The English Language and the Saudis

Why is English not commonly spoken in Saudi Arabia? When I was checking in at Jeddah to leave for home, the man at the counter had great difficulty in communicating with me. He had a south Asian man interpreting for him. Even at the hotels in Makkah, the guys at the reception would ring a bell to get the workers to interpret because they couldn’t understand what I was saying :mad:. Quite frustrating. Saudi Schools mein kya angraizi nahi parhai jaati?

After this experience I realised that it’s quite important to know their language if one was to stay there. If it wasn’t for the Pakistani, Indian/Bangladeshi bhai’s working at the shops, hotels and service stations it would be very difficult to communicate with the arabs.

I’ve always wanted to learn the language and I think nows the time, so if anyone here wants to start arabic language classes here - then let me know :smiley:

Need to start with the numbers even the asian guys gave the prices in arabi then in urdu/hindi in response to my ‘Kitna hua bhai saab?’ :smiley:

Re: The English Language and the Saudis

First, start with the basic

Your first lesson for today

Alif zabar Aaa
Bay Zabar Baa

Your homework is to repeat that fifty times

That is. I will see you tomorrow

I have been thinking about learning arabic for ages (as a hobby). I have downloaded a 10-CD audio course few days ago from internet to finally give it a shot. I need to put it on CDs so I can listen to in the car while driving b/w work and home back and fourth.

Asif mind sharing the resource? I would love to give it a shot too.

coolmunda its not only the arabs. Go to china you’ll find the same. Even worse is france where they know english but they wouldnt speak it :hehe:

Yaar yeh patti tum khud hi paro…thakay tumhe yaad rahe. :smiley:

Asif please do share the resource - linky yahan pay post kar do…if u dont mind.

Cheegum…I wouldn’t dream of going to China, rahee baat france ki tho wahan pay thori see french aur english mila ke guzara ho jaye ga.

Who can speak arabic here :aq: I think AQ bhai can…let me go and pm him.

I would be banned if I posted the link to this bittorrent guys. We would have to figure out another way of getting it to you. ;)

^ yaar u don't have to figure out anything, PM ya email kar do. :)

asif or anyone please send that to me as well , thanks

Trust me, you don't wanna see Saudi speak English.

Naaah…I have been to France 6 times.

People are very friendly. Most people do speak English but they still want you to talk in French

For all those who expect everyone to speak English everywhere are so naive, even though English is widely spoken but keep in mind that still its not interesting for many on this earth. Us as of Pakistani origin has one advantage that we can learn Arabic very easily & quickly (only if u can read/write urdu well).

Try Slovakia or Czech or Hungary .. even Italy & see how can you survive speaking English.

Thanks for this wonderful info....

its because the average saudi doesnt have access to good education to learn english and the above average saudi doesnt need to learn english because he can get some1 else to do his work for him. but now some saudis are starting to realise the importance of learning english and various institutes have opend up to provide english courses

not only that, saudis are on this ego trip that since Islam originated in Arabia, and the Quran is written in Arabic, the whole world should speak Arabic and they believe educating their kids in English is anti-Islamic

Because learning English requires work.

Come to Quebec (Canada) and try communicating in English.