The famous poetess of India says about Islam

“It was the first religion that preached and practiced democracy; for in the mosque, when the call for prayer is sounded and worshippers are gathered together, the democracy of Islam is embodied five times a day when the peasant and king kneel side by side and proclaim: ‘God Alone is Great’! I have been struck over and over again by this indivisible unity of Islam that makes man instinctively a brother.”
[RIGHT](Sarogini Naidu)[/RIGHT]

Ideals of Islam, video Speeches and Writings, Madras, 1918, p.169

Re: The famous poetess of India says about Islam

Sarojini naidu was not only a poet, but has played a major role in freedom struggle against the British

Iqbal said:

Ek Hi Saf Main Kharde Ho Gaye Mehmood-o- Ayaaz
Nah Koi Bandah Raha Aur Nah Koi Bandah Nawaaz

^^ Ayaz was a "boy toy" of Mehmood. People differ on the views of the exact nature of their relationship. Some say it was a homosexual type thingy, while others say Ayaaz was just a "companion" of Mehmood. Iqbal is describing Ayaz as slave of Mahmood. So take your pick.

But do remember, that

We the Pakistani elite, do not want to understand the bitter truth.

That even when Mahmood and Ayaz were Muslims, the slavery existed and Islam could not rid the people from the clutches of this heinous practice.

It was almost like people did the namaz for 5 minutes and then went back to the illicit practices of Munda bazi, kabooter bazi, and other bazis etc.

yes we should be proud of "Islamic teachings",

But we should also mourn the "Muslims practices" through the ages. And then perhaps we may correct our ways.

Ameen!

sth seriously wrong with u. basically u r a confused soul. on one thread u r suggesting to open discos for pakistani's for the sake of recreation. here u r mourning 4 the muslims practices.

if u read every namaz in 5 minutes ........... then u r doing uthak bhaitak not offering namaz. beside i m sure u hardly visit a mosque probably once in blue moon.

for ur kind info only 5 to 10 percent ppl are regular namazi according to different survey. and many of them would be "5 minute namazi" like u. thats y our nation is indulge in different kind of "bazis" u r talking about.

if 100 % ppl wud get namazi situation wud be definitely change. lets hope for the best and may allah show all of us right path.

@ arki

jazkullah 4 sharing a wonderful thought.......

That was precisely the point. That Mahmood and Ayaaz were doing uthak bhaitak for 5 or may be 15 minutes and then they went back to the usual bazis.

Thus namaz didn't do a thing to people who were tribal to begin with.

Got it?

You have no idea what iqbal said in that 'sahyr'. Please do not act like usual trolls.

And your point is?

Go ahead and give us your interpretation then!

arki thanks for the nice sharing :k:

Do not listen to ppl like burqa. they like fitna only.

Instead of accusations, why don’t you give your interpretation? or address the issue being discussed.

Why there is tendency to start shouting “Fitna Fitna Fitna …”.

that counts for the early day...she should see the Islam of Today...So United. We are split in 73 groups. Far worse than the jews are. Something to think about.

Your concepts are really distorted.You have changed ishq of Ayaz and mahmood into a sex thing.

SC bahi,

Is reading comprehension is an issue. Go back and see. My post clearly gives different views and then focuses on

Iqbal's view.

As per Iqbal (had you read the whole Shikwa) would know that after this shair, the next one clearly points out that

Ayaaz was a slave.

It was common back then to have boy-Slaves. What you do with your boy-slave is immaterial.

Because this comment was about "Why a Namazi Muslim like mahomood would keep a boy-slave"?

Got it?

Reading comprehension is not an issue, but for you understanding poetry is an issue. Ayaz was a slave, yes, but not every slave thing is related to sex.

Even Sahabis kept slaves, sometimes just bought and freed them. Read about Mahmood-Ayaz story from some authentic source and clear your mind from the filth .

OK.

So you would like to take the place of Ayaaz then? since you are so romantically involved with Mahmood!

Tell us please!

BP!

Reading your posts over the period of months, you are a hopeless case.

First, why did you say ‘us’ when YOU are the only one missing the point? :hehe:

And if you missed the point then what is the point me spoon-feeding you my dear?

If after these years you are unable to understand this shayr as a grown up man ( I sincerely hope) then you think I or anyone will make you learn a thing or two about what Iqbal said?

No my friend. This will take, you go back to kindergarten, learn something about poetry in Urdu by Iqbal with respect to this shayr from you Master Sahab!

And I never claimed to be your Master Sahab!

Trolling and derailing the thread is one of your virtue!!!

Back to the topic please since this thread was rudely interrupted by a troll.

I do not know and have not checked if these were the actual words from her, but I think the words peasant and king kneeling side by side and making acts of worship together is rightly observed by this person.

Iqbal said this as well!

Musjid to bana di shab bhar main Iman ki hararat walon nain
Mun apna purana papi hai, burson main namazi bun na saka

And he said this too

Na woh ishq me rahi mastiyaaN, Na woh husn me rahiN garmiyaaN

Na woh Gaznavi me tadap rahi, Na woh kham hai zulf e Ayaz me.

Got it burqa?