement any source where PML-N didn't support the army operation? If you can't because this is the third time i asked, then better not reply !
What contradiction? Maybe you dont know the meaning of contradiction. You said provide you with another name apart from Imran Khan and Qazi, well, I gave you two more, Chaudhry Pervez Elahi and Maulana Diesel, two more heads of parties.
a) 45% backing a military operation is pretty sizable, and does not imply 55% opposed.
b) The survey is from March, public opinion has shifted significantly since the shariah deal, the incursions into Buner and the statements against democracy/judiciary
c) While PML(N) has criticized the operation in parliament, mostly for operational details and on not being consulted, it has repeatedly said that they back the operation (both the leader of the opposition and Nawaz Sharif are on record.
d) If the operation is brought into the parliament as is currently being considered by PPP, with the backing of atleast PML/PPP/ANP/MQM it is expected to be passed overwhelmingly.
blahblahblah, 45% of the country backs it according to the authentic survey conducted. End of story. 80% of the population was behind that shariat deal too.
Yaar poll was conducted on March 7-30, way before the Sufi bakwass about Parliament/Judiciary/Constitution went live all over Pakistan & before swat peace deal collapse. So i don't buy it only 45% support the military operation which is still very high :)
yeah. fact that they're clutching at surveys from 2 months ago when according to all observers the mood has changed significantly in the last month is pretty desperate tactics. Oh and suddenly Fazlur Rehman and PML(Q) are bastions of credibility for them.
not for me, but for mindless musharraf lovers who used to rely on them. and keep in mind it was the mushtards who used to gloat the importance of PML[Q lota league].
Just admit it, you guys asked for leaders other than imran and qazi of their parties for opposition, now i gave you two more… Thats 4 parties right there, and pretty soon everyone will join in, when supporting zardari becomes a liability, us ke baad baad choosni nahee milley gi war hysteria promote karney walloon ko.
p.s. ravage, post some more anti-india war songs, the numbers are going down sharp
Really? so what happened to the taraana you were parading in broken english about now being able to find anyone apart from imran and qazi? The sad part is, both maulana and elahi made anti-war statements before you posted that. Next time read before making a mockery out of yourself.
**Govt has popular support for its actions: Gallup survey
**NEW YORK: A Gallup poll survey released Wednesday says the Pakistan government may have some popular support for its actions despite a major offensive against Taliban insurgents which has displaced more than half a million Pakistanis. **
According to the survey conducted in December, before the current military operation, nearly half of Pakistanis (47%) believed the Taliban’s presence in some areas of the country has a negative influence; 14% said it has a positive influence and 39% had no opinion.
The survey concludes that although much has changed in Pakistan since the Gallup survey, with a troubled economy and many Pakistanis struggling to afford food and shelter even before this crisis, any popular support for the offensive could hinge on how Pakistan handles the internal refugee situation.
In the event that the offensive successfully drives out the Taliban, what the government does then will be nearly as crucial to Pakistan’s future as the military operation itself.
Displaced Pakistanis who escaped the fighting will need help with rebuilding their homes, schools, and businesses when and if they return home. They will also require some type of assurance that the government will continue to pressure the militants and keep them from returning again.
In the NWFP, where a resurging Taliban has used often-brutal tactics to extend its control in the last year, roughly half of residents (49%) told Gallup in December that the presence of the Taliban has a negative influence. While only 10% in this province said the Taliban had a positive influence, 41% said they did not know or would not say.
**Sizable percentages in the Sindh (44%) and Punjab (60%) provinces also saw the Taliban’s influence as negative. **However, the picture looked different in the province of Baluchistan, where some fear the Taliban will flee during the military operation. Here, similar percentages said the Taliban’s influence is positive (21%) as said its influence is negative (22%) and the highest percentage of any region (58%) said they did not know or would not say.
Relief agencies estimate that the number of Pakistanis fleeing the Swat valley and nearby districts could soon swell to as many as 1 million, further inflating the number who have been displaced since last August.
This mass exodus poses a humanitarian crisis in a country where many are already struggling to provide the basics: More than 3 in 10 Pakistanis told Gallup that there had been times when they could not afford food for their families in the last year and nearly 2 in 10 said they had been unable to buy adequate shelter. In NWFP, roughly a third of residents said they were unable to afford food or shelter at times.