The free media myth

Today I watched Altaf Hussein’s speech live on TV for 50 minutes uninterrupted. The show was still on when I finally swtiched off the TV. Geo News, Ary News and Aaj News telecast the address, waiving their 30-minute news update segments and putting up an extra news ticker to shows quotes from Altaf Hussein’s speech, making them three tickers.

I had no choice but to watch the speech. News from around the country was put on hold as the usual news tickers that continue to report latest developments irrespective of programme being aired, were also made to highlight points of the speech. I was wondering exactly how free and fair our media are?

They speak against the military, they speak against the judiciary, they speak against the government, they speak against political parties but MQM is the holiest of everything ever happened to Pakistan. If they are really free, fair and independent, then the viewers should be informed of the blanket coverage being a paid broadcast, a volunteer act or a forced transmission.

Ironically, PTV News was the only channel covering live Prime Minister’s address to a Sikh gathering.

Re: The free media myth

:eek: you listened to him for continuous 50 minutes.

^ that was exactly my reaction after reading the first line :eek:

I must say u hv real strong nerves to listen to his pagalpan:D I think nowdays our media thinks that if they ignore the one's in power and start concentration those who aren't means media is free,theyr not bound to show Wht the PM,Prezident,n Ministers are busy in.....

Guys, I did not listen to him for 50 minutes, I said I watched his speech for 50 minutes. Guess what, you can always mute your television sets :slight_smile:

I wanted to see how his speech was being covered, the uninterrupted transmission, no half-hourly headline updates, three news tickers all for his speech, I could not have reported all that to you without watching the speech :slight_smile:

Now shall we move on to the real discussion please? :slight_smile:

I think its not about MQM’s terror, its about entertainment value that our Altaf Bhai provides to media… you know TRPs. :hehe:

^ But who watches him?

Do you think these have any choice? Let them ignore and see what happens to them? They earn billions from Karachi, these are private and commercial media and don't want to become bankrupt by proving themselves as free media, "as mqm waalay in ki band bajha dengay". Do you remember Karachi massacre and attack on Aaj TV in 2007? It is just like saying the myth of free media in America where top media news channels are run by Jew lobby who pour billions in these channels.

Ummat akhbar wale.. :rotfl:

They have better options for TRP. It seems to be a ‘bonded labour’ case. But my question is why don’t they speak out against it? if Hamid Mir can criticise ISI in every second show, why not MQM for hijacking the media? Does it mean that MQM is more powerful than the ISI?

Media also gave the same priority to Zulfiqar Mirza’s conference while he was talking against MQM? What does this prove about Media Vs MQM terror? just thinking on neutral lines… :hmmm:

^ Would you expand on it please?

I mean to say if media is really afraid of MQM, why did they give full coverage to ZM when he was talking against MQM? Same Media when gave coverage to AH's conference, it was referred to as biased or bonded media.

^ So is it out of sheer love for MQM? Any other party gets this kind of blanket coverage?

:sadaf:

when they telecast hatred against MQM, then where from the question of love for MQM arises? :konfused:

khoji will quote you every sentence. it's every MQM-wala's talent. amazing

muqa bhai baat kuch samajh nahi aai…if it’s neither bonded labour, nor love affair…to phir ye sab hey kya :konfused: Aur kisi ko to aesi shahaana coverage nahi milti…

I totally agree Amal, i won't say i was shocked because there is nothing new but you do wonder what exactly is media's problem when it comes to MQM.
Let's assume that his speech is very important for Karachiites and they wait day and night to hear his telephonic address and media can't ignore it for financial reasons. It is known fact that PPP & PMLN spend millions on media but even their live speeches aren't covered as much as Altaf Hussain. It is definitely not money because PPP-PMLN can throw a lot more than MQM so why our media is SO afraid of MQM? What's interesting is that not even one major channel ignores Altaf's address.
Even ISI/Army gets more criticism than MQM.

Example of Zulfiqar Mirza’s speech against MQM is an exception and he has been a govt official so it was a normal transmission.
if you realy want to see the trend, analyze the talk shows in which achors directly criticize Army and Govt and raise critical Questions against them. But, when it comes to MQM they avoid this attitude rather assume other politicains to criticize MQM.