the dilemmas with arranging weddings

Aalhan! beware!!

ok, so my younger bro may Inshallah be getting married next year sometime.. our entire khandan is back there as well as his fiance, hence the wedding must be arranged there..

curious to know, how do people living away from pakistan arrange the weddings?

our dilemma is that, well firstly we (or my bro) doesnt want to have a huge wedding. He pretty much wants to just have the nikkah and have a combined reception/walima sorta thing. We’re really tight on budget and stuff (wont get into why)… but his fiances family wants to do the whole hoo haa thing so that everyone knows about it kinda thing… like they drop hints all the time bout how expensive the suit should be for the bride and where the reception should be and so on..

how do u cope with all this? how do u come to some sort of agreement? especially when people back home think that $1 = 1 ruppee?

anyone else been thru this?

There are 2-3 different approaches you can take.

1. Take the line ke asooloN pe sauda nahi ho sakta. A simple wedding it is!

2. Inconvenient for us to arrange an elaborate wedding back in Pakistan since we are all in Aussie-land, so we'd like to keep our functions simple, and they can go ahead and do theirs with as much hooplah as they want.

3. Be upfront and tell them that while you will definitely go for a decent and enjoyable wedding, you are not planning to spend more than an X-amount of money on the festivities, and would rather the new couple starts off with some savings nest.

Assuming this is a match of relatively equal (financially) families. If you have gone ahead and picked a girl from some Nawab family, then all bets are off!

all those sound like pretty good options..

the fiance is a cousin.. and aint a nawabzadi or anything.. she’s actually pretty laid back and doesnt want a big wedding either (my bro prob brainwashed her i suspect.. hmmm)

the problem sorta is that the family members dont value money… well they do in the sense that the guy must be rich (which my bro aint.. but it seems like it cus he converts his $$$ to ruppees) and hence they think we can afford it… they themselves are pretty well off there, Alhamdulillah.. so its just aaagh :bummer:

the people maknig these suggestions, have never worked in their lives and dont know how to appreciate income or how to spend it wisely.. for them the wedding is going to be a spectacle for people to see… sigh

Re: the dilemmas with arranging weddings

Originally posted by sadzzz: *
**curious to know, how do people living away from pakistan arrange the weddings?

by arrange do your mean finding a match or the logistics of the reception etc?

*our dilemma is that, well firstly we (or my bro) doesnt want to have a huge wedding. He pretty much wants to just have the nikkah and have a combined reception/walima sorta thing. *

Thats a good idea but it has its drawbacks which I will explain in a minute.

but his fiances family wants to do the whole hoo haa thing so that everyone knows about it kinda thing... like they drop hints all the time bout how expensive the suit should be for the bride and where the reception should be and so on..

Now for the problem, if indeed you do a combined event, you can get screwed over royally. how..okay here is the the numbers, when i speak like this it tends to make people say that I am materialistic and what nots, which may be the case, but I just present numbers, you can draw your own conclusions.

lets say you want to do a reception where you want to spend no more than $20/person for food and facility. and lets say they want to spend more, lets say $50/person. How do you manage that, you asking them to hold the reception at a location and at a level which fits your situation/budget/needs/views may make them feel like they are being prevented from doing all that they want to do. conversely, if they start pressuring you guys to spend more than you were planning to, then you are not happy either.

solution is simple, let them do all that theywant, for all you care they can have kabuki dancers at the wedding and everyone who is attending gets a rolex, that is their business.

You can do what you want, how you want and where you want for your reception.

how do u cope with all this? how do u come to some sort of agreement? especially when people back home think that $1 = 1 ruppee?

*anyone else been thru this? *

Not personally, but I do know of one case where the guy and girls family decided to have a joint reception, the girls side were your typical show off-ish idiots and considered the guy's side as their piggy bank since the 2 sides had decided to split the bill. the guy's side had not counted on splitting the bill for ice sculptures, open bar, the expensive and extensive menu, hotels for dulhan's fifty million relatives, but in the typical shrama-hazoori it was too late and they could not go back on the deal to split the bill.

