The Desi Gene Pool

This thread can apply to both males or females, but being a dude, I’m going to take on the dudes’ perspective.

I think desi women are beautiful. Desis have really good physical features and a desi girl who actually tries will definitely stand out in a line of gorgeous women from around the world.

However, do you think because of our cultural tendencies to marry within our own culture, we are preventing our gene pool from expanding?

I’ve come to know a few (VERY FEW as a percentage) desis who are mixed and even on this forum we have desis that are mixed, and all of them are absolutely stunning!

How do you feel about this? Are you pro mixed marriages, if the suitor is suitable?
Would you want to have mixed babies?
Do you already have mixed babies?
Do you know mixed desis who have made your heart skip several beats?

Re: The Desi Gene Pool

race doesn't matter to me...as long as that person is nice with values and is a Muslim...i wouldn't just marry a girl from another in order to expand our gene pool. it's Allah who determines what the child be like. an ugly swaaleh aulaad is better than a good looking Khabees aulad. we must all pray to have a swaaleh aulaad.

One of my childhood family friend is married to a Puerto-Rican girl who is half African American/Half Hispanic herself, and so his child is 1/4 African American, 1/4 hispanic and 1/4 Scottish and 1/4 Pakistani. His mom is Scottish, dad Pakistan.

Child is beautiful, mashallah and very sweet, I like her a lot.

Yeah very few desis come from mixed families. We just have our ladies say "Oh but I never get mistaken for a Pakistani, they always think I am from (name exotic/Mediterranean/European country of choice here) " :D

^ sounds like my sister, she thinks she is Kim Kardashian's long lost twin

The Desi Gene Pool

I know a couple of mixed Pakistanis with American/Arab blood. All super good looking I must say but the values are mixed. Some have more Pakistani values while the others are more towards the culture from the other parent. It really depends on the parents, there's usually a dominating culture from these families otherwise I imagine the marriages wouldn't of lasted that long. I although have observed that my friends who are a mixed race and/ or children of a parent who have converted to Islam are strong in faith and live a very stable life as opposed to a few friends whose parents were both Pakistani but one was Shia, the other Sunni. Those kids all have a hard struggle to find the balance and its been a tug of war between both parents to maintain their beliefs. I think in mixed races and marriages like that, usually there's one person who usually has given up their side in order to maintain a balance, it seems hard to do if both are pulling at their kids from each direction to instill the values they know over the other.

The Desi Gene Pool

Sorry Op, just read the last part of your thread and started posting what was coming into my head lol. You were really talking about the gene pool not religion or values... My bad didnt mean to go off on a tangent. But yes everyone I know that is mixed, especially with Arab blood are sooo drop dead gorgeous!! Both male and female. Like someone said, more than race, the religion aspect would be more important because that determines a persons lifestyle. Language would also be important for me, I don't speak Urdu too often but I definitely would like to maintain some of it in my household for my kids to learn enough of it.im always afraid that ill have a hard time installing Pakistani culture for the future generation in my household.

I have lot sof family members who are half white/half desi (one who's half paki and half egyptian....gorgeous kid) and they're pretty decent looking (IMO).
The rest are too young to judge their character but the'y're just iddy biddy babbbies .

Sure. My wife is Turkish, red hair/green eyes. Definitely a different gene pool. No kids, we’ll see what they will look like, but as KKF said, making sure that they have a good deen/duniya balance, Inshallah.

On side note there is no “desi” gene pool, we are fairly mixed in the Subcontinent. Forgetting India for a moment, Pakistan’s gene pool varies greatly from Kashmiris (true Kashmiris not the Azad Kashmiris) to Makranis. Genetics and archaeogenetics of South Asia - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

You don't live in Pakistan....you probadon't pledge allegiance to the Pakistani flag so why would you want to install Pakistani culture in your household? Why don't you assimilate in the culture of the country you have adopted instead of clinging onto your lost Pakistaniyat? Don't mean to be rude at all...

The desi gene pool might be varied geographically but they still prefer to marry within their own subset, Kashmiri within Kashmiris and makranis within makranis, I have yet to see a Kashmiri with a makrani. Only guys/girls living abroad and with that exposure manage to (against family pressure) give it a mix up. Otherwise generally speaking desis are stuck in a rut.

We don't need to look outside Pakistan for mixed marriages as we already have a variety of gene pools ofJutts, Butts, Pathans, Rajputs, Sheikhs etc. All of them have distinctive genetic features and mixing them up will produce the same results as mixing with other gene pools mentioned above.

The OP is essentially talking about marrying outside in terms of nationality (defined by passports and stuff) otherwise Desis in general are racially very mixed. Marriages between Pathans, Punjabis, Saraikis, Baloch, Sindhis, Kashmiris and Urdu Speakers have been taking place since long back. Same is the case in other side of the border.

I don't think different casts count as a different gene pool.

Punjabi or Pathan etc isn't a different 'cast', it's a different ethnic group all together.

I’m going to have to strongly disagree with you man. Pakistan and subcontinent for that matter is one of the least mixed places on the planet. Yes we have kashmiris, sindhis, balochis, punjabis etc, but I wouldn’t personally consider these as being ethnically diverse enough to stand out. Also, I believe its not really a common sight to see these groups produce some cute inter-racial babies anyway so that part of the argument still stands. Especially pathans with anyone else. It happens, yes. Common? Definitely not.

Just to be clear, I do mean gene pool in terms different genetic characteristics. All desis have certain genetic predispositions which are present in all of the races in the subcontinent. Yes they speak different languages, eat different types of food and have different social norms, but I personally don’t they are varied enough to be counted as a completely different race altogether.
I will say that pathans are definitely more ethnically diverse than sindhis, punjabis and urdu speakers.

What does the term "cute" inter racial babies even mean? Babies with milky white skin, blue eyes and blond hair? Who determines the cuteness of a child and pass the verdict whether he or she is racially mixed by just looking at him and measuring his cuteness? Genes work in a funny way. A union between Saudi Arab and Pakistan can end up producing a child as 'desi' looking as any kid of Sarghodha.

I think you're confusing a stereotypical definition of cute babies with my own. Oh lord I merely used cute in a way any baby would be cute. Can you please calm yourself?

I'm sorry but the wording was seemed quite offensive plus the overall message of the post. And you cannot always tell by looking at someone and decide whether he/she is inter-racial or not. It doesn't always have to be so obvious. Pakistanis living abroad frequently get mistaken for plenty of different ethnic mixtures and single groups despite according to some self invented theories that they are least racially mixed group on earth.

You don't live in Pakistan....you probadon't pledge allegiance to the Pakistani flag so why would you want to install Pakistani culture in your household? Why don't you assimilate in the culture of the country you have adopted instead of clinging onto your lost Pakistaniyat? Don't mean to be rude at all...

We have. But so what if I don't live in Pakistan? My blood is still just of that. Im not sorry if that offends you. We maintain the values that we grew up with and it's what we were taught because its the culture we were born into. We've adapted very well thank you. I don't even live in the country that I was originally born in now so what does that have to do with anything.