the great rickshaw debate

Today it rained heavily in chicago. highways were flooded, cars abandoned, almost looked like karachi except I missed the shiny buses and rickshaws floating by

**A Little Rickshaw History*

A hand-pulled rickshaw or jin-riki-sha, in Japanese, is basically a seating compartment mounted between two large wheels. The vehicle is pulled by a runner holding two long poles extending back to the rickshaw body. While the concept of a passenger being pulled by a runner might seem somewhat primitive, the rickshaw was a vast improvement over sedan chairs, which had to be lifted and carried by two men.

Because of the simplicity of its design and mechanics, one might assume that the rickshaw has been a mode of transportation for centuries. Surprisingly, though, the rickshaw is a relatively recent arrival on the transportation scene, having made its first appearance in the streets of Japan around 1870. There is some question as to who gets credit for actually inventing the rickshaw, but a number of authorities give credit to a minister living in Yokohama, Japan, who supposedly built the first model to transport his invalid wife through the streets of Japan. Other accounts credit the rickshaw’s invention to Japanese individuals, including an out-of-work samurai. In any case, the rickshaw proved an immediate hit with the public and with rickshaw operators, with as many as 150,000 on the streets of Japan alone only a decade after their introduction.

Over the years, rickshaw operators adopted more sophisticated means of powering their vehicles. For example, pedicabs - bicycle-powered rickshaws – made their appearance, and on the streets of many Asian cities, tourists and residents alike can hop aboard rickshaws propelled by gasoline engines. But even the gas-powered models may be giving way to progress.

Still today in most growning cities of the subcontinent over a million of the two-stroke-engine rickshaws were in service, but the smoke and noise they produced has been worsening the cities already intense pollution.*

hmmmm okay

dhrannnnn dhrannnnnnn dhannnnnttttttttt.tttt..tttt...ttttt .... dhannnnttttttt.ttt..ttttt ... haaaannnnnnn....

Chal.. Beath ja peechay....

Zamane kay Andaz Badle Gay
Naya Raag hai, Saaz Badle Gaye

Its not a trick into leading us helping you buying a RICKSHAW. Is it Fraud…I can Imagine you driving that doog doog doooggg around town.

Boys and Girls... I have something to share... here I go:

My wife is English Muslim and I had the opportunity to take her to Pakistan to see my village near Nawabshah and the life still we have. She enjoyed every second of it as it was strange to her, the love people were give her because of being English, white skin, Pakistani libas and could only speak bit of Urdu.

Well she nearly been on every thing from:

Boat on Lake outside Thata with out safety life jacket
Car and Jeep with no seat belts
Eating food under a big tree using the local plates
Walk in the field
Have a ride on Tunga

But the only things she wasn’t ready to do was to sit in a Ricksha. We (my parents and I) tried the best but she just didn’t want to know.

ps: That was her first time in that part of the world.

I luv Rikshaws wat ever the kind the ghurrer ghurrer is like music to ears

sitting in them alone is a little scary but still they r fun

To err is human and to keep on doing so is essentially me

Originally posted by kingshah:
** Its not a trick into leading us helping you buying a RICKSHAW. Is it Fraud....I can Imagine you driving that doog doog doooggg around town.**

haan yaaar, yehi zamana aa gaya hai, NY ahmedi nay kaha tha ahmedi ban-nay par mercedes milti hai, abhi takk naheen milli. ab wapis whirrling dervesh ban gaya hoon aur rickhsaw lainay ka iradah hai..

btw chup namaqool insaan humaray plans ko secret rehnay day

Re: the great rickshaw debate

Hmm who was viewing this thread?

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

I don’t like Lahori rikshaw’s :-/ Itna ooncha charhna parhta hai, there’s no way you ‘climb’ one in a gracious way!!!

Karachi rikshaw’s were slightly easier to get into, but I the no doors didn’t help (it was cold damn it!)

Quetta rikshaw’s are :k: I’m just scared of the Pathan’s driving it though (yeah bad experiences a couple of times)

I love the doorless version, it's such a buzz.

Back home I would pay the driver a 100 rupees even when I owed him just 10 so that he would drive faster and race other veichles on the road, Tangas (horses, not the briefs) are also pretty good but a bit uncomfortable, felt like I would fall off, oh and has anyone ever rode on a trackter whilst sat on the 'wing' thing over the tyre? That's such buzz too. I know I'm going way of topic but this just brought back so many memories.

I had my folks bring me a model rikshaw from pakmanland and it is a prominent displkay in my den along with the tanga they brought last time, now I need a minibus a decorated truck and a cycle or two to complete the karachi road scene. oh yeah i did pick up a vespa model last time I was in Milan.

hmm… Lahore walay rickshay aren’t good for large ppl. Usually jab wo nikaltay hain, tuo rickshaw kay keeloN mie unki pantaloon pans jathi hai, aur phir the sound of Krrrrrrrrrrr is ur nightmare. I know once two unkils had a car problem. One gol matol like a Noon (urdu alphabet). The other lamba taranga like Alif. When they hailed a rickshaw, they both tried hard to fit in it. Ike ki laataN bahir theeN, tuo rickshaw driver said, “Oo pa ji, lataN paray kar.” and tried hard shutting the door behind them. So lahore rickshaws are very tiny to fit ppl big or tall ppl in :bummer:

The chigi motorbike rickshaw are too vulgar/no privacy. U see a big uncle/aunty on it, and its all a jello shake u see. So obnoxious for the virgin eyes! :grumpy:

Rickshaw jab race marta hie, to ufff, once it paltofied with a shuttle kak burqa auwnty. My cousin seeing the accident, stopped his car to run and help, but took a step back on seeing aunty right away in ‘chapal maring’ :bailan: action to the driver.

So I think the Chi rickshaw (karachi’s) with lots of space is a better investment for all of us. Lots of room to breath and freely do bhangra in. Last time I rode in one of those was back when I was five in the yr of 1985 winter, and Nani jan took a trip to the fruit/sabzi mandi in Peshawar. I saw a melon bopping out of the shappar and Phut out of the rickshaw in the end. But ohwell we had to hold tight for dear life.

I sure do miss the everyday live comedy u get back home :teary1:

in interior sind the rickshaw driver will sqeeze himself into a corner on the front seat and another passinjar can share the front seat with him, if all wont fit on the back seat. It takes an expert to drive that rickshaw from that awkward position, and all the passinjars would be holding the top of the rickshaw with one hand to cling to that moving machine :hehe:

I remember that last time I was in Khairpur, also in nawabshah.

^ :)

^ :) :)

i prefer without doors :blush:

***I was dissapointed that out of all the 37 posts in this here debate on Rickshaws of Pakistan.....................

There was NO mention of "Electric" powered rickshaws......................:(

Cities in Pakistan Need Battery powered Electric Rickshaws..............:)

Many benefits for all involved..................:)

First benefit is for the poor drivers who loose their hearing.....two stroke engines make a lot of racket..... rutt a tutt tutt......:(...Electric is totally quiet.:)

Environmental benefit outstrips all......two stroke filthy smoking machines..........Electric is environmentally friendly.....:)

Cramped seating and hard to get in and out of is strictly poor design..
Same art work on spacious seating will look a lot better....:)

Let us all start debate all over again..................:biggthumb

aur ji bijli aaye gi kahan say?
load shedding hui toh transportation kay bhi ...... lag gaye

***:)SOLAR charged Batteries on board the rickshaw.........

Charging stations all over the city like gas stations where the batteries wil be replaced.............

slip out the discharged

put in the fully charged:)