The forthcoming PAK vs AUS series...

Had a look at Bazid Khan.Looks like he is very average in longer version of game…

FIRST-CLASS
(1997/98 - 2001/02)
M I NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
Batting & Fielding 39 66 2 1950 127 30.46 3 11 32 0

But he is good in limited over matches..

LIST A LIMITED OVERS
(1997/98 - 2001/02)
M I NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
Batting & Fielding 27 27 3 1263 116 52.62 2 11 15 0

http://www-usa.cricket.org/link_to_database/PLAYERS/PAK/B/BAZID_KHAN_07009266/

So… Noooooooooo for TEST matches… who would liek to bring a batsman in TEST matches who cant score 30 runs/match in first class matches.Just because he is Majid Khan’s son doesnt make him great !!!

may be in onedayers..

Sorry Ehsan bhai for getting off topic again!
I just wanted to show that not all good players perform high on dmoestic level

FIRST-CLASS
 (1993 - 2002; last updated 18/09/2002)
                      M    I  NO  Runs   HS     Ave 100  50   Ct  St
Batting & Fielding  138  234  11  7589  190   34.03  12  44  140   0

O      M     R    W    Ave   BBI    5  10    SR  Econ
Bowling             415.4   86  1438   36  39.94  4-36    0   0  69.2  3.45

LIST A LIMITED OVERS
 (1993 - 2002/03; last updated 18/09/2002)
                      M    I  NO  Runs   HS     Ave 100  50   Ct  St
Batting & Fielding  182  171  16  5622  137   36.27  13  23   64   0

O       R    W    Ave   BBI   4w  5w    SR  Econ
Bowling             303    1462   55  26.58  4-50    1   0  33.0  4.82

Here is Trescothick’s county cricket average.
What do you say :rolleyes:

Originally posted by UMAIR316: *Those of you who don't know who is Bazid Khan, he is the son of Majid Khan and **one of the top performers in domestic cricket for the past 3 years* but still never gets a chance to play even in A team matches.

Umair123 ji - Once again you are contradicting yourself. You said he is one of the TOP performers in in domestic cricket for Past 3 years - AQ proved he is not (unless all other batsmen in Pakistan's Domestic Cricket average less than 30).

Just because his average is under 30 doesn't mean he is a bad player. Check all the domestic cricket scores, he has played some great innings. I just showed Trescothick's domestic average to show that good players don't necessarily have good averages.
Bevan's average is above Tendulkur but that doesn't necessarily mean he is the better one day player.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Just because his average is under 30 doesn't mean he is a bad player. Check all the domestic cricket scores, he has played some great innings.

I never called him a BAD player - You said he was the top performer in Domestic Cricket - Well his stats show that He wasn't. Secondly Pakistan's domestic is hardly competitive and despite of that he has scored at a poor avg. tells us about his batting.

I just showed Trescothick's domestic average to show that good players don't necessarily have good averages.

What you showed is Trescothick's total average and that includes his over all avg when he wasn't performing that well in county. Check out his performance in County Cricket during the Time he was selected to play for England (Year 2000) His Avg. was 40+

Bevan's average is above Tendulkur but that doesn't necessarily mean he is the better one day player.

Bevan's Avg is better than Sachin only in one form of Game in the longer version of Game it is pathetic Compared to Sachin's.

oK lads, enough of Bazid khan, back to the topic.

Hasan nudges selectors with unbeaten century
20 September 2002
**Hasan Raza continued his liking for Sri Lanka ‘A’ bowlers by stroking an undefeated 119 as Pakistan ‘A’ took complete command of the first Test at Iqbal Stadium here Thursday. **

By stumps on the penultimate day of the four-day fixture, the tourists had reached 72 for two, having conceded a big first innings lead of 208.

Sri Lanka ‘A’ managed a paltry 183 in their first essay on Tuesday.

**Hasan’s superb innings serves an appropriate reminder to the shortsighted national selectors who had omitted him from the original list of probables announced earlier this month. ** :nook: :nook:

**With the senior squad facing crisis in the wake of poor form and spate of injuries, Hasan has now emerged as one of the candidates for the offshore home Test series against world champions Australia beginning early next month. **

The 20-year-old right-hander was chiefly responsible of putting his side on verge of a probable victory as Pakistan ‘A’ lifted their overnight score of 149 for two to 391 for eight before skipper Faisal Iqbal applied the closure.

Young fast bowler Umar Gul then dealt two severe blows to the Sri Lankans’ hopes of saving the match by removing both the left-handed Test openers, Michael Vandort (1) and Avishka Gunawardena (29), in an impressive opening spell.

But the day belonged to Hasan, who chalked up his third century in as many matches against the same rivals. He made two unbeaten centuries at Dambulla (121) and Galle (102) when he led Pakistan ‘A’ to series victory on the away tour last year.

Hasan’s 231-ball knock was embellished with seven fours and a brace of sixes, against medium-pacer Chamila Gamage and leg-spinner Kaushal Lokuarachchi.

