The Failed Trip to Dudipat - Sep 2010

This year we again planned for Dudipat Lake 3rd time, but unfortunately we could not even attempt. Although failed, but it was an exciting 3 days trip.

Two years ago, first time we had plan to go there after aanso lake, which was cancelled because 2 of our group members got injured while coming down from Aansoo Lake. Last year we reached Besal (starting point for trek to dudipat) in Start of July, and we were told by locals that due to unprecedented heavy and late snow falls in that area lake was still frozen so we had to cancel the plan and go somewhere else.

Our flight from Karachi departed for Islamabad around 7:30am, did some last minute shopping (food, medicines etc) from Pindi, reached Mansehra around 6 and spent night there. Next morning, left Mansehra right after Fajar, when roads were empty and market was closed, when we reached balakot, kids were going to schools, and main bazaar of balakot had started to open. Till Kewai (turning point for Shogran) we saw many signs of devastations by flood, at some places, complete hotels/ shops had disappeared as River Kunhar changed its course during recent flood. Those familiar with the area may recall that there used to be a hotel just before Balakot City, on the river side, called “Heaven Spot Restaurant and hotel” this hotel is totally washed away, nothing left.

Journey upto “Malakandi” was pretty smooth and fast, road condition was better than last year, even after the devastating rains. But Malakandi, as usually was closed for last 4 days due to heavy land slide, and there was no chance of opening any sooner because rocks and mud was still coming down every 15-20 minutes. (Unfortunately, I don’t have pictures of Malakandi Land slide, will post later as they were in my friends cam) The only option was to go down to the river, and cross the landslide area on foot, and then take another ride from the other side upto Naran. We reached Naran around 4pm, which was almost empty because there were only 1-2 other groups of tourists who had come down from babusar side. Took another ride from Naran to Besal.

This year, we reached besal on 16th of Sep, till the evening of 16th everything was fine, we camped there, and we had even settled our plan with the guide and porter and decided about all the horses and rates stuff, ordered for meal for next two days. But woke up next morning only to know that almost 4 feet of snow fell last night, and a group (which was last group which reached dudipat this year) just came down late night in very bad condition and one of their member was also injured : s
Seeing all this, our guide refused to go, and suggested not to try lake this year again. But he also suggested another route if we were interested. That was, go back to Jalkhad, hire a 4x4 upto “Noori Top” and see if there are any local “bakarwals” (khana badosh/ nomad people who spend their summer there) are still there, if yes, then take a guide with you, and you may reach the lake in shorter time as compared to going all the way from Besal, on foot or horse…

So we decided to give it a try, waited for any ride for 2 hours, and then reached Jalkhad around 10:30 in the morning. People at Jalkad informed that jeep track till Noori Top is “supposed” to be open because they saw army vehicles coming down few days ago.

Around 11:30 we left Jalkhad for Noori Top, and the jeep track on spots was not really a jeep track anymore : s Around 1 kilometer before the top, the track was entirely closed. So the driver stopped there and we decided to “walk” to the top and see if we can find anyone who’s ready to take us to dudipat. This short walk took us around 45 minutes because of lake of oxygen and very heavy winds. 2 groups of kashmiri bakarwals crossed us while we were going up, they did not say anything else, except “ooper nahi jao” : s

We hardly spent 10 minutes on Noori Top trying to breath and calm down, when things started to change very fast. Wind became even faster, “keeri” converted to snow (keeri is a term in local language they use to define the middle state between rain and snow, it’s not Hail, hail is like ice, but keeri is smaller than hail and snow white in color). This was when our guide shouted to come down fast, and started to run : D and we were like what?? We could not hear anything but followed him. Just after couple of minutes we realized what he was saying, when we saw snow becoming heavier and the trek becoming slippery… took us around 30 minutes to come down to where jeep was waiting for us, and then the journey back to Jalkhad (almost 10 kilometers from that point) was the most frightening and scary thing (you will see that in pictures), even scarier than the jeep track to fairymeadows, it was very very slippery mainly because of continuous rain.

Now pictures… though I did not get chance to take out camera most of the time because of non-stop rain/snow (specially when we were on foot) most of the pictures taken from within the jeep, and you can imagine the bumpy ride, so I could not hold the camera any steadier, and most of the pictures are blurred, also they are compressed to smaller size for easy upload.

Our camps at Besal

Masjid at Besal

Right after Maghrib, distant and higher peaks are still bright

Next morning, area around our camp

Approaching Noori Top, my friend and guide have already reached

Noori Top, this is border between Kaghan and Kashmir, descend takes you to upper neelam valley in Kashmir

Going back to Jalkhad

Looking down, most of the slops were covered with these purple and red flowers

The jeep track

Looking towards Jalkhad while coming down from Noori Top

More bumps

Imagine your ride slipping towards all possible directions on this track : p

When the ride gets scarier, look down

Looking backwards, cannot see anything towards the top now, it was continuously raining and snowing there

The view outside the hotel window in Naran. We were supposed to camp here as well, but due nonstop rain, and very cheap hotel rates we decided to take a room for night. In regular season, this room was around 5k per night, but we got it for 500 per night : p as we were the only tourists left in Naran

Next morning back to Mansehra and then Islamabad. Malakandi Landside was still not cleared, and had to cross that area again on foot.

Although we could not reach Dudipat and Ratti Gali lakes, and had to come back only in 3 days while we had to spend 6-7 nights out there in the mountains, but it was a hectic yet memorable trip. Anything after Naran is closed now to open again next year INSHA ALLAH in June.