In the end, they got screwed royally, the wedding was phenomenal, but if the dulhans side were planning to spend $50K, they spent a $100K instead saying that it was afair split, but it was not what the groom's parents wanted, plus they had 1/4th the number of guests, so their per head cost was much higher than the bride's side paid.

and if these ppl are byatching and moaning about show-sha, is thatthe type of family yer bro wants to wed into?

^ true Fraudz, I can imagine the problems that can arise with a combined wedding...

its just very daunting when you think about all the costs.. first on travel expenses, to and from Pakistan.. then clothes, gifts for the dulhans family and what not... i guess it would be much safer to just let the dulhan's family do watever they want.. and we could hold a walima separetly according to our own budget... now i understand why my bro tells me to lets just do a double wedding (me and him).. which the dulhans family disagree with totally... which is also undestandable...

sigh

heaps to think thru huh.. and i guess time to stop spending money on me

double wedding ke liyay aik adad larka hona bhi zaroori hai, for you, ofcourse. Unless you just plan to get married first, and find a husband later on. :-P

Anyway, the splitting the cost type functions can be pretty dicey, as Fraudia explained, though it may work if both families are well in-sync and understand the expectations and fiancial positions of each other. In your case, this definitely doesn't seem to be the case, so brainwash your bro to get out of the idealistic world and be practical.

Have your own valima, as you want it to be. Let the girl's family arrange their own thing. Keep life simple.

^ haha yeah i plan on getting married and then somehow locating a guy afterwards.. seriously though, i doubt anythings happening for me anytime soon.. so given my bro thumbs up to get wedded first

yeah im trying to convince my bro to just let the brides family do as they please.. we'll do a walima ourselves the way he wants it...

Someone in our door ki family had this problem. The guy’s parents were willing to spend as much as they could afford, but the girl’s family wanted a little bit more. This is what they demanded.

Given on Engagement:

• Imported Make up
  • Clothes
  • Jewlery sets (Gold)
  • Rings (2)
  • Money and other accessories.

Their demands for the wedding

• Imported make up from USA was not real, we need the REAL make up :rolleyes: (we bought it at Macy’s and everything was brand name)
  • Each regular-for-everyday-use dresses should be about 5000 rupees each.
  • Some massive amount of Gold
  • 2 Laakh rupees for “moun dikhaayi”
  • In thousands to THEIR servants :rolleyes:
  • Girl would go to the MOST EXPENSIVE beauty parlor (not the best one, but the most expensive one)
  • If her demands after the wedding were not met, she can/would file a divorce

The groom’s family agreed to give 2 laakh rupees and jewlery, but had enough when they blamed the imported make up was #2 and demanded other items. Wedding was called off. The girl’s family is now begging and asking them to reconsider because they’ll remove some demands, but the boy’s family has refused to talk.

ouch! inshallah we wont have to face such problems.. i hope neways.. but this is rather demanding...

were the girls fam really well off there?

No not really. That’s why the guy’s father said:

“Meney kuch baatein maan leen, lekin woh log apni auqaat bhool rahey they”

so strange.. sometimes i think people living in Pakistan dont understand how hard it can be to earn money overseas... they only see the converted dollars and they go all la la

flippin’ heck girl, didn’t you see Aalhan’s thread. Don’t you have anything intelligent to discuss? :rolleyes:

(p.s. you know I love you :kiss: )

oh yeah!!this is something that just happend to me!!

good thing was that i was able to get a good wedding cause my cousins knew almost every good bargain places in karachi! i mean the caterer was a close friend of my cousin so i got discount there then the jewelery guy was my other cousin's best friend and i got discount there....and it wasnt some cheap wedding...i mean my valima was in KDA lawns on kashmeer road in karachi and the caterer was haneef rajput....i gave 3 gold sets to my wife in bari and my muun dikhai gift was great as well..plus 11 dresses which were from places like africawala and somelike that....plus i booked a hotel room after the wedding and the total cost was not that bad since i totally understand your brother's situation. i was worried as hell about the wedding expenses but at the end it was great!!so dont worry you are performing sunnah and Allah helps in mysterious ways!!!