All-rounder Rana Naveed-ul-Hasan also played a significant hand by sharing a partnership of 111 with Hasan Raza, after Pakistan ‘A’ were in some bother at 196 for five. He struck three fours and one six in making 48 off 98 deliveries.

Test all-rounder Azhar Mahmood was also in good nick as he hit 33 off 79 balls with two fours and one six. He dominated the seventh-wicket stand of 58 with Hasan.

Moin Khan, the former Test skipper, fell after making only a 37-ball 14.

Lokuarachchi was the most successful Sri Lanka ‘A’ bowler with figures of four for 112 in 34 overs, having given away 36 in six overs on Wednesday without any success.

Gamage finished with two for 57, including the scalp of Taufiq Umar, going after adding only five to his overnight 68.

So what do you guys, should he broughten into the team.
I say lets wait till this whole series against SL A is over, and if he is good than why not give him a try.

PCB announces Test squad for Australia series

Pakistan Cricket Board on Saturday announced 16 players for Pakistan vs Australia three-test home series to be played at Colombo and Sharjah.

Following is the squad of 16 players:

1. Waqar Younis (Captain)
  2. Younis Khan (Vice-captain)
  3. Shoaib Akhtar
  4. Imran Farhat
  5. Misbah-ul-Haq
  6. Faisal Iqbal
  7. Danish Kaneria
  8. Rashid Latif (wicket-keeper)
  9. Saqlain Mushtaq
  10. Naved-ul-Hasan
  11. Imran Nazir
  12. Hasan Raza
  13. Abdul Razzaq
  14. Mohammad Sami
  15. Taufeeq Umar
  16. Mohammad Zahid

kitani ajeeb ajeeb see lag rahi hai team apni;)
no wasim, saeed, inzamam or youhana....

anyways some good young players like Faisal , imran farhat in it.
i think they should have included Afridi as well coz he is bowling well these days....

Khair i think the final team would be or shuold i say, shoule be

Imran Nazir
Imran Farhat
Younis Khan
Misbah-ul-Haq
Faisal Iqbal
Abdul Razzaq
Rashid Latif
Waqar
Saqlain
Shoaib Akhtar
Danish Kaneria

Five bowlers, Five batters 2 All rounders

Best of luck pakistan

1. Waqar Younis (Captain)
  2. Younis Khan (Vice-captain) :confused:
  3. Shoaib Akhtar
  4. Imran Farhat
  5. Misbah-ul-Haq
  6. Faisal Iqbal
  7. Danish Kaneria :k:
  8. Rashid Latif (wicket-keeper) :smiley:
  9. Saqlain Mushtaq
  10. Naved-ul-Hasan
  11. Imran Nazir :mad:
  12. Hasan Raza :k:
  13. Abdul Razzaq
  14. Mohammad Sami
  15. Taufeeq Umar
  16. Mohammad Zahid :hula:

My team for the test series
Imran Farhat
Mizbah ul Haq
Younis Khan
Hasan Raza
Faisal Iqbal
Abdul Razzaq
Rashid Latif
Waqar Younis
Saqlain Mushtaq
Shoaib Akhtar
Danish Kaneria

And no Saeed and Afridi in the squad :frowning:

A suicidal decision for our management to go with such a young side. A side like this may have chance of beating Australia in the one day team but test matches is always close to impossible specially with batting lineup. And batting is alot important in test matches than bowling.

Our batsmans are going to be butchered!

But I hope for the best.

Regardless of how good these players are but they don’t have any experience.

I think the main factor is going to be the strategy against Shane Warne because you are not going expect McGrath and Gillespie taking many wicket in Murali friendly pitch of Colombo or Sharjah.

Saqlain should lead in the bowling, lets hope he is in good form and take wickets like the way he did against India in 99 test series.

well i see the onl problem in McGrath and gillespie coz if we see the stats , shane warne is not as effective as he was once.... and even on turning pitches in India he got 3 wickets at the average of 150.

But on the other hand , our batsman are not as good againt quality spinners as one might suggest but Lets hope they hold their own....
Saeed And wasim wanted break and thats logical coz they are older now and we must have a fresh wasim for key cricket in South Africa..

Lets Hope our TOTALLY inexperienced batting show their mattle and play well against aussies to give our good bowling attack a chance...

Glad to see this squad below has some excellent bowlers:

Waqar Younis (Capt), Younis Khan, Imran Farhat, Imran Nazir, Taufeeq Umar, Faisal Iqbal, Misbah-ul-Haq, Hasan Raza, Rashid Latif, Abdur Razzaq, Muhammad Sami, Shoaib Akhtar, Saqlain Mushta
q, Danish Kaneria, Naveed-ul-Hasan, Mohammad Zahid.

We can --if we want play-- the following attack:

Waqar
Shoaib
Muhammad Zahid
Mohammad Sami
Saqlain or Danish

Those top four are all QUICK! Actually Waqar is the slowest of them now by some distance!! If the batsmen can make reasonable scores c.300 we can bowl out the Aussies with this attack! :slight_smile:

Good to see Hassan Raza in the team too :ok:

Zahid is probably not fit and reputedly not in the same pace class as Akhtar and Sami anymore. Waqar is a has been for tests. I have no expectations of him. Sami and Akhtar have a long way to go before they trouble Aussie batsmen in a test match.

