Early in the morning our phone rang.. and I heard a a very loud , happy, noisy voice of my aunt exclaming that she had become grandma of a boy.. though the couple themslves were quite happy with 2 girls..after the confusion settled we got to know that the ultra sound wasnt clear.. I remember couple of weeks backs she came to our house and was all tears.. she got the news that her bahu was going to have a baby girl.. second one and how much she wanted a son.. so that the illustrious name of her family could go on.. she put the enire blame of this great sin on her daughter-in Law and even traced history that in her family there are more girls than boys ! same was the case with mother of the girl! In this thing both were adament that boy should had come..but now both were beaming and brought mithai within an hour..
Though we were dilighted too as now our cousin has boy and a girl but i thought where did the baby girl went - who never was. She was bringing so much tension in the family.. she wasnt remembered in good words even before she was to be born.. family were just saying that she should be blessed with good fortune! No celebrations but mute mentioning of the girl.. I still wonder where the girl went..
err...duhh!
Qiyamut ki nashaani hei...there will be more girls then boys in furute......ratio 50:1.....dus she wanna fight that?....tell her to sink her teeth in that....
:( Astaghfirullah.. These people juz piss me off.. U should thank Allah for giving the most beautiful gift.. A child.. To hell with tha family name.. i dun give a ****.. Be happy with what u get..wether it be a girl or a boy.
These people make me sick. Some one needs to tell that "budhi" that she should have her head and her son examined. Maybe he is not capable of producing "Y" chromosome hence all girls. Uneducated fools.
oh well, they dont deserve such blessings anyway... one of my good close friends has just had a baby daughter a couple of days back, an absolute angel... and adorable, and u cant measure their happiness, and their family's. mashallah. even i couldnt stop smiling ear to ear when he told me.
My brother did that on one of my mumani’s faces. She wasn’t the best of bahoos/wives/aunts to start with. He wasn;t wearing a diaper and she was faking ‘laad pyaar’ with lifting him in the air and voila! He showered her!
Years ago my mum was at some event and there was some desi aunty there who started making conversation with her. The lady told my mum she had three boys, then she asked my mum how many children she had. Mom answered “I’ve two daughters”. Do you know what that woman answered to that?!!! She goes “Oh I’m so sorry to hear that!”
LOL. kahaan se aatay hain aisay log. It wasn’t like she was some unpadh woman either. Just jahil I suppose.
If I remember correctly, I believe it's the man who determines the gender of the child. So it's not the girl's 'fault.' There is such gender issues in our culture, it's ridiculous.
Technically not really. See, producing babies (usually) involves two people. So, on one hand its possible that the husband is not producing sperms carrying Y-chromosomes, or that he is not producing enough and therefore increasing the chances that an X-chromosome sperm will fertilize with the egg and thus a baby girl is formed. However, its also very possible that due to food or any other reason the vaginal environment in the wife is acidic and that kills Y-chromosome carrying sperms.
However, as far as the attitudes towards girls and boys in our culture, thats really unfortunate, and are based on decades of societal influences. Girls are thought to require immense dowry etc, and the boy is supposed to carry the family name. With changing times and more education such influences may mellow down over a period of time.
Well choosing the sex of the baby is a vast subject, and almost all methods are based on a hit-or-miss possibility, except may be to have an IVF, and to separate male sperm and fertilize it with the egg directly. That was not really the point of posting the link. That male and female chromosomes behave differently in acidic or alkaline environment is the subject of many studies, and this environment is influenced, amongst other things, by the food intake. Hence we can't solely "blame" either the father or the mother for having either all boys or all girls, and I am just responding to that point raised above.
Girls are thought to require immense dowry etc, and the boy is supposed to carry the family name. With changing times and more education such influences may mellow down over a period of time.
seeeee now from what i've been learning about in islam and stuff is that the man is supposed to give the girl stuff when she marries, and her "jahez" its just a gift from her parents FOR HER..not for her in laws. so where do these ppl get off demanding all this crap frm her??
*Originally posted by Sara516: *
so where do these ppl get off demanding all this crap frm her??
Historically, in Islam, the dowry was kept at a minimum, and only included some gifts to the daughter from her parents on starting a new life with her husband. The husband is supposed to give her "mehr", which is a wedding gift, according to his financial means. The primary reason for no emphasis on dowry is probably because in Islam, daughters share in the inheritance of the father (albeit at a reduced level compared to sons).
On the other hand, in hindu customs of India, the parents would give their daughters dowries. It made sense for that culture, because daughters had no part in inheritance of their father. When Islam spread through India, the hindus who embraced Islam, adopted the dual approach of dowries as well as inheritance. This continues to this date, fueled by greed.