A great read … interesting, anecdotal and colorful. do not ignore it by labeling it a “rant from a liberal fascist” …
that Pakistan of 50/60/70s was definitely a much better place both culturally and religiously than what we have today. It was a more fun place with space to breathe for everyone. even religious activities were celebrated with much more zeal, fun and openness. What we have today is a suffocated environment in which any type of fun is considered sin except praying and going to mosque. Going to mosque and to pray is absolutely fine but labeling others as mushrak, sinful is wrong.
we want a pakistan in which I can tell the tebleghi guy to mind his own business when he knocks at MY DOOR and ask me to go to mosque … and I want government and society to be on my side not his side! I wan a land where minorities are not targeted/harrassed and called names and labelled as non-msulims and what not. Equal rights for everyone where a qadyani/Christian/hindu can be my president or prime minster as well if he deserves.
These wahabis, salafis, doebandis and tableghis under arab influence have destroyed the social fabric of our Muslim society in sub-continent. We are not dry ARABS..we had our own way of celebrating our social life and our religion. Give me MY Pakistan back! I thought Imran khan will be that force of change but…deep sigh
look muqawwee..dont start again…this is an unnecessary attack on the writer trying to label him in a certain way so that the readers who dont know the writer start thinking of him in a certain way.
why dont you comment on the article content not on the writer’s life style, which you dont know with 100% assurance anyway. Islam also aks you not to make allegations.
Look don’t try to teach me Islam after attacking a particular group in your very first post. You can’t make me respect this charsi propagandist thaali ka baingan. If you really want to get support for him from public, convey him that get himself out of this habit of looking things from one side. iss ko kabhi Islam aur Musalmanon main achai bhi nazar aai hai?
What is his dig with Arabs and Arabic language? Padh le kalma English main apne aqaon ki zaban main.
PS: Don’t take it personal and carry on with the discussion. I’m out of this discussion for good.
guess what? I tell the tablighi guy to mind his own business if he knocks my door…done it many tmes…haven’t been shot/killed yet…don’t know of anyone getting shot for doing that…
but i was not trying to teach you islam. not sure why you got that impression. i was giving my opinion on the type of pakistan i want.
and no i dont want any support for the writer..all i said that lets focus on the article not on the writer..calling him charsi and names is not fair.
and no one hates arabs, arabic language, islam so to speak…arabs (read saudi arabia if you want to), their money, their aid to madrassas and to a certain sect and their brand of hardcore islam have played a big role in shaping up current religious canvass in pakistan in last 30 years…so arabs will be discussed no matter what. I hope you understand the context of discussion on arabs.
Pakistan of 60’s was awesome. peaceful, people were treated with dignity, there was unity, everyone was a Muslim and Pakistani. Now we are neither Pakistani nor Muslim, we have become Punjabis, Sindhis, Balochis and Pathans and then we are Shia, Sunni, Bralevi, Deobandi and God knows what. It would be nice if we become Muslims and Pakistanis again.
Dont you think that almost all militant groups of Pakistan come from those mentioned by PD in his post? I believe that the followers of these sects should force them to change course. The least they can do is disassociate with them and condemn their terrorism as they are degrading their sects as well as Islam. Silence is not the answer, as we have already lost a lot.
I am sick of both sides. I am sick of the anti-religion brigade who somehow think religion has destroyed Pakistan while completely forgetting none of our governments have been religious. And I am sick of religious brigade (some)of whom hate anyone who they don’t perceive to be Muslim or that they think religious Pakistan is the answer to our ills. When ten people can’t decide what proper Islam is I highly doubt 180 million people will.
in that article’s comments section, one particular comment took my attention:
“this is the first time in almost 20 years of reading NFP’s work that every single example described here by the author has been witnessed by me first hand, including my grandparents sticking with dopatta and cleanshave as well as not having seen a cousin since he turned TJ 20 years ago. which is why i wont harp my standard ‘what is the evidence for this to be true’. as a middle class kid in the 80s i didnt think it was wrong, just irritated that my abba didnt agree with the narrow minded saudization getting prevalent, which caused friction between him and his peers. he made sure that libraries were a ritual that we followed more stringently than prayers. it made us the outsiders then but now i am glad for the same. it is sad that there is little research in Pk, because all variables that NFP mentions here are signs of a societal disease which, if well documented and analysed, will ensure we can cure ourselves. many thanks for sharing your experiences”
yeah we shd teach kids how to pray but more importantly teach them what is right and wrong, what is moral, what is religious bigotry, what is religious freedom…life shd be simple and fun, not a staged drama of unnecessary man-made religious complications at each and every step
Tablighi guys are really different then SSP guys. Even secular UK has no problem with Tabligh of tablighi guys, but look at these Propagandists like NFP!
excuse me?
did you even read the article..where did he compare Tablighi guys with sipah sahiba? where did he declare them terrorists or a military outfit? all NFP has done in this article is to summarize the social impact of TJ on lives of common Pakistanis especially the middle class business community in karachi. you can disagree with his assessment but it is not fair to make wrong comparison…unless SSP does not stand for sipah sahaba and you were referring to something that is relevant to tablighi jamat..in that case, apologies.
Just look at the part in the article you bolded yourself. if secular UK have no problem with tablighi guys then what type of ‘takleef’ NFP gets from these Tablighi guys?
Its religious freedom that gives them a right to preach so you should accept it wholeheartedly if you are truly secularist.
yes you are right…in a secular country, tablighi jamat will have full right to tabligh as long as they don’t impose themselves harshly or create unnecessary interruptions in society…
i dont think NFP suggested or implied anywhere in the article that TJ shd be banned or not allowed to tabligh…what is the basis of your conclusion? did you read the full article?
NFP is reflecting upon social impact of TJ on lives of common Pakistanis in 80s/90s especially on the middle class business community in karachi. he is not saying to stop them.
and not sure why your brought SSP into discussion..they are a military organization with a terrorism based agenda. i did not mention their name and NFP certainly did not.
“When the heart is set right, then the personal life is cultivated. When the personal life is cultivated, then the home life is regulated. When the home life is regulated, then the national life is orderly: And when the national life is orderly, then the world is at peace.” - Confucius