We need the godfather of fasties aka Wasim bhai. Oh Wasim brother where art thou?

Even though I would love for Pakistan to win I predict a pasting at the hands of Waugh and his gang of thugs.

The batting boasts some immense talents for a change though. I have high hopes of Hasan Raza and Imran Farhat.

But why oh why is the beauty of Gujranwala anywhere near the team?

I hope Faisal finally becomes the anchor that our batters so desperately need.

Finally, a team that actually has the gall to drop a batsman of Anwar’s class needs to be thoroughly beaten and burried and thus realize that the likes of Afridi and the Gujranwala-ki-haseena can never replace the great opener that Saeed is.

edited

agreed about mohammad Zahid...
seen him bowl in lahore a while back
he is not as quick as he used to be... just a yard or two ahead then waqar but waqar still has some left in him ......

Pakistan team anounced for first test!!

Imran Farhat
Imran Nazir
Younas Khan(vc)
Mibah-ul-haq
Fiasal Iqbal
Naeem-ul-ehsan
Hasan Raza
Muhammad Sami
Muhammad Zahid
Danish Kaneriya
Saqlain mushtaq
Waqar Younas(c)
Abdur Razzq
Rashid Latif(wc)

Reserves

Shahid Afridi
Moin Khan

Da squad looks good apart from its lackin in xperience. Trust PCB 2 keep da biggest hasbeen of all as captain Waqar. Wid him Zaid n Sami will b no more dan spectators. He shud go as he is past it n he neva performed against Aus even wen he was at his best. I also hav serious doubts abt Razzaq these days especially on those spinners wkts. His bowlings gon off abit n i cant see him troublin da powerful aussie battin lineup. So i wud hav gon 4 Afridi. As 4 Zaid he has talent but i met him in Bury n he bowled alongside Shoaib but he seemed nothing but inshallah he was takin it easy den n will perform if called upon. The xi 4 da 1st test will therefore b but shudnt is:)

1. Farhat
  2. Taufeq
  3. Yunus k
  4. Hasan R
  5. Misbah
  6. Razzaq
  7. Rashid
  8. Waqar
  9. Saqi
  10. Shoaib
  11. Kaneria

Howeva id like 2 c nazir in 4 misbah, afridi probably 4 Razzaq as these r spinners wkts n Zaid r Sami 4 Waqar. This is my opinion n after followin Pak 4 yrs i fink this side is currently da best theyv got.

Richard Pybus has been re-appointed Pakistan’s cricket coach.
The news comes on the same day Pakistan’s selectors unveiled a 16-man squad for the Test series against Australia including newcomer Naved-ul-Hasan.

Pybus’s contract lasts until the World Cup in and he will join the team shortly in Colombo.

He replaces sacked Mudassar Nazar having coached the Pakistan team on three separate occasions between 1999 and 2001.

As well as rookie all-rounder Naved-ul-Hasan, seamer Mohammad Zahid is also named for the three-Test series against Australia.

The selectors were forced into a re-think when four senior players pulled themselves out of the running.

Wasim Akram, Saeed Anwar, Inzamam-ul-Haq and Yousaf Youhana are all out of contention.

Chief selector Wasim Bari said he had “no option” but to give Naved and Zahid their chance.

“With Inzamam and Youhana injured and Wasim and Saeed opting for a rest from the series, we had to give exposure to these new players,” he said.

“We have picked the best available side and this is a great opportunity for the youngsters to establish their credentials before the World Cup.”

As well as picking Naved and Zahid, Pakistan have also gone for the20-year-old middle-order batsman Hasan Raza, who has played in two Tests.

Naved, 24, who has played for English minor county Herefordshire bast right-handed and bowls right-arm seam.

Zahid has played four Tests, but the last was in October 1998.

He will only make the touring party, however, if he passes a fitness test by playing in the match against Sri Lanka ‘A’ starting in Multan on Monday.

**The selectors have not included all-rounders Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik, in an indication that both are seen as one-day specialists. ** :):slight_smile:

Pakistan will be playing the tests against Australia at neutral venues after the Australians refused to tour Pakistan for security reasons.

Squad: Waqar Younis (Capt), Younis Khan, Imran Farhat, Imran Nazir, Taufeeq Umar, Faisal Iqbal, Misbah-ul-Haq, Hasan Raza, Rashid Latif, Abdur Razzaq, Muhammad Sami, Shoaib Akhtar, Saqlain Mushtaq, Danish Kaneria, Naveed-ul-Hasan, Mohammad Zahid.

I will be jumping up and down if PAK beat Australia in the up coming test series, but if they won't I'll be still happy and if PAK loses I won't have any regret. The team PCB has announce for the 3 tests looks good for some reason I think this 3 test series is going to be a close contest. GOODLUCK TO PAK.

yep
lacking in experience
but full of talent...
lets hope they hold their own against aussies ....
win or lose , spirit se khailain....