Re: The Failed Trip to Dudipat - Sep 2010

Hmm.. Very interesting. Its sad that you guys were not able to reach dudipat this year too but I'm glad everyone was safe. Pictures looks good especially in Basel but I'll be waiting for more pictures of distant landscapes as they seem the best to me.

Do you think September is too late to reach Dudipat? I think early August might be fine but again it all depends on weather. Best of Luck next time :) I have plans for Dudipat next year too :)

Sufi bhai, I've got no more pics of this trip : ( sorry

and yeah, now we know that september is a bit late. the best period is from Mid July to End of August, but this year as you know it was ramadan mubarak in those days and devastating rains also. now next two years we will see ramadan in august again. so we decided to post pon dudipat for 2013 INSHA ALLAH agar zinda rahay : )
next year we gonna go on a road trip from Karachi to Khunjrab and drive ourselves INSHA ALLAH

best of luck for your plans for dudipat, try the last week before ramadan.

Hmm.. You're right. The ramadan month didn't come to my mind while making the plan for next year. May be I would change the entire idea of Kaghan valley next year and might go to Ghizer side in Gilgit-Baltistan mid June but still its too early to say.

The drive from Karachi to Khunjerab would be an awesome adventure BUT do keep in mind the hot weather of SINDH and PUNJAB in May/June/July/August/September (If these are the months you plan to go). I went to Jamshoro, Dadu, Nowshero Feroz and Padidan couple of days before and it was literally too hot and I cancelled the plan to visit Bhit Shah.

Btw, why did you not try to cross Babusar Pass and enter Northern Areas to visit Fairy Meadows..? I think it would've been a great alternative.

Yes we our plan is for July next year, we dont have any other option because of leave schedule etc.

As for Babusar Pass, we did thought about that, but because all three of us have been to fairy meadows before, we were thinking rupal side, but nothing really materialized in love of dudipat : D

where is Ghizer by the way?

Nicely Written Bro....Loved it :D

And the Pics too

Sorry to hear that u didnt reached ur destination but even i think sep is late for dudipatsar lake

U could have easily reach there if u had planned this all in July or Aug :)

Thanks for sharing :)

Yup Dudipat is a must visit place. There are many many more hidden/less known lakes in Kaghan valley which I came to know after reading book “Aks dar Aks vadi kaghan” by amir rasheed. Lakes like Sangar Jheel, 7 lakes of sat sar mala etc. These all places are in my list and InshaALLAH will visit these sometime.

Ghizer is northernmost part of Gilgit-Baltistan and it provides contact point between Gilgit and Chitral. Its not very famous for tourism but there are some very good attractions like Phunder Lake., Krumber valley etc. Here’s a link which contains some useful information about Ghizer district: http://visitorsheaven.com/Ghizer.php

Awesome pictures, i would love to see Pakistan from that perspective, and show everyone the beauty of Pakistan. Nice to know you got back safely.

But i only go to Pakistan in the winter season, and miss out on these places! Heck i haven't even been to Murree yet or ever seen real snow!

Waleedhbk: thanks man, you are right about july, but we were bound by our leave schedules

Sufi_bhai: yeah i've heard about satsari mala, its on the same route as dudipat, from mid point of that trek, you need to turn left and there is a steep little climb, after that each of these small seven lakes are almost 700-800 meters away from each other, thats all what heard about this set of lakes. Karumber is on too, thats the baroghil area right?

KS09: Thanks for appreciation. This travel forum of ours has may other threads about northern areas of our lovely and magnificent Pakistan. and if you are interested, Murree, Ayubiya and other Galiyat reagion is open for visitors all year, even in winter.

bad luck Ace bahi . . . better luck next time . . .

Pictures are awesome and post is very nicely written :k:

bad luck Ace bahi . . . better luck next time . . .

Pictures are awesome and post is very nicely written :k:

shukriya malik sahab, is tarha to hota hay is tarha kay kamoon main : p

PS: how's doha?

Doha is ok . . . Nothing like pakistan :hinna:

My friend is going to Naran after 6th October. I'll let u know if he succeed :p

^ If Malakandi is open, he can then easily go upto Naran, even can cross Babusar I guess, because its now one of the main routs for Pak Army and they try to keep Babusar open as long as possible. If Malakandi is not open yet, they will have to cross that area by foot. Wish him luck, and lets see : )

If Malakandi is blocked, they might not even go to Naran because they are going on car and I don't think they would leave their car on some hotel parking for 2-3 days :p

I had heard that kaghan was affected by the floods but i thought it was misinformation. I hope all flood affected people recover and enter into a more prosperous and more peaceful stage of life.

The photos are amazing Aceones! Kaghan is an absolutely beautiful valley. I was shocked to see how Naran had changed in 2009. The time I visited before that was in the year 2000.

^ actually that was not misinformation. Kaghan was affected. actually the Kaghan - Jalkhad road had entirely fallen in the river as the River Kanhar changed route at different places. But because this road is an important alternative of KKH, and is a bit shorter as well, hence gets quickly recovered by FWO, when KKH was closed at Bisham for almost a month, all the relief work was carried out via this route.

Naran may have changed since 2000, but I've been to Naran 4 times since 2005, and i could not notice any major difference.

jeep track ooooooooooooooo lalallaaaaaaa

nice pics ....baqee post nahi perhee

jub main kabhi khud gayee hee nahi to kaahay ko dil jalaaoon dosroon kay safar namay perh perh k snootyt

Hey Aceones have u been to Siri Payee?