I was wondering if any of you have had the chance to visit the Fairy Meadows near Nanga Parbat? I have heard and read so much about the surreal beauty of this place but somehow till date have not been able to visit it in person.
Any first hand accounts/second-hand accounts will be greatly appreciated.
wslaams!
Fairy meadows is 20km from Chilas but it takes two hours drive to reach Tago due to the rugged and raucous terrain. From Tago , its almost 3hrs trekking/hiking .the walk up to the fairy medows is quite tough infact, but the option of khachars is also avaialble. but when u reach there, ur jaw will drop nd u will be standing astounded nd spell bound by the pristine beauty of this place.it is a place u can hardly forget nd u have to be there to believe nd feel the beauty of nature.u can actually spend night there, as some wood cabins r avaialble there nd u can have camping too...
i think this place is must for those who want some adventure nd r ready to go through some tough exercise.
do i need to tell u that i have never been to Fairy meadows :p though we r planning to arrange some sort of trip upto Khunjrab to enjoy all the places which r still unspoiled.
Unfortunately I have not visited that part of the world, but as a young man my father lived in India (this was pre-1947) for some years and spent much time in what is now Pakistan. He took the opportunity to see and do as much as he could, including visiting the Fairy Meadows. He says it was one of the most memorable and beautiful experiences of his life.
I'll be seeing him tomorrow and so shall ask him more about it. I don't suppose he'll have any practical advice for you - everything must have changed since he was there - but it will please him to talk about it again.
Rising Tempest Bhai: Yar aap ne to aatish-e-shauq aur bhi bharka di hai baat yeh hai ke come early june, ma friends and i are planning to visit naraan (we have been there before but the beauty of shugran and siri pae, lalazar and of course saif-ul-mulook just draws us magnetically). Main soch raha tha ke trip main Fairy Meadows ka bhi plan bana loon. Its not too far from Chillas. Man..if we can spend a night there…it will be awesome (no issues, i have read nadia’s post in General and i am willing to see a few fairies and then some. It is another matter altogether if they are willing to see a bhoot, yet! ).
Yar, any idea of the distance from Naraan? Costs involved? Time taken? etc etc. Your response is appreciated partner.
Spock Bhai: Sab yehi kehte hain. ab meri bari hai…inshallah.
West Coast Bhai: Indeed. Please speak to your father..i am sure it will ignite some lost-lost memories..fair memories. Please share whatever he has to say. I am interested.
Thank you for the time folks…if you guys have any ideas about the travelling time/optinos from Naraan, they will be appreciated.
Khanzada bhai, i m afraid i wont be of much help to u in this case... i have never been to that route of naran to chilas...the only thing , i know is that there is a route between naran and chilas and that is not much far away in terms of distance but can say nothing about time nd money..
i think u shud go , explore that area nd then let us know about all the intricacies involved :p
try to search from google, u may get some useful link !
nywayz, i think that is excellent idea to go to naran , visit the surrounding areas nd then move to Fairy meadows...that sounds perfect trip ...
wadi, i have actually been getting info. from this site regarding Khunjrab nd i found their trip to khunjrab very informative for ppl like me who r planning to arrange a visit of khunjrab.
a very informative site !